We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The Best Western PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel in Victoria BC is a must stay. We will return and Victoria is our home. Its' location is perfect for walking to harbour and shopping. Entertainment venues are minutes away (by foot). The staff genuinely care about your stay and it shows. Lovely lobby and attached restaurant. Try it. We're glad we did.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank George27_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Thank you George for staying with us and writing us a lovely review. Our perfect location makes it easy for our guests to walk to fun places including: Inner Harbour, the Bay Centre, Victoria Event Centre, and Save-on-foods Arena. Also, our staff are always ready to assist our guests with directions and recommendations. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

618 - 624 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

spent a night with my university aged daughter, great time although bathroom a little cramped for two doing make-up, great East Indian restaurant across the street and super close to everything... good gig

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Blodwyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you Blodwyn B for choosing us on your recent trip to visit your daughter, our comfortable rooms and central location make the Best Western Carlton a perfect landing point for anyone in the city. In addition to our traditional rooms, we also have suites available which have a full kitchen seating area and tend to be more spacious for a travelling family. They are priced $20 more than a traditional room.

We hope to see you again when you next visit your daughter, and good luck to her in school!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Good location and the staff was most helpful to move us to the room that best suited our needs. The air conditioner/heater in one of the rooms had an air leak at the bottom of it allowing cold air to howl through the room. After they moved us to a much better location, we were very satisfied and had a good sleep both nights. Nice and quiet also.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank KathleenSabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Good morning, Kathleen! Thank you for writing us a wonderful review. We are glad that we were able to resolve the issue right away and you enjoyed your stay. We do our best to provide our guests with good nights' sleep and great experience as it is very important to us. We would love to welcome you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Great location being central. Staff at the desk were very professional, friendly and accommodating. Beds were fair and rooms pretty tight being a two bed room. Very quiet in our room location. For some it might be a problem if you need your vehicle throughout the day as it is valet parking quite far away and 15 minutes is needed to send for your vehicle.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Randy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you Randy for your kind review. As you mentioned, we are within a close proximity to many tourism attractions, restaurants, and shops in Victoria. Our staff try their best to provide our guests with memorable experiences. Parking is available at $7(low season) or $12(high season) with complimentary valet service for our guests. Your vehicle is parked in a gated parkade which is half block away from the hotel and it take about 10-15 minutes to retrieve your car because it is one way street. However, you can always pre-schedule your car. Our suites are available at only $20 more per night - it great value for the extra space and full kitchen. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed at this hotel while taking a weekend yoga course and had such a wonderful stay. My flights were delayed so I missed my first night yet they were so great that they even upgraded my room since I was staying for three more nights. The staff was so kind and helpful with directions, or any other questions that I had.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessikalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Hi Jessikalynn, we're so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, (even though flight delays can be a pain!) As stated in this review, our hotel is directly downtown Victoria and the perfect place to relax on a weekend trip away. Walking distance from everything you might need, we're the perfect landing point whether you are here for work, a conference, or just to see the sights. We're equipped comfortable traditional rooms and also for $20 more a night have suites available which offer full kitchens and a seating area. Our studio suites are wonderful for travelers who hope to stay in a bit more, and possibly do some cooking.

We hope to see you again on your next yoga retreat,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

A boutique hotel hidden in downtown Victoria. Great service, fabulous rooms and great value. We were they for a stressful event and upon arrival all the stress went away. We did not ask for any special treatment but the Hotel sure made us feel special. We can't wait to go back when we have a longer time to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you for taking time to write us a wonderful review, George! We are very pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate you and make your stay special. We would love to welcome you back to our hotel anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The Carlton Plaza is centrally located in Victoria, a walk to everything. The rooms are clean, the staff is excellent and the restaurant is very good. This is probably the best Best Western I've stayed at and is an excellent choice for business or pleasure. This is not a luxury stay but is a great value for the money and staff as good as any luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Hello again Leslie, Thank you for taking the time to write these kind words about our hotel. We appreciate the comments about our staff. We are located in the downtown core of Victoria, which is a perfect location for any traveler visiting the city, withing minutes walking of sights attractions, business centers and restaurants.

Come back and visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 47 in Victoria
2,148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 47 in Victoria
1,588 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#38 of 47 in Victoria
304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Address: 642 Johnson St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $80 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing