We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Classic Best Western”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great location, close to many good bars, restaurants and cafes, and only a 10 minute walk to the Inner Harbour.

Valet parking that was reasonably priced (for BC) Clean good sized room, comfortable communal areas and helpful staff. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stumblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Good evening, and thank you for taking the time to complete this review. As stated we are located directly downtown which means we are just steps away from shops, restaurants and the main attractions. At $7 a night, our parking is very affordable, and many guests choose to leave their vehicles parked for the duration as most everything is walking distance downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    390
    113
    25
    15
See reviews for
288
368
84
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I just spent 4 nights and 5 days in Victoria BC and as always stayed at the Carlton Plaza down town Victoria. My wife and I were celebrating our 29th wedding anniversary and were looking to spend some quality time together, We arrived and were given our key to the room and I have to admit, it was a little small. We went for breakfast,and I decided to sneak out and ask if it was at all possible for a larger room, considering we were spending 4 nights and it was for a special occasion.The gal at the front desk had a look and asked if a Suite was more my liking and of course no additional charge.I was elated to say the least !! as was my wife. The room was very large with a dining room table, full size fridge and stove, all the pots and pans and anything else you may have needed. What a great hotel and the staff treated us like royalty !! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Happy Anniversary again Lyle, and thank you for choosing us on such a special occasion. We do our best to make every stay memorable and the suite mentioned included a full kitchen as well as pull out sofa and seating area. For guests booking a special visit, we have Romance packages available which includes breakfast for 2 people in the morning, champagne and chocolate, dinner for 2 at Il Terrazzo ($75.00 value) and 2 Tickets to the IMAX Theatre (available with 2 night package only). Thank you for this kind review, and we hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in October. This room was large and nicely furnished. Included a large fridge, stove, microwave and all the utensils, if you cared to dine in your room. The fridge had bottled water, a coke and seven-up, and there was a welcome bag of chocolates, probably because of my diamond elite membership.
The front staff was extremely friendly and handled every request efficiently and mannerly.
The location downtown means you can walk to all the shops and restaurants and to the inner harbor in minutes.
There is no parking, but the valet will return your vehicle whenever you need it. We always called from the room and gave them 20 minutes notice and it was there promptly.
There is a restaurant attached to the hotel, but the service is slow and the food just average, but there are many options for dining in the area.
I must give a big compliment to the hotel management because not only was the staff friendly and efficient, but they all seemed happy to work there.
Good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanAndOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you JuanandOnly (great screen name!) for taking the time to review our hotel! The room described was one of our suites, which includes a full kitchen as well as a pull out couch and seating area. The extra room can make all the difference for a larger party travelling, or even a family hoping to make a few meals in. Although most everything is walking distance downtown, it does only take 10-15 minutes to retrieve a car from parking and can of course be pre scheduled for anytime. Our parking is only $7 per night, and we do offer a complimentary valet service for your convenience. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Canada!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were very happy to get such a good rate right in the city. Very clean, great valet service for very reasonable price. the breakfast in the restaurant was good but not free. Nice decor. No problems or complaints to report. Would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I would like to thank that writer of this lovely review. As you mentioned, we offer even more affordable rates as we reach into our slower season and we charge $7 per night for parking that comes with complimentary 24 hour valet service. Our onsite restaurant, Stone's Throw, offers great selections of breakfast, lunch, and dinner. We would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Comfortable, clean, and a very friendly place. Traveling with two little kids, we appreciated the full kitchen in the suite. We were also quite impressed that they allowed us to shower after the marathon, even though we have checked out earlier that day. Will go there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2CanadianMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello, and thank you for joining us at the hotel this past marathon weekend! Our hotel is centrally located which makes it a perfect spot for anyone attending events, conferences and festivals in Victoria. Our helpful friendly staff are always available if you have questions about the city, or if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable. We look forward to seeing you next year at the marathon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel situated in a perfect section of Victoria. Literally within easy walking distance to the waterfront and all the tourist attractions. Not to mention that Starbucks and many restaurants are close by. The staff members are super friendly and helpful. Rooms are perfectly appointed, very clean, very tasteful furniture, and very comfortable bed. Being pet friendly is a huge plus, but at the same time it is a big minus that the hotel management does not allow your furry friend to stay in the room alone, which is VERY inconvenient. Well, you certainly will be paying for quality. This hotel is not cheap by any mean even during low season, and the price is quite a bit more painful during peak seasons. Thank god for the beautiful and tranquil atmosphere of Victoria, which certainly helps to heal the wound inflicted by an outsized hotel bill. Recommendation to the management: Offer free continental breakfast, and that will make the hotel bill easier to swallow!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurboTing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello and Thank you for taking the time to review our property.As stated, our hotel is steps away from shops, restaurants and sightseeing. With our well appointed and comfortable rooms, any traveler can rest between work, play and touring. We do have a selection of rooms which are pet friendly, at ten dollars a night per animal if reserved at the time of booking. For the comfort of other guests, we ask that no pets are left unattended in rooms as they tend to chat with their neighbors when in unfamiliar surroundings! Thank you again for choosing our hotel, and we hope to see you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel was used by the tour company we were travelling with. The hotel was very clean, comfortable with good sized bedrooms that made maximum use of the space. Staff were very friendly and helpful. One word of warning for light sleepers who stay on a Friday and Saturday night, there is a disco close by and the constant base sound disturbed our sleep until 2am. It was not until the next morning that we found ear plugs provided in the bedside cabinet for such circumstances. You have to expect external noise in a downtown area.

Room Tip: Away from the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hello and thank you for your thoughtful review of the Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza. As mentioned, we are a downtown hotel and though some street noise in inevitable we do our best to provide a calm and restful stay for everyone. Our central location makes walking to the near by sights and attractions a breeze. With the downtown location comes a choice of restaurants, bars and shopping just minutes away. Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,425 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Address: 642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Best Western, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing