We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cheaper Option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Cheaper Option”
Reviewed August 19, 2008

I had expected a lot less when booking the Best Western Carlton but I was pleasantly surprised by it's location, rooms and service. We weren't on the inner harbour for a change but it was a good change as we were able to explore more areas of Victoria. Even though we were on the 2nd floor facing Johnson street, we never heard a peep from the goings-on of a Saturday night. The rooms were a good size with duvet covers instead of those thin hotel bed-spreads. We had a complimentary upgrade to a suite upon our arrival which was great! The people at the front desk were extremely nice and pleasant but not very helpful with the local bus (minor detail). I would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The interior decor
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmurf82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    403
    114
    27
    15
See reviews for
303
379
84
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2008

We spent two nights in Victoria on our family vacation and found the Carlton Plaza to be a good value with an excellent location for walking around the sites of the inner harbour of Victoria.

The room was oversized with a couch, kitchen and sitting space. Excellent for four people, including two teenagers.

The beds were comfortable and the front desk was very helpful and cheerful. They handle the parking situation (or lack of) well with courteous and prompt parking service.

Overall - a good stay in a great location. I also saw the previous review and our room had no noise issues.

  • Liked — The location was great
  • Disliked — furnishings are probably a little dated
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MikeC52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penticton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2008

this hotel is located above a very loud nightclub that kept us awake all night. The manager offered us a gift certificate for another stay but would not include the same dates as our visit, only off season !!!!
Would not recommend this hotel if you need a good nights sleep

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank penticton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGeneralManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2008
Thank you to the TA member for posting the review about the noisy stay. We certainly apologize about the negative experience. There are advantages and disadvantages of staying in a downtown hotel location. One disadvantage being noise created by downtown life. The advantage is of course you are close to just about everything. There is a nightclub in the basement of our hotel but generally speaking, they are good at keeping the level of noise to a minimum. The member is correct that we sent them a gift certificate which would entitle them to a future one night stay and yes, there was a restriction that it wasn't valid until October 1st, 2008 but it was valid till April 30, 2009. We were not aware that the guest would not be able to use it during that time so we sent them an email stating that we would be pleased to re-issue the gift certificate without restrictions. We have yet to hear from them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

This was the third Best Western hotel we stayed in this 3 week holiday - and was certaily the best! the location was great - not far from all the attractions, but the room was fab! - two beds in it and a sofa bed and a kitchen area - so for 3 of us it was plenty of room. nice and clean too. Valet Parking at $9 per day was really handy and conveniant. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had breakfast in the Pancake house next door - really great - but you might want to think about sharing unless you have big appatites! try tea at Barbs place - a bit of a walk - 30 mins of so via the inner harbour but great fish and chips -0 and not expensive either. Its at Fishermans Wharf - and watch out for the seal!

  • Liked — the space
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank corrylovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2008

very enjoyable stay, great beds, staff were great very close to all amenities of downtown Victoria

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank bigguysalmonarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

booked at the last minute. very good value for money. In a good location easily walkable to shops, good restaurants etc. The room was spacious with a decent kitchen area. Staff were all very helpful and pleasant. Valet parking at $9 perday is pretty good value.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fiona229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Perfect stay. Great location. Spotless room. Terriffic staff. Hottest valet's on the planet. No parking on site but for only $9 a day they will valet your car to parking as often as you need. Quiet room, great bed. Simply put, it was a great deal and we could not have been more pleased.

  • Liked — The staff was friendly and hot.
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Craiggerspdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Address: 642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Best Western, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing