We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)
$204
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$279
$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$441
$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$391
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$235
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Embassy Inn(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$184
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abigail's Hotel(Victoria)
$263
$186
Abigail's Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,218)
Filter reviews
1,218 results
Traveler rating
610
437
125
31
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
610
437
125
31
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkinglondon tubegreat locationvalet servicedowntown victoriajohnson streetwithin walking distancebest westernsfront desk staffcentral locationupgraded to a suiteattached restaurantper daysofa bedfew blockstourist attractionsgovernment street
Filter
Updating list...
707 - 712 of 1,218 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The location was very ideal though the staffing levels could have been higher. Was a very busy Sunday morning and they had 1 person on front desk and 1 in the restaurant, needed at least 2 at each, or assistance from a manager...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Tracie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you Tracie for staying with us and writing us a great review. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We do our best to be attentive and prompt with our service all the time. We will make sure to keep it up. Thank you very much again, Tracie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Needed a room last minute in Victoria BC ( missed my ferry home). Not only were they able to accommodate me, they gave me a AA discount. The room had wi-fi, separate sleeping (2 dbl beds), living, dining & kitchen areas all very nicely furnished. No parking but for a very reasonable $7 they provide valet parking service and bring your car to the front of the hotel at the time you need it the next day. Beautiful room, very reasonably priced!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peejaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you Peejaay for this lovely review. We do offer a discount if guests book a AAA rate with the hotel, please let us know at the time your are making the reservation and don't forget to bring your card with you. Our rooms vary from a traditional queen room, to a one bedroom suite with two queen sized beds, kitchenette and a pull out sofa. We're more than happy to answer any questions you may have while reserving, to get you into the room most suited to your needs. Thank you again for the review, please come back and visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

By avoiding the waterfront, the hotel can charge a reasonable price for rooms. I had a suite with kitchen and living room for less than an ordinary waterfront place. Within a few blocks are dozens of restaurants and great stores. Don't miss Marigold for breakfast and the world-class Green Cuisine vegetarian restaurant just down the street. China Town was close by, and many coffeehouses. The staff here were exceptionally friendly and helpful. At night there are a few street people hanging around on the sidewalks in neighboring blocks, but nothing most cities don't experience. Parking cost $12 a day, with unlimited in-and-out valet service. My wife and I look forward to returnig here soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you Robert, for taking the time to review our property. Our hotel is centrally located with fabulous shopping, restaurants and sights within walking distance of our door. Although we are not a waterfront property, the hotel is only a 5-10 minute stroll down beautiful Government Street to the inner harbour. Into our winter season now, parking is only $7 per night and does come with the unlimited valet service, 24 hours a day. Thanking you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We are on a 3 week road trip vacation from S.Calif. to Vancover and the Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza in Victoria is definitely the best hotel of our trip. They upgraded us to a room that has a kitchen and a living room area. WOW! and the staff is so pleasant & helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you so much for this kind review. Yes, our suites are perfect for anyone looking for a little more space. Typically they are twenty dollars more per night than a standard room. The suite contains a kitchen, pull out sofa sofa and seating area and a larger floor plan. Most guests who bring cars to the hotel choose to park with us at $7 per night, we offer a complimentary valet service with our parking that is 24 hours, and unlimited access. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the start and finish of a biking trip on Vancouver Island. The hotel was clean and nice and the staff was very helpful. We were able to bring our bikes into the lobby and unload them and then the staff took them to the basement to store them safely and returned them to us in the morning when we were ready to load them and ride. The hotel was very convenient to stroll into town for dinner and close to the Johnson Street Bridge to begin our bike trip on the Galloping Goose Trail. Our rooms were large and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofiegsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you Sofie, for taking the time to review our hotel after your stay here. We are very centrally located, perfect for any guests walking to restaurants, sights and attractions downtown. For those guests without their own bikes, we do have four to borrow for our guests for two hours at a time, complimentary. Thank you, and we hope to see you on your next trip to Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews