We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chateau Victoria is a great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Chateau Victoria is a great little hotel”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stay at this hotel several times each year when I have business in the Victoria area. Things I love about this hotel: 1) it is small so the staff notice you and remember you; 2) they have been awarded the "4 Green Key Eco-Rating" in Canada. They do try hard to have sustainable practices; 3) the restaurant is good and the bar is great.

Not to forget -the location is amazing!! You are right downtown Victoria!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraJVancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hi Barbara, I was reading our guest reviews and noticed we must have skipped your review. sorry about that. I do appreciate your kind comments about our staff. They really do enjoy getting to know our visitors and the better they know you, the more they want to help you make the most of your stay. It is nice to see this culture continue and I think to a large part it has to do with positive feedback like yours. Thank you for contributing to our success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,202
    706
    164
    57
    33
See reviews for
643
743
100
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Hefa, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Having stayed for 4 nights, the place is absolutely amazing.
The friendly staff catered to every request and need, and not once did I surprise them or catch them off guard with service requests - most of which were given free of charge.

The bar in the lobby hosts one of the best cocktail program ever, and has some of the best trained staff and warm-welcoming bartenders Ive ever met - fret not of the large cocktail menu and just subject yourself to the bartenders' whim. You will not be let down.
And the Vista18 restaurant atop the building serves excellent breakfast from early in the morning until almost noon.

The combination of a great bar, good restaurant, warm service and excellent location leads me to believe this is my favourite hotel yet, not only in Victoria BC.

Room Tip: Seeing as theres great view from all rooms, especially the higher ones, do try to climb up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Great review OronL
It sounds like you to full advantage of our services and we lived up to your expectations. I'll be sure to share with our gang here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at the Chateau Victoria as a running team from Boulder, CO when we ran the Victoria Marathon. I stayed in one of the Suites, which had two separate rooms with two queen sized beds and one bathroom. The room had a mini fridge, coffee maker, and small sink. The room was perfectly clean and modern, the beds were extremely comfortable. My friends room had a full mini kitchen in it, so if you want to eat in your room, request that. We walked everywhere, the location is perfect. We had a group discount rate due to there being so many of us. I was very pleased with the rate of $115 for that size of room. Now I had friends who stayed in the single rooms for $95 and they complained of it being tiny, I never saw those rooms myself. The staff was friendly, there was a lively bar on the ground floor and another restaurant on the top floor, both of which I stepped in but never ate or drank there. Overall, I would most definitely return to this hotel!

Room Tip: Get a suite, it's a better value for your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your review Ingrid1966
Marathon has really become a great event for visitors to our city. Thank you for making the effort to participate. If you come again, please let your friends know about our suites and the fact we sell out quickly so book early. By the way, we are renovating those traditional rooms this winter so even they will be nicer for the next marathon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

There are so many good things to say about this hotel which is why I rate it four stars. The good: fantastic location in city center within walking distance to most of the sights of Victoria including the harbor; close to necessities - pharmacy, restaurants, convenience stores, etc.; cleanliness of hotel; very friendly, knowledgeable and efficient staff; free parking; free wi-fi; suite was a great value for the three of us; excellent view from our upper floor suite room (hotel is on higher elevation than surrounding buildings) The hotel is air conditioned but our room had an in-room, mobile unit that, while it cooled the sleeping area, did nothing to cool the second room. Additionally the a/c unit was so noisy that we couldn't leave it on at night while trying to sleep. Fortunately the weather cooperated and wasn't very hot during our three night stay in July 2012. We left the sliding doors open and used the provided fan. The drawback here was some street noise late into the evening. We enjoyed our stay thanks primarily to the front desk staff. We would stay again and recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing the harbor - great views Corner suites have large windows and step out balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VolvanaWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review Volvanawhite.
Looks like our employees made your stay which is what I really like to hear. AC is not a common fixture in most buildings up here as there are so few days that need it. Our portable systems helps on the really warm days. We look forward to your return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2012

all round great hotel, the room was large and clean. but the real star in the food, great menu i had the steak expencive but worth every penny. and the view of the city from the top floor dinning room is breathtaking. also be sure and visit the bar in the lobby, it's quiet and relaxed with friendly staff with great tending skill, i had got the best G & T that i have found in Canada and my girlfriends mojito was also top notch. great for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shrek154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for the review Shrek154. Sounds like you tried everything out in the hotel. That is wonderful to hear and I`m glad we helped make your trip memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleburne, Texas
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We are six cousins from Texas who take an annual trip and like to have two adjoining rooms so we're able to visit and enjoy being together. We'd booked through the Victoria Clipper, and when we arrived, the rooms were down the hall from each other. The staff was very understanding and upgraded our room to a penthouse suite at a very reasonable price. The hotel van was available to take us to dinner and other locations in Victoria. The hotel was ideally located, clean, and staff was friendly. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for the review Carolyn C. It is so nice to hear about family getting together like this. I am glad we could help make the best of stay in Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed a couple if nights during our road trip of Vancouver Island. Great location, just a short stroll from harbour and parliament buildings. Had a lovely suite and a very enjoyable stay, would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for the recommendation Steve C. Be sure to tell your friends in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,485 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Property: Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Address: Chateau Victoria 740 Burdett Ave | BC, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Victoria
#16 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#19 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Victoria at its finest through an authentic local experience in the heart of downtown, steps from the Inner Harbour. With deeply entrenched roots in the local community and a strong sense of environmental responsibility, we strive to share all that makes Victoria special with each and every guest. Our owner, Mr. Clive Piercy, has a long history on Vancouver Island that began when his grandfather started J. Piercy & Co. back in the mid-1800s. To this day, we remain true to those origins in all that we do - from supporting local farmers to sponsoring local events. Our rooftop grill has been voted in the top ten restaurants with a view in BC, and our cocktail lounge off the lobby has been named one of the top ten hotel bars in the world three times. Experience the best of Victoria through a truly local hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Victoria Hotel Victoria
Chateau Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing