We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

A boutique hotel hidden in downtown Victoria. Great service, fabulous rooms and great value. We were they for a stressful event and upon arrival all the stress went away. We did not ask for any special treatment but the Hotel sure made us feel special. We can't wait to go back when we have a longer time to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you for taking time to write us a wonderful review, George! We are very pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate you and make your stay special. We would love to welcome you back to our hotel anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,127)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

579 - 585 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

The Carlton Plaza is centrally located in Victoria, a walk to everything. The rooms are clean, the staff is excellent and the restaurant is very good. This is probably the best Best Western I've stayed at and is an excellent choice for business or pleasure. This is not a luxury stay but is a great value for the money and staff as good as any luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Hello again Leslie, Thank you for taking the time to write these kind words about our hotel. We appreciate the comments about our staff. We are located in the downtown core of Victoria, which is a perfect location for any traveler visiting the city, withing minutes walking of sights attractions, business centers and restaurants.

Come back and visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Hotel staff were very helpful at this hotel in a relatively busy part of downtown Victoria. Lots of small restaurants on street. Close to transit. Neighbourhood a little seedy, but safe. Beds only of average comfort; walls a little thin. Heating unit very quiet.

Room Tip: The usual - away from elevators and ice machines.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RamblinTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Thank you for taking time to write us a review. There are numerous tourist attractions, public transit and Victoria's finest restaurants just within close proximity. All our staff make sure to provide our guests with excellent customer service. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I loved the location of this hotel. We were with our whole family, including the grandkids, and we could easily walk to most of the attractions we were there for. It is near a funky, hip part of the downtown zone, with great little shops and restaraunts. I just felt that the room was a little dated, could use some improvements and updating. It was also a little small with 2 beds and a kitchenette all in one open area. We were all bumping into each other if we weren't sitting down.

Room Tip: ask for a BIG room, if you want a suite.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandsun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. As you mentioned, we are centrally located in the heart of Downtown, Victoria. You can easily walk to main attractions, restaurants, and shops in town. Since last October, we have been working on some improvements in all of our suites by replacing the kitchen counter top, cabinet, and bathroom vanity. Just one more floor to go! We hope to welcome your family back to enjoy our modernized suites with full kitchen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I was very lucky to find the Best Western Carlton in Victoria. I am constantly travelling to Victoria for business and need to keep the bill on budget. The Best Western offers a good price, but they also offer top notch service as well. Not always the case with an affordable price point. And the location is great! The valet parks my car for me when i check in, I can walk to all my meetings throughout my stay, no worries about parking. It's perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Hello Jennifer and thank you again for your kind review! It's always a pleasure to see that our repeat guests are happy. Parking at the hotel is $7 a night in the winter and $12 a night in the summer season, and comes with our unlimited valet service. The hotel is walking distance to most everything in the downtown core, and many guests choose to leave their vehicles in parking for the duration of the stay. We look forward to having you back again the next time your meetings bring you to town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Best Western Plus in Victoria, BC in December 2013. The hotel was centrally located and within walking distance to my favorite places in Victoria. The Public Market was a 10 minute walk. I found some of the best restaurants during my exploration of downtown Victoria.

The staff was extremely friendly and make suggestions for deals on nearby restaurants. The front desk clerk even made my reservation for my hotel in the US and made sure that reward points were added.

I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I chose a room on the front side because I like to see the everyday coming and going of city life...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cstarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for choosing us, and for your kind review! The neighborhood in which the hotel is located is certainly a gem. Walking distance to restaurants, sights, the new Victoria Public Market located in the old Hudson Bay building and proximity to transit means that you are never far from where you need to be. We look forward to seeing you again on your next Victoria visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Make sure you get a room on the top floors. The bars in the nearby area are noisy if you are on the 1 - 4 floors. Rooms are nice. Beds comfortable. Walking distance to nice Asian restaurants. Parking costs $7 per day extra which I did not notice when booking. Its all valet parking. Hotel is cheaper than many Best Western's so that makes up for some of the hassles.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Hello and thanks for taking the time to write this review. As the reviewer stated we are a downtown property, and though we do not have on site parking we do offer it at $7 a night in the winter. Our parking comes with a valet service, is 24 hours and unlimited in/out privileges. Though we are in an urban setting, rooms on the back side of the hotel are especially serene for even the lightest sleepers and tend to be popular no matter what floor. We hope to see you again on your next Victoria visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,098 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.7 mi away
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
0.6 mi away
Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Address: 642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $79 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing