We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Consistent and getting better.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
victoria b.c.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Consistent and getting better.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

I stay here at least a dozen times a year. Sometimes for business, sometimes for pleasure and sometimes for romantic getaways.
The recent and ongoing renovations certainly are putting a new shine and lustre on the main entrances , rooms, suites and common areas.
The staff are helpful , professional, courteous and when needed sarcastic and funny.
Clives lounge offers an eclectic mix of beverages and cocktails that will leave feeling like you've visited a lounge in a little nook or cranny of this planet. Cocktails from yesteryear. Exquisite in presentation and execution.
For a finer dining experience the rooftop vista 18 will tantalize your taste buds whilst stealing your breath with views.

A part of Victorian history and future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you Jothebartender for the great review. That is written so well you could work in marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,015
    616
    147
    53
    28
See reviews for
538
661
86
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynden, WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the Chateau Victoria for her 30th birthday and had a great experience.

Check in was quick! I asked about getting a room with a view, as was suggested by other reviews I read, and they were happy to upgrade me from the 4th floor to the 12th floor. Our room was right by the elevators, but we didn't hear them at all. We had a nice view of the Olympic Mountain Range and a part of the Parliament Building, but not the inner harbour. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was also place settings for two, so we were able to eat our leftovers in the room from when we went out. (Great breakfast at the Blue Fox!)

The shower had great water pressure and was nice and hot, but our tub did have a draining issue. I called the front desk and they sent up maintenance within 5 minutes to clean the clog out. Great service!

The pool and hot tub area were very clean. It was nice to soak in the hot tub after a long walk around the marina.

We did not make it to the first floor lounge, but we did go to Vista 18 for martini's one night. The view and food was good.

The free parking was nice and the hotel location was great as we could walk to most places we wanted to go.

All in all I would definately go back for another stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbieD_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Happy belated birthday Robbied. Thanks for the great write up and for highlighting our cleanliness. Its a big deal these days and our housekeepers take it very seriously. Glad you experienced some of the wonderful restaurants in our area. Please come back and give Vista 18 a try, especially for breakfast.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband took me for a two night stay at the Chateau Victoria in February. We stayed in the purple penthouse suite.
I will start off by saying the staff is wonderful there. From the front door to front desk and the staff in both eateries. Everyone had a smile on there face and said hello.
The hotel is older but is going threw a major reno. The updates make is very modern and classy. The rooms are beautiful. We had a room on the 16th floor. Large wrap around balcony with amazing views of water and the city. Our room was very clean and well appointed. Everything we needed was there. The only thing I would have loved to see is an MP3 station in the room.
Lastly the food is excellent. I love Clives. The drinks are amazing and so is the food. The biggest surprise was Vista 18. I had not been there in years and never for breakfast. The food cost for breakfast was cheaper than the family restaurant across the street. Plus the service was friendly and wonderful and the view is stunning.
I have told my husband I want to do this get away twice a year. Looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Spurge for a penthouse suite on either of the two floors. You get excellent value and will enjoy eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HowPaulawilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for the great write up HowPaulaWillTravel. Love the name. So nice to see a local give her town a try as a visitor. It is nice to leave the chores at home but not have to travel. I will share your comments with my colleagues. I am also happy to see you have found the value in those big suites. They are the best value in town. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have stayed here a few times.the location is great the staff is nice and help full the rooms are nice sized and well set up . The pool is not really big but it's clean and has a good but small work out room right off it the restaurant has a great view and is nice .i well defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 119pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks for the review 199Pat. It is always good to hear at the end of your comments that you will be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The room is clean and we really like the location. It almost close with everywhere. Hotel staff was really helpful. The only reason I give four star is because the breakfast is not very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments Lily. Our housekeepers love to get honorable mention in comments. I will pass on your note about the breakfast. We generally get rave reviews about breakfast so I hope you give Vista 18 another chance next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable but it was the staff at this hotel really made my stay. Upon arrival they immediately offered valet parking. Though I was checking out the next day the allowed me to leave my car parked in their lot until my meeting was over. Their complementary shuttle dropped me off downtown and offered to pick me up. Friendly and efficient. I'd stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SFJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear SFJ123,
Thank you for the great comments. We love to see Islanders staying at our hotel and we can certainly make room for more. I appreciate you passing any referrals if you get the chance. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We recently stayed here and enjoyed it very much. Glenn was the man who drove us to the Clipper for our departure. On the drive, we discussed the deer population and the difficulty of growing flowers around the. Glenn had successfully grown one type of flower but couldn't remember the name. When he did remember it, he wrote a quick note with the flower's name (primulas) and had it delivered to us via the Clipper boarding personnel!
About a week later, the manager wrote to me to tell me the name of another successful plant--osteopermum. I really appreciated this extra mile.
Thanks.
Leslie Whitaker

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leslie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
That's a great story Leslie. I will share this with Glenn the team at our morning meeting. Thank you so much for taking the time to tell all. I often see dear on my walk to work munching away on beautiful gardens so I guess it is a big deal in some areas including good old Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#16 of 53 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 53 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 53 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Property: Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Address: Chateau Victoria 740 Burdett Ave | BC, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Victoria
#16 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#19 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Victoria at its finest through an authentic local experience in the heart of downtown, steps from the Inner Harbour. With deeply entrenched roots in the local community and a strong sense of environmental responsibility, we strive to share all that makes Victoria special with each and every guest. Our owner, Mr. Clive Piercy, has a long history on Vancouver Island that began when his grandfather started J. Piercy & Co. back in the mid-1800s. To this day, we remain true to those origins in all that we do - from supporting local farmers to sponsoring local events. Our rooftop grill has been voted in the top ten restaurants with a view in BC, and our cocktail lounge off the lobby has been named one of the top ten hotel bars in the world three times. Experience the best of Victoria through a truly local hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Victoria Hotel Victoria
Chateau Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing