We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Carlton Best Western, Victoria.BC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
“Hotel Carlton Best Western, Victoria.BC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

The hotel is in a prime location downtown Victoria and very easy to reach. Parking through offered valet parking is no problem whatsoever. The accommodation of the rooms are very good and especially very clean. The amenities in the bathroom could be a little bit better. The service is excellent and the hotel employees are very friendly and helpful. Egon Andre, Nanaimo,BC.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Egon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hello Mr. Andre! Thank you very much for your kind review. The location of our hotel is very convenient. Our guests enjoy a short walk to Save On Food arena, many attractions and restaurants in downtown, Victoria. As you mentioned, we do our best to make our valet parking service as easy and efficient as possible. We offer parking at $7 per night during slow season and $12 during busy season. We are updating our suites by replacing the kitchen counter top, cabinet, and bathroom vanity. Our suites are available at additional cost of $20. Hopefully, everything is all ready for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    380
    107
    22
    15
See reviews for
271
362
81
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. It was very well situated. We were able to walk wherever we wanted to go in the town. The hotel was clean, and we had a comfortable room. The reception area was always busy with lots of people checking in. There was no restaurant in the hotel, but we used the restaurant next door which ajoins the hotel for our breakfast and evening refreshment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimandViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello Jim and Viv, and thank you for this kind review. The restaurant located through our lobby is called the Stone's Throw and serves breakfast all day. (A staff favourite are the waffles! They add a crunchy granola on top that is amazing!) Our central location makes it easy to visit any of the great sights, restaurants and attractions downtown Victoria has to offer. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

A hotel is a place to rest at night. Well, they did not take the rest too seriously at this place. The room they had me in on the second floor was a discotheque. It felt like I was standing by the speaker with the base trembling on my feet. I made a visit to the front desk and they said they had a talk with the bar manager downstairs. They offered to move me to a room on the sixth floor, but it was pretty late and I declined as I would have had to wake my two kids up.

The hotel was clean and the beds were comfortable. There are a few amenities like a full service restaurant and other stores. The wireless was free and available. There is no pool or hot tub.

Valet parking is available for $7 at this time of the year. Alternatively, you can walk three blocks and park in the Commorant and Ammelia Street area. There is no complimentary breakfast at this location. This hotel has its charm, but avoid the lower floors if you want a decent rest.

Room Tip: Burger King, Subway, Second Slice are all nearby. Shoppers Drug Mart is a a block away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KenKiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hello, and thank you for your review. First of all, I must apologize that you did not get the restful night you anticipated. Unfortunately one of our challenges as a downtown property can be occasional noise. We do our best to combat this by working in cooperation with local businesses, and maintaining our strict noise policy within the hotel. Our amenities include a business center, free WiFi, a fitness room as well and the Stones Thrown Restaurant on site, we also offer parking for $7 a night which includes a valet service 24 hours a day unlimited as the lot is located off site. I hope you'll choose to stay with us again, so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a superior stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is that it is centrally located. It is close to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, and other places of interest. The staff at the front desk was very good. The lobby is very small, the elevator is very, very small. The room was quite spacious. The view was blocked by a high fence. We had no problems. We were able to walk to various places from here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prabhakar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review. Our helpful staff are always willing to point out the nearby sights, restaurants and attractions. While we do have parking for $7 a night, most guests do choose to walk while downtown, as our location is quite central. While one of our elevators is smaller, we do have a larger one located down the hall which is much more spacious. Thank you again for choosing our property, and hopefully we will see you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue WA
Level Contributor
132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Had a corner queen suite on the 5th floor (#522). Room looked recently renovated. Comfy bed and nice kitchenette. Staff were all pleasant. Located 1 Block from Chinatown. Pretty much within walking distance of all the usual tourist attractions in town. They give you bikes to use for a few hours for FREE which is a nice bonus! Make sure to ask for a room on a higher floor, as there is some street noise lower down, even late at night or early in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner queen suit with a kitchenette on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravel1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Desk Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hello, and thank you for taking a moment to write this kind review. This guest stayed in one of our suites with a full kitchen. These rooms are a great option for anyone looking for a bit more space (they also include a seating area which has a pull out sofa.) Our complimentary bikes are a great way to see the sights of Victoria, we offer them free for guests use with a two hour time limit. We look forward to seeing your on your next trip to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and found the staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located a short walk from the main shopping district and restaurants as well as the boat harbour, museum and a number of other attractions. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious and staff gave recommendations for spots to stop off on our forward journey. We would definitely stay there again

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Julie, thank you very much for your lovely review. As Julie said, we are situated in the heart of downtown, Victoria. Nice and short walk to the Bay centre mall, Inner Harbour, Royal BC Museum, and Victoria's finest restaurants. Our staff are the real ambassadors of the city who know where to go for shopping, eat, and sightseeing. We would love to welcome you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our 19 day fly-drive around BC and Alberta. Good location close to shops, restaurants and harbour area. Reception staff friendly but a bit disorganised; our wake up call ordered for the 2nd morning did not happen and when we commented on this it was just dismissed. Wouldn't mind but we actually double checked the previous night that they had it booked as it was imperative that we caught the ferry at 9am. Apart from that the decor is good, the room was clean and comfortable but not large - difficult to find floor space to open out 2 shell suitcases.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ser45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
I would like to thank ser45 for the review. Our convenient location allows our guests to be able to walk to many attractions and restaurants in Victoria. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with wake-up call. We will try our best to be more efficient and organized. Our housekeeping department makes sure all the rooms are perfectly cleaned. Our suites with two double beds is offered for $20 more than traditional rooms. However, they are equipped with full kitchen, dining table, sitting area, a sofa bed and they are a lot more spacious. We would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
Address: 642 Johnson St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Best Western, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing