We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly beds !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heavenly beds !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Six of us all felt the same way, the beds and bedding were heavenly! So great we ask for the info on the mattress and sheet. Also staff was very helpful with directions and tourist info. Nice location also.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanj1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you Sanj1951 for taking the time to talk about our beds. I ended up buying one for myself this year when we replaced many of them. They are Sealy Posturepedic Monochome 2. We look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,126
    676
    158
    54
    32
See reviews for
602
710
94
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We paid for a deluxe one room suite for 2 queen beds. Travelling with 2 kids (3&6). We unfortunately got one of the not so well appointed rooms in the building on the lowest floor of the deluxe section. I had requested we have both beds in one room but they gave us a one bedroom with a queen bed in the room and another queen bed in the living/kitchen area. But since we were checking in early, too bad! It was a dark room facing the parking lot and there is not ventilation so we had to keep the deck door open to get some air circulation. The pool is too deep for our little kids (lowest is 5 feet with no gradual entry). I'd say that this was average hotels. Overall, the rooms are big and I did like the little kitchenette. Nothing wrong with the place but nothing great either

Room Tip: Really try to get a room at the top. we were on 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your review stsang. I am sorry to hear you didn't get the room of your choice. We do have three different bed configurations and everyone seems to have a favorite. Our pool is deep and those who like to swim laps like it but we are seeing more young families and we are listening to all comments. We are currently looking at a contractor who is proposing a graduated step into the shallow end of the pool that will be big enough for younger children to play. It will end up taking half the width of the pool so lap swimmers can still enjoy it too. The plan is to tackle this once the occupancy drops in the late fall as the pool will have to be empty for a while. Again, this action is a result of comments like this so please keep them coming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We where staying in the suite with an amazing view on the 17th floor. Everyone was helpful and the location was amazing. The restaurant in the hotel was not spetacular, except for the view and clives was lacklustre. Our final night the lounge was understaffed and the server told us that we wouldn't like a drink when asked for it. Also they did not check and ask if we wanted anymore. A huge disappointment. The final morning we got nagged to leave and check out and no assistance when asked for a bell hop because they where "too busy" the house maid came three times to remind us "check out is 11" and tried to push her way into the room. And the front desk kept calling for us to leave but wouldn't send assistance.

Lets just say it started well, and ended bad. I can't find where the value of my money went.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Zoey J
I am sorry to hear about your experience with us. I do all the reviews and yours certainly stands out as uncharacteristic to our usual level of caring and service. I certainly want to learn more about your stay and will contact you directly. Again I apologize for not having you leave with the feeling most have about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

First time to Canada and took a chance and blindly reserved a room at Chateau Victoria. Best chance I took. The room was more than spacious, clean, comfortable. Everything I needed to relax and start my vacation right. Even better was the friendliness of the staff with patience with all the questions I asked. They gave me good advice and would recommend this place over and over. We booked it with the ferry trip included and couldn't believe the price we got. Were we happy, you betcha!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dfmgsully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking that chance with us dfmgsully, As an independent hotel, you don't always know what you are getting but I think we try harder to win your business. We do need people like you to tell their story and help others with their choice so thank you for the favorable nod.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Old hotel that's been recently renovated, rooms are decent and comfortable but still feel a bit tired. Staff were neutral, not overly friendly but not rude either. Room was cleaned well and the breakfast at the restaurant was a good value. Probably would look to stay somewhere else for our next trip to the island.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindzeelootoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your review Lindzeelootoo. This is the first comment about our staff that wasn't over the top in a while. I will be sure to look into it but I guess sometimes the opportunity to impress just doesn't up. We have done a great deal in terms of renovations and will continue to do so for the next two years so if you do get a chance, please try us again. Perhaps we will get that chance to impress that everybody writes about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights May 25-28. Very comfortable stay for an anniversary trip. The room was large (we had a corner unit higher up with an excellent view) and roomy. The a/c unit is on wheels which can be redirected but it would have been nicer to have one in the bedroom and one in the living room for beter coverage. The rainy days can make it muggy so a/c is very desirable. We used the pool and exercise room with were adequate for us and worked very nicely for some eccercise. Restrooms/showers right off the pool area (nice). In the excercise room there is water to drink and towels and a tv with remote if needed. The front desk was very friendly. We used the shuttle once which was helpful. We ate breakfast once upstairs (good, but pricey for us-check out Cora's around the corner-nice alternative). We had drinks and tapas in the bar late one night. Slow and tapas not impressed. The rooming was certainly what we needed and I would recommend the stay. Great location to downtown for walking. Close to the bus depot as well.

Room Tip: Ask for higher leveland bay view-corner unit is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhxAzNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your review PhxAzANative. I am glad your stay was pleasant. I will certainly pass on your comments about Tapas to our chef. We hope you can return one day and try them again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

From the newly renovated room to the surprisingly good (and reasonable) room service, this place is a gem. Great location a couple of blocks from the inner harbour and tourist Mecca shopping areas. Charming and helpful staff. Clean, quiet, comfortable. Flat screen tv. Fridge. Coffee maker and kettle.

A couple of small issues, but not a deterrent by any means:

The portable A/C unit worked but was a bit loud and confusing to operate.

The windows opened, but my room, which was in a great quiet location, looked out on a small roof where there was a small bee-keeping operation! I'm allergic to bees, so could not take the chance of any flying I to the open screen-less window, so did not open the windows.

The main floor bar has a great drinks menu...varied and everything from basic wines by the glass to a large amount of single malt scotch and imaginative cocktails. Didn't try the roof top restaurant.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I was in a block of conference rooms on floors 1-4. My room was on the 4th floor and was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mentirita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your review Mentirita,
I am very happy to see our upgrades to the public spaces and the traditional rooms are noticed.
If you stay with us again, please let us know about your bee allergy. We love our bees and our guests love the honey they produce but you should be able to open your window so just let us know and we can relocate you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Property: Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Address: Chateau Victoria 740 Burdett Ave | BC, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Victoria
#16 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#19 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Victoria at its finest through an authentic local experience in the heart of downtown, steps from the Inner Harbour. With deeply entrenched roots in the local community and a strong sense of environmental responsibility, we strive to share all that makes Victoria special with each and every guest. Our owner, Mr. Clive Piercy, has a long history on Vancouver Island that began when his grandfather started J. Piercy & Co. back in the mid-1800s. To this day, we remain true to those origins in all that we do - from supporting local farmers to sponsoring local events. Our rooftop grill has been voted in the top ten restaurants with a view in BC, and our cocktail lounge off the lobby has been named one of the top ten hotel bars in the world three times. Experience the best of Victoria through a truly local hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TravelClick and Agoda so you can book your Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Victoria Hotel Victoria
Chateau Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing