We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,325)
Filter reviews
1,326 results
Traveler rating
665
478
133
34
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
665
478
133
34
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking downtown victoria great location johnson street valet service within walking distance best westerns front desk staff central location upgraded to a suite attached restaurant per day sofa bed few blocks full kitchen street noise beds were comfortable
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,326 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2019

The staff consistently went above and beyond. I love the texting option where I can text them for anything anywhere. The facility was classy and within walking distance of pretty much everything - great restaurants, wharf, museum, shopping, Chinatown. We had a fantastic time! Will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sherpa31241383830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019

I would give this place a 3 1/2 but that’s not an option
This is an average hotel but it is in a very good location in the downtown inner Harbour
If you get a suite and it is renovated the rooms are delightful if you get a basic room that is not renovated well not so much
Staff here are always friendly
Parking options are valet $12.50 in off-season $25 in peak season
There is a restaurant attached that serves up a good breakfast
It appears as though they are renovating the rooms bit by bit
Not a full-service hotel and limited amenities on sight

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandrockin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWatson27, General Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2019

Thank you Islandrockin for staying with us, and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your kind compliments towards our downtown location, restaurant, and staff members. We are currently renovating all of our guest rooms, and we’re glad to hear that you’re happy with our newly renovated features – we are aware that those rooms which have not yet been renovated can appear to be dated in comparison, and we expect to have all of our guest room renovations completed by the end of 2019. Although we are not a full service hotel, we do offer a wide variety of amenities such as the aforementioned onsite restaurant (The Ruby), onsite hair salon, fitness centre and valet parking service. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future to enjoy our fully completed renovations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019 via mobile

I stay at BW properties at lest one week of the month

Rooms are clean, great location yes it is true the night club down stairs can cause quite the noise

The front desk staff is a hit or miss ...
had two really great front desk attendants

Everyone else was rude and mediocre did not leave the hotel satisfied with the overall experience

To many other hotel options in Victoria

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Van_cor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWatson27, General Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2019

I am so sorry about your experience with our service team. This feedback is very atypical, which suggests to me something went terribly wrong. I would love to hear more about this experience which I am sure will be very helpful in ongoing training.

Sincerely,

Chris Watson
General Manager
chris@bestwesterncarlton.com
250-413-2190

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019

Great location. Clean, comfortable rooms. Friendly and helpful staff at the front desk. Car valet service is a bonus. No restaurant in the hotel; however The Ruby is right next door and is a great place for breakfast and lunch.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank sarashuster7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019

We absolutely love the location of this hotel. We attended a couple of shows at the McPherson Theatre, just a block away, and walked around shopping at places like Lululemon, MEC, and John Fluevog, as well as many other cute popular shops. The staff were friendly and helpful. I love that there is free wifi, free bottled water, and very nice clean rooms with beautiful bedding.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gschr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews