We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay!”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

This very conveniently located hotel has much to offer; Within walking distance from all the local attractions, it made our stay in Victoria very easy and trouble free. The complimentary bike rentals were definitely a highlight and the attached restaurant was very satisfying. The friendly staff was always willing to help us with our every need and the room, despite being slightly dated and rather small, was very clean and comfortable. Overall, this hotel is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for this kind and positive review! Though we are walking distance to everything, we also have four complimentary bikes available to loan at the hotel which are great for sight seeing. Guests can borrow them for up to two hours at a time during daylight hours. Just stop by the desk to sign a waiver, and enjoy your ride!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    386
    110
    22
    15
See reviews for
280
364
83
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

When you're visiting Victoria, you want to be where the attractions are. Close to the Inner Harbour, close to the Museum and Galleries and the Parliament Buildings. Close to restaurants, and to the lunch-time concerts at Market Square. Close to the street artists that perform on the sea wall. The Best Western Carlton Plaza gives you all of that. Located on Johnson Street, just a block down from Douglas and a block up from Government in the heart of the old city, you can wander wherever you like. The beds are soooo comfortable, the suites are lovely and welcoming, and if you have a car, they take care of the parking for you. This hotel gives you fabulous value for your money.

Room Tip: The suites overlooking Johnson Street are worth the extra few dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you very much Rachel for this wonderful review! We are indeed just minutes away from all that downtown has to offer. Shopping, restaurants, sights and attractions are all within walking distance. For guests with cars, we do offer parking for $13 a night in the summer season. This price includes the unlimited in/out 24 hour valet service. Please come back and visit again any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We arrived and were greeted warmly, we were upgraded to a suite, at no cost. The staff were very friendly and helpful, giving suggestions for places to eat and where to go sightseeing. The room was awesome, spacious and very clean. Felt like we were staying in an upscale hotel. Very close to everything...shopping, food and harbor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Hello again Karen! Thank you for taking the time to put this review up on tripadvisor. I'm glad that our helpful staff were able to point you in the right direction of the sights and restaurants they enjoy in the area. They appreciate knowing their efforts were noticed! Our downtown location is one of our biggest assets, literally steps from almost everything Victoria has to offer. Come back and visit any time,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliston, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Very noisy room. From the outside street, to the housekeeping in the morning vacuuming before 9am, to the people staying about me. On my two days off after getting up all week at 6am I was hoping to sleep in till 9-10am but that is impossible at this hotel. Housekeeping is very loud, and daily the recycling and garbage man pick up bins from across the road around 6am. The noise from this is so loud you would think their trucks were in your room. Having the heater/ac in the window doesn't help with noise reduction either. Honestly this is the loudest hotel I have ever stayed at, so if you do stay here bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah13131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Hello Sarah, Thank you first of all for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to tell us how we can improve. I apologize for any noise you experienced throughout your stay, certainly a good nights sleep is something we always take extremely seriously for our guests. I will be sure to speak with housekeeping about the timing and volume in the hallways. Although we are a downtown hotel, with some inevitable urban noise associated, we have have many rooms which do not face the street and are extremely quiet and restful for our guests who may sleep lightly. On that note, thank you for informing us about the noise from the city collectors as the bylaws state they should not be picking up until after seven am. I hope that you will come back and visit us again so that we can have the opportunity to give you the wonderful, restful stay that I know we can provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Never disappointed at this hotel, great service, lovely appointed rooms and comfy beds! Close to all tourist areas of Victoria, walk to inner harbour and shopping. The rooms as well as lobby is very clean and well cared for. The valet parking is very efficient.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi Karen! Thanks for visiting us again, and for leaving us this nice review! As mentioned, we are close to everything downtown has to offer, restaurants, the harbour, sights, work and play. Many guests choose to leave their cars parked for the duration of the trip as most things are just a short walk away. We offer parking in the summer season for $13 per night, which includes our 24hr, unlimited valet service. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great hotel. Everything is up to date and spotless. Great location downtown. Walk to lots of places downtown. The staff at the Best Western were friendly and helpful. They are forcing me to write 200 characters.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you Paul, both for choosing us and for writing 200 characters :) Our cheerful and friendly staff are always happy to direct you to the nearest restaurant, attraction or walking route in the area. Come back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Not a very nice hotel. Location is great yes, but rooms are, very, very small, dated decor, barhroom was awful...old low tub (would never take a bath in it) with a rubber mat draped over the side of the tub you use so you dont slip if you want to shower, a soap/shampoo dispenser in the shower with the most awful smelling stuff and tiny, tiny soaps at the sink. I just woke up this morning to the sound of some man (in the room above me) having a pee in the toilet ...eeuuu ! I dont need to hear that. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Hello Catherine, and thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. I'm sorry to hear that your time at our hotel was not a pleasant one. Although our building is a bit older than many of the modern new builds we take pride in our clean and well appointed rooms. Part of our green initiative at the hotel to lessen the carbon footprint of our business is to provide dispensers in the showers for shampoo, body wash, and conditioner which we refill with the same same standard items rather than throwing away the individual bottles for each guest. We are of course more than happy to provide extra soaps, or forgotten items such as toothpaste, combs, razors etc.. for those guests who may need them. I hope that you come back again, so that we can show you all of the charm and comfort that our hotel has to offer. Have a great day,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Address: 642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Best Western, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing