We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza - Victoria BC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel in the past three months. We are Victoria residents. The location can't be beat. The harbor, restaurants, antique row and lots of shopping are all around you. Absolutely no need for a vehicle. A great walking city. That said, public transit is right there if you need it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank George27_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Hi George! It's nice to hear that you're a return guest and hopefully we've been offering you all the same comforts of home! Our location is great for walking, it's true. We're in the middle of downtown Victoria, so many guests choose to leave their car in parking and stroll the downtown streets, wandering from cafe to restaurant, taking in all of the sights on foot. Our parking is $13 a night and comes with a complimentary unlimited valet service which runs 24 hours a day. Please come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

610 - 616 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

We chose this as part of the Victoria Clipper vacation package. The hotel is very nice, centrally located need shopping, restaurants, nightlife, and Chinatown. Our room was a corner room so we had view to the streets. We were surprised to see we had a couch, coffee table, desk and chair, and a kitchenette with stove, small fridge, microwave, sink and dishes and glasses. Our room was very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amezcua67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thanks for choosing us with your clipper package, we're so glad that you were able to enjoy the hotel on your most recent trip to Canada. The room we choose for you was a suite, which typically cost $20 more a night to include the full kitchen, along with the pull out sofa and seating area. They are a great choice for travelling families and guests looking to do a bit of coking as well. Our central location and comfortable rooms make us the perfect choice for any traveler.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The room was very clean, the internet worked well and the air conditioning system was excellent. One can open the windows too which is a real bonus. The room is small but it is in an older, updated hotel when rooms were small. I really liked having complimentary bikes available for use. In fact this is why we chose this hotel over the other Best Western. The bus stop for bus #75 is right across the street and this took us to Butchardt Gardens. So convenient.....

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank cccyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were able to enjoy the complimentary bike rentals that we offer. We have four available, and they are free for any guest to use during daylight hours for up to two hours at a time. As we are located in the heart of downtown, most major bus routes pass close by making transit a breeze. Thank you for choosing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is our favourite hotel whenever we visit Victoria! You can't beat the location because everything we want to see and do is within walking distance. The front desk staff is accommodating, friendly and efficient. The rooms are very clean and the beds are sooo comfy. I appreciated the assistance of the bell boy in picking up our luggage from the drop off area in front of the hotel. The Carlton Plaza works for us!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Tripsters2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Thank you for this glowing review! One of the best things about our hotel is the fabulous location. Our comfortable, well appointed rooms are within walking distance to anything you might need! Please come back and visit us again on your next trip to the island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. Prices were very reasonable so we didn't expect such a high standard. Everything was clean and polished with modern fittings done in old world style.
Just the kind of place you would want to stay in when visiting such a beautiful and historic place as Victoria

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Thank you Faye for such lovely comments about our hotel. Located in the heart of downtown, we are the perfect stop for any travelers visiting Victoria. Our suites are recently updated, so our fresh and clean rooms are wonderful for resting, relaxing and even getting a bit of work done for those traveling on business. With WiFi, wired internet access and close proximity to everything downtown we are a great choice for sightseers and business travelers alike. Please join us again on your next stop through town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had two rooms booked at this hotel for a 2 night stay for myself, daughter and 2 granddaughters, one of the rooms was booked with Air miles. The other room an after thought and booked by credit credit card. The rooms were clean and adequate, however after the first night my daughter told me that the room they had (booked with Air miles) was on the 2nd floor and above a noisy night club, this left them with an uncomfortable and sleepless night. I reported this to the Reception desk next day, unfortunately to late in the day for them to change them to another room as they said they were fully booked, we were given a voucher worth $40 toward breakfast next day at their on-site restaurant "The Stone's Throw'. and told that my daughter should phone down if they had any problems on the Saturday night and they would do what they could to amend it. When I went to check out on the Sunday I found that the room booked with a Credit card had 2 different rates, higher for the Saturday night, and not what I had been quoted on the phone at their Best Western Reservation number. I also explained that I had trouble getting a confirmation e-mail re this room as they couldn't seem to get my e-mail address correct despite it being spelled out, when it did finally arrive it was too late for me to print it out and it did not have a written confirmation of the room rates on it..... but I had written down the rate quoted on my original paper work. They did honour this rate. Parking was an extra $13 per night and as the Hotel lobby was on a busy street it was valet parking, the cars had to be driven up the road to another location. So all in all we were not at all happy with our stay, yes the rooms were clean and adequate, and the Staff tried to accommodate us, and it was central... but noisy and aging. The Restaurant could certainly have done with a face lift, but the supper and breakfast we had there came up good and hot and the young waitress, Megan, was a delight and very attentive. As a frequent 'weekender' to Victoria I certainly would not stay at this hotel again, and as this was a special 'birthday weekend' treat for one of my granddaughters I was most disappointed.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for one not over the night club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback given to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for others in the future. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations during this stay. We do our very best to ensure a quality and comfortable sleep for our guests however being in the downtown core there is some inevitable street noise, as well as nearby nightclub. For those lighter sleepers, we do our very best to place them in a room of the hotel on a higher floor, or facing another side of the building. I'd also like to take the chance to apologize for any difficulties you may have encountered during the reservation process. Though the reservations were made through a third party booking agent, we are of course always happy to confirm any details over the phone, or through email directly at the desk, and help out in any way we can. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Located on a main street with plenty of shopping and bus stops nearby. Definitely not the Ritz, but the rooms are simple and clean (if a bit small), with a friendly staff and strong Wifi. The property's on-site restaurant is kind of sad, but there are many other eating options around. The neighborhood is central, but still has a slightly transitional feel to it (camping/hiking stores, cute cafes and boutiques to one side, 7-Elevens, bars, and slightly sketchy people hanging out on the other). But overall a totally acceptable place to stay.

Room Tip: As per others who said that the lower floors could get noisy, I requested a room higher up. I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelogue1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Thanks for your kind comments, and for choosing our hotel when we know there is a lot of choice in Victoria. Our downtown location is just steps away from all that the city has to offer. The inner harbour, restaurants, shops, attractions, business, and tours are all within steps of our front door. Please come back again, and we'd be happy to point out all of our favourites!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 46 in Victoria
1,602 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 46 in Victoria
3,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Address: 642 Johnson St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#15 Family Hotel in Victoria
#22 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $83 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing