We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
Reviewed September 22, 2010

I was upgraded to a kitchenette suite with all types of amenities at no cost. The room (404) was very nice and comfortable, just like a small bachelor apartment. I was attending a meeting the next morning. The staff were very friendly and valet parking was included. A good experience and I would recommend this hotel. It is also located right in the downtown and I felt comfortable walking in the early evening to see some of the local area ambience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chimo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestCarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2010
I am glad the writer enjoyed their suite accommodations while staying with us. All of the Best Western Carlton's suites are large and bright, complete with full kitchens, 37 inch flat screen televisions, air conditioning units, in house movies, dry cleaning services and much more! Our suites are the perfect choice for a "home away from home" feeling, and I am glad we were able to provide this for the writer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    403
    114
    27
    15
See reviews for
303
379
84
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basque Country
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Granted, this is not a 5-star hotel so don't come here if you expect a Shangri-La kind of place. However, whereas this was supposed to be the most "modest" hotel of our stay in Canada and the US, I must say I was very positively surprised right from the beginning: we were met by a very pleasant and professional receptionist who immediately upgraded us to a sixth-floor room; the room turned out to be very spacious, with a TV-area that included two couches and a table, a kitchenette and two Queen-sized, comfy beds. The bathroom was OK, just functional but that was all we had asked for. So, as I said, all in all we were treated very well here and found the hotel to exceed our expectations.

By the way, this is of course a personal opinion but Victoria is boring...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liilak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestCarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2010
Though we are not a 5 star hotel, we are dedicated to providing only the best possible service to each and every one of our guests at all times. Our staff members are always working hard to ensure that each guest feels as though their expectations have been exceeded in every way possible! We are lucky to work with such a dedicated staff who truly enjoy working in the hospitality industry, and I am happy that they were able to make the writers stay in Victoria an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We checked in and were greated by most helpful staff and assigned a room that more than met our request. It was clean, and kept that way throughout our visit, and had all of the amenities we needed. The Hotel was within easy walking distance of downtown Victoria and surrounded by great restaurants

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs CO
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed here last year and returned this year. This hotel is very centrally located. Close to China town, harbour and Beacon Park. The room was clean and the beds are very comfortable.

The hotel has a quiet policy after 10pm. We heard a dog barking down the hall after 10 pm so we called the front desk and never heard it again. I really like the quiet policy, it makes a lot of sense. We had a suite with a kitchen which was fully stocked. The room was very big and comfortable.

This time we took advantage of the complimentary bikes available in the lobby. We went on the bike trail which is very close and had a great ride. Really appreciated not having to rent bikes.

The valet parking is very reasonalbe.

The staff was very helpful with directions. I would stay there again the next time.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bikeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestCarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2010
Our quite hotel policy has consistently been a huge hit with our guests. Our hotel has a "no noise" policy between 10 PM until 7 AM. As the writer previously stated, if there is noise present between these hours, one of our staff members will be up on the floor in a matter of minutes to ensure the noise level is kept down. This ensures all of our guests receive a good nights rest in a calm comfortable atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Predictable good service. Great staff. Very clean rooms. Central location. Reasonable rates.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enrol17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestCarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2010
Thank you for your kind words! It is always so great to hear from our repeat guests. It is my sincere hope that we will see the writer again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

The location is good for most of the sights and shopping as well as transportation. Our room was a good size and the staff friendly and helpful. During our stay my wife unfortunately hurt her leg and when we arrived back at the hotel the front desk arranged for one of the staff to take us to a doctor in his own car and he returned leter to collect us. That is what I call over and above the call of duty.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ater42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestCarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2010
Though this situation is quite out of the ordinary, it was our pleasure to assist with the writers transportation. We realize that unplanned events do occur in everyone's day to day lives! Whether this means a reservation cancellation, an arrival date change, or in this case a quick trip to the hospital, we are always ready to do our best to meet the needs of all of our guests, no matter what that need may be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Hotel is ideally located in the downtown area close to inner harbour and restaurants. The rooms have been newly furbished and clean with comfortable beds. The staff were very helpful and courteous. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bannock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Address: 642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing