We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good city hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
192 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good city hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the start and finish of a biking trip on Vancouver Island. The hotel was clean and nice and the staff was very helpful. We were able to bring our bikes into the lobby and unload them and then the staff took them to the basement to store them safely and returned them to us in the morning when we were ready to load them and ride. The hotel was very convenient to stroll into town for dinner and close to the Johnson Street Bridge to begin our bike trip on the Galloping Goose Trail. Our rooms were large and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sofiegsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you Sofie, for taking the time to review our hotel after your stay here. We are very centrally located, perfect for any guests walking to restaurants, sights and attractions downtown. For those guests without their own bikes, we do have four to borrow for our guests for two hours at a time, complimentary. Thank you, and we hope to see you on your next trip to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    375
    105
    22
    15
See reviews for
265
360
79
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delano, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here one night on September 8, 2013 when me, wife, and an adult son visited Victoria for the first time. Picked this hotel in a package deal from Victoria Clipper (catamaran ferry between Seattle, WA and Victoria) that also included The Butchart Gardens. I could have picked another hotel from the list offered by Clipper, but being a BW Rewards member, I chose this hotel. We were given Room 415. It was well appointed, but it smelled vomitus. It was hard to tell where the smell was coming from. Maybe a previous occupant puked in the room. Since we were only staying one night and we came back to our room late after a night out in the city, we did not make a big deal out of it. Of course, I told front desk upon checkout. Also be forewarned - - of all the BW properties we've been to, this is the only one that does not provide complimentary breakfast despite its being a BW Plus

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bowdoin9456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
First of all thank you for bringing this issue to our prompt attention. We do take pride in our clean rooms and housekeeping department here at the hotel. Though our housekeepers are incredibly vigilant, certain issues remain undetected until more time has been spent in the suite. Upon checkout, we were able to notify our housekeepers who were able to rectify the situation. I thank you again for taking the time to write this review, and for letting us know of your issue with the room on checkout. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NIAGARA ON THE LAKE
Level Contributor
215 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel has many fine attributes, but is 'oversold on the internet'. It is not near the harbour, it has terrible views from the rooms and the rooms are small. Also, there is a small fee for parking. Finally, I could not get my Best Western rewards points because I booked through a BW partner. The reason I did this is because by booking direct, the price was almost $30.00 higher.

This is an above average hotel with good service and clean, well appointed rooms in an OK area Management should address the points issue( IE give best price). 2ndly they should improve the web site. (good valet parking, near good shopping).

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room with queen or king bed(s)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TOM V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you Tom, for taking the time to review our property, I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. As a centrally located, downtown hotel, we are only a 10 minute walk from the Inner Harbour, and our views are mainly urban.

When booking online, the room rate seen on the third party site is always a rate also offered by the hotel, in this case as an advance purchase rate. While it is not always the first rate listed on the Best Western website, it is available when you pay 30 days in advance. In this way you can book a room at the same price and also collect your rewards points. We have a variety of room sizes and types, a suite offering a sitting area and kitchenette is typically twenty dollars more per night for families needing more space. I hope that next time you stay in Victoria, you will give us another chance to make your visit a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a good basic hotel right in the center of Victoria, close to quaint shops, and within easy walking distance to many of the downtown sights. We were four adults sharing an upstairs suite, which had a small kitchen and basic cooking facilities. The room was small, but adequate if you do not intend to spend a lot of time in the room. There's no wall dividing the sofabed from the double beds. There was a very low hum from the fridge from time to time during the night, but not enough to keep you from getting a good night's sleep. The upper floors are very quiet. I was able to work on my computer for a couple of hours in the evening without hearing a sound from the hallway. (Internet speed is good too.) Staff were very friendly, pleasant, and helpful. Parking is extra ($12.60 per day). Your vehicle is parked in a nearby garage by the hotel staff.

There is a good Indian restaurant right across the street, and a very nice bakery called Willie's just about a block away. I have been to many Best Westerns around the world and was pleased with this one. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a clean, safe, and reasonably priced place to stay in downtown Victoria.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floors facing the back of the hotel if you need peace and quiet. You can a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atigrevlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWatson27, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review of our hotel.
We are indeed a very centrally located hotel, which many of our guests appreciate. Our close proximity to all of Victoria’s major attractions and activities is very convenient for our guests.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our suites. We offer them to our guests for only $20 more than a traditional room, with a much greater number of amenities – all of our suite rooms are equipped with kitchens and an extra sofa bed. Excellent for groups and families!
Thank you very much for recommending our hotel and we are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay in Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel and it was great! We came in from Seattle on the Clipper and were able to walk from the dock to the hotel, passing through downtown with some great views. The room we had was very spacious and comfortable, and included a safe, refrigerator, and hair dryer. We were a bit worried when our room was right by the elevator, but they actually shut down the main elevator from 11pm - 7am, which was fantastic to reduce any noise! We got a recommendation from a girl at the front desk to try the Irish Times pub and we had one of the best burgers we've ever eaten. The hotel was within walking distance to everything we wanted to do, which was great as we didn't have a car. We walked up to Craigdarroch Castle, though I'm not sure I would do it again as it ended up seeming much farther than the 1.2 mile distance. But we were able to get a cab back downtown so it worked out well. If you're looking for a comfortable hotel in a central location for a good price, this is the place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaels017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWatson27, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
I would like to thank Michaels for staying with us and writting this review. As the writer mentioned we are just 10 minutes walk away from Clipper terminal. Our traditional rooms are equipped with a flat screen television, air conditioner, safe, refrigerator, iron, coffee machine, and hair dryer. We have two elevators at the hotel, and to reduce noise we close the elevator that shares a wall with other rooms at 11pm and do not re-open it until 7am.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
576 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for seven nights during our recent trip to Victoria. We really enjoyed the hotel and during the trip I was continually reminded that we had made the perfect choice in Victoria. The location is wonderful, located downtown and close enough to walk to almost everything. Walking around Victoria was one of our favorite activities as the city is very walkable with most activities in the same general location. The waterfront is several blocks away and walking to the Parliament Building, BC Museum, etc. was fairly easy. The hotel is also near some very good restaurants, including restaurants right across the street. We were constantly amazed at the variety and amount of restaurants in Victoria, there is literally something for everyone's taste and budget. In addition, there is a great deal of stores for shopping in the vicinity. We did drive our car and kept it with the hotel during our stay. When we needed our car, we notified the front desk and they immediately went and retrieved it from an off site location. We usually had our car within 10 minutes or less, so no problem having our vehicle handy for our out of town excursions. The staff at this hotel were always welcoming, friendly and helpful, answering questions and sharing tips for dining, attractions, etc. Our room, although not large, was adequate for our stay and quite pleasant. We found the bedding to be a little heavy for the time of year, but the sheets, covers were fresh and new as well as the towels. The room was always quiet, we rarely heard noise from anyone. I appreciated that the hotel has four bikes that can be used. On two different days, I used a bike for a few hours and really enjoyed riding around the city as well as on the Galloping Goose/Lochside biking trails which are accessible from the hotel. The hotel has a laundry for guests which my husband appreciated and soap was provided. I noted that there is an exercise/fitness room in the hotel but did not use the room. Victoria is now one of my top favorite cities to visit and staying at this hotel made our stay even more enjoyable. I highly recommend a stay here. You will enjoy the location, property, rooms, staff and ambience of the hotel. An excellent choice!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSWMom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWatson27, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed review. We are happy that you were satisfied with amenities that our hotel offered. Our on-site laundry facility is open 24 hours for your convenience. Both washer and dryer take $1 each and we provide complimentary detergent. We offer complimentary two hour bike rental services for our guests to be able to explore the city. Being just a few blocks away from Galloping Goose Trail and Beacon Hill Park, makes a bike ride an easy, fun excursion.

At the hotel we have a variety of room types, our traditional rooms are not large, but our studio suites offer 450 square feet of enjoyment. They are equipped with a full kitchen, and sitting area. These rooms, if available, are only priced $20 higher than our traditional rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South west England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Only stopped for one night but we were impressed. Room was spacious nice and clean, staff were polite friendly and helpful in recommending places to eat. Well placed to get around Victoria. Would use again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWatson27, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you Newinn for staying with us. We are pleased that our staff was able to make your stay memorable. We are very proud of our housekeeping staff, who take pride in making sure each room is professionally cleaned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
Address: 642 Johnson St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing