We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy, clean and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfy, clean and well located”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Our stay at this Best Western was extremely enjoyable. The nice pleasant, modern clean rooms and ambience are very nice. And despite being in the heart of downtown, it was very quiet, however, our stay was mid-week, so cannot say for the weekend, but I cannot imagine it being too noisy. I would recommend staying here

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank monty020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thanks Monty, for taking the time to write this thoughtful review. As stated we are in the downtown core, just steps away from Victoria's well known sights such as the inner harbour, legislature, museums, restaurants and shopping! Our variety of rooms are well appointed and comfortable for anyone ranging from a single business traveler to larger groups. Thank you again for choosing the Carlton Plaza, Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    386
    110
    22
    15
See reviews for
280
366
83
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Great place to stay, excellent location. The food at Stone's Throw restaurant was AMAZING!! I loved that I could bring my animals with me. The staff was very friendly with my animals. The beds were very comfortable and I was surprised by the size of the rooms. The overall value can not be beat. when you factor in the great staff, clean building, great food, amazing location and acceptance of animals I would have expected to pay double the amount they were charging. That means a lot in this tight economy. However the low price did not mean that my expectations were low; I have very high expectations and they were beyond met. I would recommend anyone to stay here..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Tasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you Tasha for your glowing review of our property! We also love the on site restaurant , the Stone's Throw. They open at 6:30 in the morning for those early morning travelers and serves their amazing breakfast options all day long. We encourage any guests with special requests (like a pet, or any particular needs) to call ahead to the hotel, and we will do our very best to accommodate them. We look forward to seeing you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Our family visited Victoria for Thanksgiving and were very happy with the room and staff. They went out of the way to accommodate us significantly upgrading our room at no-charge and being very attentive to our needs. They proactively offered to store our luggage, schedule a cab back to the Clipper and offer umbrellas.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGuy9057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for this very kind review! We get quite a few visitors from Washington, and our hotel is perfectly situated for a weekend getaway. We're centrally located downtown, and as stated we do have suites available which typically run 20$ more a night than a standard room. They offer a full kitchen, seating area and pull out couch which can be a blessing for the travelling family! We're more than happy to store any baggage after check out for guests who wish to enjoy the city a bit more before heading home.

We hope you'll think of us again on your next vacation to the Island, Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto,ont.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a wonderful small hotel with excellent staff in the heart of downtown Victoria. Hand your car keys to the valet and forget them as everything is within walking distance. A nice touch was the gentleman playing Christmas music in the lobby. The room was very comfortable and clean. The Whitespot restaurant has improved its menu and food over the last few years and it is located across the foyer so no need for a coat. I was impressed by the service and thought the price very reasonable. Parking was extra but at $7. a day, more reasonable than many other downtown hotels. Our room faced the back of the hotel and was very quiet in this busy area.

Room Tip: I have heard it can be noisy in this downtown location. A room overlooking the back of the hotel doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
I would like to thank John for a kind review on his recent stay at the Best Western PLUS Carlton Plaza hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. As John mentioned, we are located right in downtown, Victoria. It is very convenient for our guests to walk to major tourism attractions. There are many great restaurants just within walking distance. Parking is offered at $7 for slow season and $12 for busy season. We provide complimentary 24-hour valet service for all of our guests. We would love to accommodate you again in the future. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
268 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Positives: central downtown location close to shopping, waterfront and restaurants. Clean room, very comfortable queen bed, and a shower that is strong. Complimentary bottled water is a nice touch.

Negatives: a large number of rooms, like mine, faced the street and while Victoria is far less busy than some cities, the road noise and that of people at all hours of the night, makes for a restless sleep. The walls between rooms are thin so an average voice level conversation in the room next to you can easily be heard. Hot water ran out one morning about 8am. Hotel is used by alot of businessmen so the wake up times are similar.

I would not stay here again primarily for the street noise.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank yvrtravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, and I apologize if you stay was not an entirely satisfactory one. Our downtown central location is indeed convenient for any traveler hoping to see Victoria, or conduct business in the downtown area. While we cannot control the varied street noise that from time to time does drift up towards the rooms, most guests do not find it any more disruptive than any other downtown location. For the lightest of sleepers, we are more than happy to do our best to find you the most quiet, restful room possible for your stay. In regards to the hot water, this is unusual so thank you for bringing it to our attention so that I can alert maintenance,

We hope you visit our lovely city again soon, and give us the chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The hotel is in a prime location downtown Victoria and very easy to reach. Parking through offered valet parking is no problem whatsoever. The accommodation of the rooms are very good and especially very clean. The amenities in the bathroom could be a little bit better. The service is excellent and the hotel employees are very friendly and helpful. Egon Andre, Nanaimo,BC.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Egon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hello Mr. Andre! Thank you very much for your kind review. The location of our hotel is very convenient. Our guests enjoy a short walk to Save On Food arena, many attractions and restaurants in downtown, Victoria. As you mentioned, we do our best to make our valet parking service as easy and efficient as possible. We offer parking at $7 per night during slow season and $12 during busy season. We are updating our suites by replacing the kitchen counter top, cabinet, and bathroom vanity. Our suites are available at additional cost of $20. Hopefully, everything is all ready for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. It was very well situated. We were able to walk wherever we wanted to go in the town. The hotel was clean, and we had a comfortable room. The reception area was always busy with lots of people checking in. There was no restaurant in the hotel, but we used the restaurant next door which ajoins the hotel for our breakfast and evening refreshment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimandViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello Jim and Viv, and thank you for this kind review. The restaurant located through our lobby is called the Stone's Throw and serves breakfast all day. (A staff favourite are the waffles! They add a crunchy granola on top that is amazing!) Our central location makes it easy to visit any of the great sights, restaurants and attractions downtown Victoria has to offer. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,574 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Address: 642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing