We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in October. This room was large and nicely furnished. Included a large fridge, stove, microwave and all the utensils, if you cared to dine in your room. The fridge had bottled water, a coke and seven-up, and there was a welcome bag of chocolates, probably because of my diamond elite membership.
The front staff was extremely friendly and handled every request efficiently and mannerly.
The location downtown means you can walk to all the shops and restaurants and to the inner harbor in minutes.
There is no parking, but the valet will return your vehicle whenever you need it. We always called from the room and gave them 20 minutes notice and it was there promptly.
There is a restaurant attached to the hotel, but the service is slow and the food just average, but there are many options for dining in the area.
I must give a big compliment to the hotel management because not only was the staff friendly and efficient, but they all seemed happy to work there.
Good place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuanAndOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you JuanandOnly (great screen name!) for taking the time to review our hotel! The room described was one of our suites, which includes a full kitchen as well as a pull out couch and seating area. The extra room can make all the difference for a larger party travelling, or even a family hoping to make a few meals in. Although most everything is walking distance downtown, it does only take 10-15 minutes to retrieve a car from parking and can of course be pre scheduled for anytime. Our parking is only $7 per night, and we do offer a complimentary valet service for your convenience. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Canada!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

680 - 686 of 1,198 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were very happy to get such a good rate right in the city. Very clean, great valet service for very reasonable price. the breakfast in the restaurant was good but not free. Nice decor. No problems or complaints to report. Would stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

I would like to thank that writer of this lovely review. As you mentioned, we offer even more affordable rates as we reach into our slower season and we charge $7 per night for parking that comes with complimentary 24 hour valet service. Our onsite restaurant, Stone's Throw, offers great selections of breakfast, lunch, and dinner. We would love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Comfortable, clean, and a very friendly place. Traveling with two little kids, we appreciated the full kitchen in the suite. We were also quite impressed that they allowed us to shower after the marathon, even though we have checked out earlier that day. Will go there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2CanadianMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hello, and thank you for joining us at the hotel this past marathon weekend! Our hotel is centrally located which makes it a perfect spot for anyone attending events, conferences and festivals in Victoria. Our helpful friendly staff are always available if you have questions about the city, or if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable. We look forward to seeing you next year at the marathon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel situated in a perfect section of Victoria. Literally within easy walking distance to the waterfront and all the tourist attractions. Not to mention that Starbucks and many restaurants are close by. The staff members are super friendly and helpful. Rooms are perfectly appointed, very clean, very tasteful furniture, and very comfortable bed. Being pet friendly is a huge plus, but at the same time it is a big minus that the hotel management does not allow your furry friend to stay in the room alone, which is VERY inconvenient. Well, you certainly will be paying for quality. This hotel is not cheap by any mean even during low season, and the price is quite a bit more painful during peak seasons. Thank god for the beautiful and tranquil atmosphere of Victoria, which certainly helps to heal the wound inflicted by an outsized hotel bill. Recommendation to the management: Offer free continental breakfast, and that will make the hotel bill easier to swallow!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurboTing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hello and Thank you for taking the time to review our property.As stated, our hotel is steps away from shops, restaurants and sightseeing. With our well appointed and comfortable rooms, any traveler can rest between work, play and touring. We do have a selection of rooms which are pet friendly, at ten dollars a night per animal if reserved at the time of booking. For the comfort of other guests, we ask that no pets are left unattended in rooms as they tend to chat with their neighbors when in unfamiliar surroundings! Thank you again for choosing our hotel, and we hope to see you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel was used by the tour company we were travelling with. The hotel was very clean, comfortable with good sized bedrooms that made maximum use of the space. Staff were very friendly and helpful. One word of warning for light sleepers who stay on a Friday and Saturday night, there is a disco close by and the constant base sound disturbed our sleep until 2am. It was not until the next morning that we found ear plugs provided in the bedside cabinet for such circumstances. You have to expect external noise in a downtown area.

Room Tip: Away from the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Hello and thank you for your thoughtful review of the Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza. As mentioned, we are a downtown hotel and though some street noise in inevitable we do our best to provide a calm and restful stay for everyone. Our central location makes walking to the near by sights and attractions a breeze. With the downtown location comes a choice of restaurants, bars and shopping just minutes away. Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Excellent stay. This was the first time I have stayed in the hotel, but I will certainly not be the last! It is convenient to many venues and amenities ain downtown Victoria. Very short walk to shopping, theatre, and harbour.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Susan, thank you very much for your kind recommendation of our hotel. We are very proud of our perfect location to must-see attractions. Our close proximity allows guests to be able to walk to the Bay centre mall, Inner Harbour, theatre district, and many great restaurants in Victoria. We would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I arrived at the hotel, the staff checked me in and had the valet take my rental to the parking area. I had no problem with the finding my room. The place smelled great or really didn't have a distinctive smell that I would be repealed by. I got to my room and it was clean and made up for me. It was a comfortable stay, I wouldn't mind staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Victoria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Hello Victoria, and thank you for this kind review. As the review states we do have parking available at the hotel and as we are now into our winter season it is only seven dollars per night. Our parking comes with a complimentary valet service which is unlimited and runs 24 hours per day. With our comfortable and well appointed rooms, any guest is sure to have a good nights sleep. Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 46 in Victoria
1,617 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 46 in Victoria
2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Address: 642 Johnson St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Victoria
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#15 Family Hotel in Victoria
#22 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $90 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing