We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Comfortable and Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights during the July long weekend. It was clean and staff was friendly and quite helpful with restaurant and sightseeing suggestion. Short walking distance to the harbor front , shopping and restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review Esther,
I'm glad to hear your long weekend in Victoria was enjoyable. Its a busy place on long weekends with a kind of carnival atmosphere. I sure hope you can return to the west soon.
Regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    523
    126
    46
    26
See reviews for
431
534
75
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I recently stayed at the Chateau Victoria and was so pleased that the location was walking distance to all the sites and places I wanted to visit. The staff were extremely helpful from check-in to check out and my room was very nicely decorated and the little kitchen area was just perfect for our stay. Would recommend highly and will be back!

Shelley
Vancouver

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McKelvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Shelley,
I am not sure how we missed your review but I wanted to thank you for it. Very concise which tends to get read. We sure hope you can return soon.
Regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Booked in to this hotel because of the roll in accessible shower. Not only did it not exist the grab rails made the so called accessible bathroom not fit for purpose, badly designed and I consider possibly dangerous for a disabled person to use.

Hotel staff great and very helpful but if you are disabled look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go as high as possible to avoid street noise in this city centre location. Food good quality and pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THEL0bmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear THELobmeister,
I am sorry to hear of your challenges with accessibility at our hotel. I would really like to know where you learned about our hotel's accessible shower. You are correct in stating no rooms have roll in showers. We take great strides in giving accurate information about our hotel and accessibility is one we still need to work on. Access Canada rates us as level 1 which offers the basic needs so we have a way to go for true mobility. I will try and contact you directly to see where that information is so we can correct it. Again, my apologies for the incorrect information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend and was very pleased with the facility. The hotel was clean, comfortable, the staff were extremely helpful, and the location was great. The bed was comfortable, and the view was spectacular. My only complaint is the upstairs restaurant. It's great for breakfast, however the dinner menu is awful. It's over priced and is trying to brand itself as fine dining cuisine, but doesn't have the chef to back that up. This alone, however, is definitely not a reason to stay away from this hotel. There are TONS of amazing restaurants within walking distance. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to a friend or colleague.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyLucyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review LuckLucyM,
I am glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel but I would like to know more about your dining experience in Vista 18. Our chef generally gets great reviews so I want to look into the specific night you dined to learn what might have been going on then. We strive to deliver a great meal every time so if there is inconsistencies we would like to correct it. Perhaps you could email me the night you dined in Vista 18 and what you felt was missing from the menu. My email is mpaul@chateauvictoria.com.
We look forward to your return and hopefully turning your dinner experience around.
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 529 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had a wonderful early June weekend in Victoria, staying at the Chateau Victoria, and were fortunate to have some hot sunny weather throughout (much better than the cool damp conditions on our last visit to the city three years ago). The hotel location is a really easy stroll from Victoria's waterfront and the main shopping street and was easy to find on arrival. Check-in was smooth and friendly and we were given a very generous upgrade from the "new traditional" room we'd booked on the hotel's website, to a large 1-bedroom suite on a higher floor. This suite had 2 queen beds in separate rooms, a kitchenette and a seating area with balcony, plus a good sized bathroom.

The hotel's parking at first appears limited, but I then discovered that there is plentiful additional off-road parking available in other car parks a very short distance further up the hill from the main entrance. This set-up is probably obvious to others, but it took me several minutes to figure this out and extracate my large hire car from the jam-packed main car park next to the entrance. We had complementary parking included in our rate, which was very handy and you can park immediately outside the hotel reception to load and unload luggage.

Due to the unusually warm weather our room was rather warm when we returned after a day's sightseeing, but the free-standing A/C in the bedroom of our suite was effective (though a little noisy). The room where the other bed was located (which we did not use) did not have the benefit of the A/C and would have possibly been a little prone to exterior noise (nearby pub with rooftop bar) had the balcony door been left open.

We had breakfast both mornings in the Vista 18 restaurant at the top of the hotel (hint - there are free coffee coupons available from the front desk!). Fabulous views on all sides, and delicious food. We also had dinner here on the Saturday night (advance reservations essential) - again great views and atmosphere, but the fish we had was a little disappointing.

All the hotel and restaurant staff we dealt with were friendly and attentive, and it's clear why this family-run hotel deserves it's good reputation. We'd definitely consider staying here again should we return to this part of the world.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review Gordon,
It looks like Victoria put on a good show for you, especially in the weather department. I am glad you enjoyed our facilities and will certainly pass on all good and critical points to all involved. We certainly hope Victoria is on your list to return to one day.
Kind Regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Although the building is far from new, the lobby is recently updated and gorgeous as is the lounge (horribly slow service there, though). Our suite was fine but in need of some upgrading, particularly the furniture. The master bedroom bed was heaven but the mattress in the smaller room was not! The restaurant, Vista 18, needs work. I am a Celiac and was not certain that my gluten-free needs were well understood and the food was very average, at best. Can't beat the location - quiet and close to everywhere you want to be in downtown Victoria

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for the review Deborah,
I will certainly pass on your comments to both the bar and the restaurant. Classic Cocktails do take more time as every ingredient is fresh and drinks made one at a time but it sounds like we could have been faster in your case. The Vista 18 kitchen generally is noted for handling food allergies and preferences well so I will certainly look into this to see if we need some training from the service end. Thank you again.
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Their wireless connects great but you can't even load a whole web page. As a business traveller I expect to be able to at least send email. For two days I have had issues and talked to staff who can't do anything because the hotel is full and lots of people using internet. ... that's not good enough!

If you are on a personal trip and don't need internet then it's good value as my room has a full kitchen. This is a fully furnished suite.

I talked to a co-op worker about the cv hotel and she had the same issue several months ago. I can put up with the musty smell but no internet is not acceptable for business. We have hundreds of staff and corporately were not using this hotel anymore...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear DonnyBratsco,
I will try and contact you directly to learn more about your recent experience, especially with internet. We used the same company to duplicate the internet service offered by a national hotel in town and believe it is among the best in town. Most comments are positive about its speed and I apologize that you did have that experience. Again, I will try and connect with you off line to learn what we can do to get you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 56 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 56 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 56 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,689 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 56 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 stars 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Property: Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Address: 740 Burdett Ave | BC, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Victoria
#16 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#19 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Victoria at its finest through an authentic local experience in the heart of downtown, steps from the Inner Harbour. With deeply entrenched roots in the local community and a strong sense of environmental responsibility, we strive to share all that makes Victoria special with each and every guest. Our owner, Mr. Clive Piercy, has a long history on Vancouver Island that began when his grandfather started J. Piercy & Co. back in the mid-1800s. To this day, we remain true to those origins in all that we do - from supporting local farmers to sponsoring local events. Our rooftop grill has been voted in the top ten restaurants with a view in BC, and our cocktail lounge off the lobby has been named one of the top ten hotel bars in the world three times. Experience the best of Victoria through a truly local hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and TravelClick so you can book your Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Victoria Hotel Victoria
Chateau Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing