We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

My daughter and I took her 2 little boys to Victoria for the weekend. The staff at the Carlton Plaza were all so nice and treated us really well. We ran into a few challenges traveling with little ones but found the staff to be quite accommodating and very helpful. Thank you for contributing to a very memorable getaway!
Wendy B.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyB1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thanks Wendy for taking a few minutes out of your busy day to leave us this nice review. We loved having you both, and the boys in the hotel! (it's always fun to recommend good spots for kids to visit) We're very close to the Bug Zoo- a hit with the little ones, as well as Beacon Hill Children's Farm, Fisherman's Wharf (where the Harbour Seals rest and play) as well as some amazing restaurants, and other attractions. Come back and bring the family any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    369
    103
    22
    14
See reviews for
262
356
78
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
224 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

located in the middle of downtown victoria, close to great restaurant, plus local stores if you forget something from home. checking was fast and enough staff working to help guest. very clean room and gave us a suite (reserve for a regular room) with full kitchen and living room and dinnette. close to a lot of the attractions in the city. definitely coming back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wakisobol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Good Afternoon! We appreciate the time you took to leave us this nice review, it was wonderful having you at the hotel. We're glad that you enjoyed the upgrade from a traditional to a studio suite. The suites are a bit more spacious and offer a full kitchen (with the required utensils and accessories!) as well as a pull out sofa and seating area. We look forward to your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Clean, well-appointed rooms. Coffee maker and refrigerator in room. All staff were courteous and friendly. Beds were very comfortable. Definitely recommend for a family trip. Stayed 07-06-14 through 07-08-14.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you KW for this to the point and great review! Our comfortable rooms are equipped with a tea and coffee station, mini fridge, complimentary bottle water and much more. For families requiring a bit more space, or those hoping to do a bit of cooking on their vacation we have suites available for $20 more per night which boast a full kitchen and pull out sofa seating area.

We hope to see you on your next visit to the island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

When I booked, the hotel was described as "not central" to Victoria's most popular attractions. And the rate certainly showed it--the rate was nearly half of some of the waterfront options I considered. I was very happy to find that the location was perfect. So, I didn't have a view of the harbor. Instead, I had a lovely suite (with fridge, stove!? and large kitchen sink), on a relatively (for a city) quiet intersection for a very reasonable rate. My family was within easy walking distance of the Inner Harbor area, the museum, all the sites I wanted to see, and a nearly straight drive of 30 minutes to the ferry terminal Who could want more? The check-in staff were helpful, friendly, and competent. Our room had 2 full beds and a pullout sofa,and was very roomy for 4 people. Valet parking is the only option, but was a reasonable $13 per day and the valet service had full in/out privileges. On a very pricey trip, this was the best value we had.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ALspicemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We're so glad that you enjoyed your time at our hotel, and in Victoria. I'd like to thank the reviewer for pointing out, that while we are not a waterfront hotel- our location is a major positive point for us. We are walking distance to great restaurants, attractions, the inner harbour, as well as city transit to Butchart, Craigdarroch Castle and much more. If you have a question about our location or transportation in and around the hotel- we encourage you to call us directly at 250-388-5513 so that we can help you best plan your trip. Thanks again for choosing our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

The staff were very polite and respectful of our belongings. We arrived too early to check in and they held our bags for us. The room was HUGE and very accomodating to the whole party of us. I have zero complaints about any noise or disruptions. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to friends and family and I will definetly be returning for future visits.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Keisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thanks for this great review! Our check in time is guaranteed at three p.m, though if you do arrive in town earlier- please stop by the hotel and we will see what we can do! If it is not possible to move things around, or find a clean room for you immediately we are always happy to store any luggage you have and register your car to park so that you may go and enjoy the city without the burden of finding parking, or carrying bags. On the departure side, our check out time is at eleven a.m and we are of course happy to lock up and bags, and keep the car until later in day if you are planning on spending a bit more time in Victoria before departing. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Pro-- good location close to Chinatown and walkable to the Inner Harbour area
Good staff throughout the day and night
Clean and maintenance in the lobby going on( painting)

Con-- noisy street noise and noise in the hallways from other patrons
Could hear the thump of the music from the pub

Biggest nuisance is the valet service. They take your vehicle away and you have to request it when you want to use it. Definitely found it hard at night to find a place to park it and then have them 'valet' it . We drove around the block 4 times before we found a spot to park it for the valet. Perhaps the hotel or the City street department could paint lines in the parking zone so the vehicles took the appropriate space allowance. This would reduce frustration for the hotel patrons trying to enter the hotel to register etc.

Room was smaller than what we are used to, but understand this is a downtown hotel. Liked the toilet being in a separate room from the sink area.

Next time we will look elsewhere to stay.

Room Tip: Try for a room not close to the pub and avoid a room on Johnson Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CdnGal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for choosing our property and writing this review. As stated, we do our best to keep the hotel clean, comfortable and refreshed by ensuring ongoing maintenance and updates. I must apologize if you experienced any extended waits with our valet service. As with the majority of downtown hotels, we do not have onsite parking and a result we park in a gated area off site. It does take 10-15 minutes to retrieve vehicles from this lot, though we are always able to pre-schedule any car to be waiting out front of the hotel whenever it will be needed. On occasion when our loading zone is very busy, our valets need to be quite quick in clearing space in the zone. Our parking costs $13 per night and if a guest would prefer to drive their own vehicle, we are more than happy to accommodate this, and will have a valet escort them to swipe them in and out of the gated areas. Thank you again for choosing us on this last trip to Victoria, and I hope we see you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coaldale, Canada
Level Contributor
230 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed here for a few nights while on a getaway. The location is good as it is downtown and close to shopping and amenities. It is also a short few blocks to the inner harbour, museum and other touristy type venues.
There is no self parking (I think the parking lot is several blocks away), but the valet will get your car ready for you in a few short minutes.
Staff are very helpful and friendly and made us feel important.
This will stay on our list of accommodations for future visits to Victoria.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the west end of the hotel as there is a nightclub on the main level and it can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kermit403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel on your last trip to Victoria, we appreciate the feedback and the kind words. As with most downtown hotels, we do not have onsite parking. Our parking costs $13 per night, and because it is located off site, we provide an unlimited 24 hour valet service. Guests who wish to park themselves are absolutely welcome to do so- though they do require a valet escort to let them in and out of our gated area. We hope to see you again on the next trip to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 53 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 53 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 53 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
Address: 642 Johnson St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing