We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
2 reviews
“central location, friendly staff”
Reviewed July 21, 2010

I always stay here because the staff is great. The staff are exceedingly helpful as they know the hotel doesn't have the cachet of the Inner Harbour or Government Street.

(Be aware this is an older building that management is continually upgrading so set your expectations accordingly. Yes, Victoria has its share of street people but they usually keep to themselves and the city & community partners are doing what they can to be of assistance. If you want a spectacular view, then pay an extra $300 during summer high season to stay at The Empress or waterfront or just get out and walk from the Carlton Plaza. )


You get value for the money because of the people and the location of the Carlton Plaza. This is very close to the Victoria Jazz festival which is centred around City Hall area and accessible to the Inner Harbour, Chinatown, buses, and Market on Yates. You can even walk off the pounds from the Fish & Chips at Ogden Point/Fisherman's Wharf and great organic fare back to this hotel.


I come for the location and return for the staff!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoAwayCheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    390
    113
    25
    15
See reviews for
289
368
84
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We spent two nights in a very reasonably priced studio suite and were very happy with our stay. The suite is a great size for a travelling family with room to stretch out and rest, as well as cook in the decent sized kitchenette. Staff are friendly, the place is clean, location is great.

Checking in a car can be a pain given the limited room they have for drop off, but the parking service was great after that.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hailnurgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night in June. We arrived earlier than the check-in time and although our room wasn't ready the hotel was happy to store our bags and park our car in the valet parking. When we returned to the hotel our room was ready and it was very spacious and immaculately clean. We stayed in a suite with a bedroom, kitchen and a second bed and sleeper sofa in the living room. The staff were all very helpful and friendly throughout our stay and recommended an excellent place to eat. The hotel is ideally located, easily within walking distance of downtown Victoria and the harbour. Our only criticism of this hotel was the length of time it took to fetch our car out of the valet parking on checkout, despite phoning reception and requesting our car for 10 minutes time, we were still waiting in reception for an extra 20 minutes, making it 30 minutes from originally requesting our car. Other than this we couldn't fault this hotel and would recommend it to anyone visiting Victoria.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaiserChiefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

The staff were lovely - very helpful and charming. Beds were very comfortable, linen was high quality, pillows perfect - we had a great sleep. The location was excellent. We were very happy with our stay. A huge bonus was the laundry facility provided for guests on site. We really appreciated it. The hotel had a very nice atmosphere and we would definitely choose it on another visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue63_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestCarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
I would like to thank the writer for their generous comments regarding our hotel. Our staff understands that many guests have different reasons for staying at hotels. Whether you are moving homes, visiting relatives, or even taking a simple holiday to reward yourself, we believe your stay should feel like your home away from home. Laundry services are just one of the many amenities we offer to each of our guests, and I am glad they were enjoyed by the writer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We found this place through the Harley Davidson Best Western website then read Trip Advisor to check out the Hotel. We were traveling with our SUV and our Harley attached to a motorcycle trailer so parking was a challenge . The staff here was very accommodating with our parking situation and already had parking set up for when we arrived. We were given great accommodations for a very reasonable price. We had a queenbed, kitchen, fast free wireless internet, flat screen TV with cable, and another separate bedroom with Queenbed.
The Hotel is surrounded by excellent restaurants and a 5 minute walk to the Inner Harbor by the Empress Hotel. I have also stayed at the Empress Hotel and feel like the accommodations at this BW are superior to that of the Empress. The staff was exceptional !!!!! Very friendly, helpful, and a pleasure doing business with. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestCarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
Though parking can sometimes be a challenge in the downtown core, we here at the Carlton are always working to ensure we are as accommodating as possible for all of our guests regardless of what vehicle they have arrived in. We can accommodate almost any kind of vehicle, including SUV's and Motorcycles! We even have an over height lot for those guests with extremely large vehicles. Whatever the demand here at the Best Western Carlton Plaza, we are always ready to meet and exceed the need!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2010

I have stayed at the Best Western Carlton Inn quite a number of times and have always been treated very well. I also stay here on business and have been made to feel very welcome by the friendly, efficient and helpful staff. The rooms are always very clean, the beds extremely comfortable and having complimentary wifi available in the room is a bonus. The valet parking is very convenient and efficient. The hotel's location in downtown Victoria makes it easy to find fabulous restaurants and great entertainment (and coffee).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestCarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2010
It is always so good to hear back from repeat guests. I would like to thank the guest for writing this comment! Of course, we look forward to your next stay as well. Whether you are here for a business trip, a vacation, or just a simple night of relaxation away from home, all of us at the Best Western Carlton Plaza are here to ensure that every single guest (no matter what their needs) have the most enjoyable stay possible, and I am so glad we were able to do this for the writer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

we went to the best western carlton plaza for a weekend stay. we were not expecting anything special, after all it was an average cost hotel. When we arrived , i was delighted to find a friendly, well dressed man offering to help me with my suitcase, followed by valet service! they checked us is promptly. the staff were extremely helpful... and attractive. the rooms were spotless! i even took off my socks, which is usually a hotel taboo. the beds were comfortable and clean, there was complementary bottled water, and many other things. a flat screened tv, an umbrella just in case. they thought of everything. the location was right in the center of victoria s downtown perfect for tourists or anyone who does not want to travel far to enjoy themselves. if you are going to victoriai strongly suggest the carlton plaza. feel like a V.I.P and pay an average hotel price.
i am going back next month!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calamari_Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestCarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2010
We look forward to seeing you again in July. I am glad to hear that you felt comfortable enough to take your socks off in your room! Our housekeeping department is proud to uphold such high standards of cleanliness here at the Best Western Carlton Plaza. We are consistently rated within the top 2% of all Best Westerns across North America in Quality Service. We are always aiming to improve every level of service, with the intent of ensuring that each and every guest experiences only the highest level of customer service possible, in every meaning of the word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,428 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Address: 642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing