We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a wonderful small hotel with excellent staff in the heart of downtown Victoria. Hand your car keys to the valet and forget them as everything is within walking distance. A nice touch was the gentleman playing Christmas music in the lobby. The room was very comfortable and clean. The Whitespot restaurant has improved its menu and food over the last few years and it is located across the foyer so no need for a coat. I was impressed by the service and thought the price very reasonable. Parking was extra but at $7. a day, more reasonable than many other downtown hotels. Our room faced the back of the hotel and was very quiet in this busy area.

Room Tip: I have heard it can be noisy in this downtown location. A room overlooking the back of the hotel doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

I would like to thank John for a kind review on his recent stay at the Best Western PLUS Carlton Plaza hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. As John mentioned, we are located right in downtown, Victoria. It is very convenient for our guests to walk to major tourism attractions. There are many great restaurants just within walking distance. Parking is offered at $7 for slow season and $12 for busy season. We provide complimentary 24-hour valet service for all of our guests. We would love to accommodate you again in the future. Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Positives: central downtown location close to shopping, waterfront and restaurants. Clean room, very comfortable queen bed, and a shower that is strong. Complimentary bottled water is a nice touch.

Negatives: a large number of rooms, like mine, faced the street and while Victoria is far less busy than some cities, the road noise and that of people at all hours of the night, makes for a restless sleep. The walls between rooms are thin so an average voice level conversation in the room next to you can easily be heard. Hot water ran out one morning about 8am. Hotel is used by alot of businessmen so the wake up times are similar.

I would not stay here again primarily for the street noise.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank yvrtravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, and I apologize if you stay was not an entirely satisfactory one. Our downtown central location is indeed convenient for any traveler hoping to see Victoria, or conduct business in the downtown area. While we cannot control the varied street noise that from time to time does drift up towards the rooms, most guests do not find it any more disruptive than any other downtown location. For the lightest of sleepers, we are more than happy to do our best to find you the most quiet, restful room possible for your stay. In regards to the hot water, this is unusual so thank you for bringing it to our attention so that I can alert maintenance,

We hope you visit our lovely city again soon, and give us the chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The hotel is in a prime location downtown Victoria and very easy to reach. Parking through offered valet parking is no problem whatsoever. The accommodation of the rooms are very good and especially very clean. The amenities in the bathroom could be a little bit better. The service is excellent and the hotel employees are very friendly and helpful. Egon Andre, Nanaimo,BC.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Egon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Hello Mr. Andre! Thank you very much for your kind review. The location of our hotel is very convenient. Our guests enjoy a short walk to Save On Food arena, many attractions and restaurants in downtown, Victoria. As you mentioned, we do our best to make our valet parking service as easy and efficient as possible. We offer parking at $7 per night during slow season and $12 during busy season. We are updating our suites by replacing the kitchen counter top, cabinet, and bathroom vanity. Our suites are available at additional cost of $20. Hopefully, everything is all ready for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. It was very well situated. We were able to walk wherever we wanted to go in the town. The hotel was clean, and we had a comfortable room. The reception area was always busy with lots of people checking in. There was no restaurant in the hotel, but we used the restaurant next door which ajoins the hotel for our breakfast and evening refreshment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimandViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Hello Jim and Viv, and thank you for this kind review. The restaurant located through our lobby is called the Stone's Throw and serves breakfast all day. (A staff favourite are the waffles! They add a crunchy granola on top that is amazing!) Our central location makes it easy to visit any of the great sights, restaurants and attractions downtown Victoria has to offer. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

A hotel is a place to rest at night. Well, they did not take the rest too seriously at this place. The room they had me in on the second floor was a discotheque. It felt like I was standing by the speaker with the base trembling on my feet. I made a visit to the front desk and they said they had a talk with the bar manager downstairs. They offered to move me to a room on the sixth floor, but it was pretty late and I declined as I would have had to wake my two kids up.

The hotel was clean and the beds were comfortable. There are a few amenities like a full service restaurant and other stores. The wireless was free and available. There is no pool or hot tub.

Valet parking is available for $7 at this time of the year. Alternatively, you can walk three blocks and park in the Commorant and Ammelia Street area. There is no complimentary breakfast at this location. This hotel has its charm, but avoid the lower floors if you want a decent rest.

Room Tip: Burger King, Subway, Second Slice are all nearby. Shoppers Drug Mart is a a block away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KenKiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Hello, and thank you for your review. First of all, I must apologize that you did not get the restful night you anticipated. Unfortunately one of our challenges as a downtown property can be occasional noise. We do our best to combat this by working in cooperation with local businesses, and maintaining our strict noise policy within the hotel. Our amenities include a business center, free WiFi, a fitness room as well and the Stones Thrown Restaurant on site, we also offer parking for $7 a night which includes a valet service 24 hours a day unlimited as the lot is located off site. I hope you'll choose to stay with us again, so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a superior stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is that it is centrally located. It is close to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, and other places of interest. The staff at the front desk was very good. The lobby is very small, the elevator is very, very small. The room was quite spacious. The view was blocked by a high fence. We had no problems. We were able to walk to various places from here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prabhakar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review. Our helpful staff are always willing to point out the nearby sights, restaurants and attractions. While we do have parking for $7 a night, most guests do choose to walk while downtown, as our location is quite central. While one of our elevators is smaller, we do have a larger one located down the hall which is much more spacious. Thank you again for choosing our property, and hopefully we will see you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Had a corner queen suite on the 5th floor (#522). Room looked recently renovated. Comfy bed and nice kitchenette. Staff were all pleasant. Located 1 Block from Chinatown. Pretty much within walking distance of all the usual tourist attractions in town. They give you bikes to use for a few hours for FREE which is a nice bonus! Make sure to ask for a room on a higher floor, as there is some street noise lower down, even late at night or early in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner queen suit with a kitchenette on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveToTravel1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Desk Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Hello, and thank you for taking a moment to write this kind review. This guest stayed in one of our suites with a full kitchen. These rooms are a great option for anyone looking for a bit more space (they also include a seating area which has a pull out sofa.) Our complimentary bikes are a great way to see the sights of Victoria, we offer them free for guests use with a two hour time limit. We look forward to seeing your on your next trip to Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.7 mi away
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Address: 642 Johnson St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $81 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing