We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hotel with amazing staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Duncan, Canada
1 review
“Quality Hotel with amazing staff!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have stayed here twice already this year due to medical appointments in Victoria. The young lady at the front desk remembered us the second time and went out of her way to assist us. This personal touch combined with great location, excellent rooms and cleanliness made it a good experience both times.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revnorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan J, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay, it is always nice to hear when a guest returns to our hotel. Our housekeeping staff work very hard to maintain a very high standard of cleanliness here at the Best Western Carlton Plaza and our front desk staff take pleasure in helping our guests enjoy their time in Victoria by providing any assistance needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    390
    113
    25
    15
See reviews for
288
368
84
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Central location with very courteous service from front office staff made our stay one of the best in town. Room was quiet and bed comfortable. We couldn't have asked for more at the reasonable rate. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wumac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan J, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you to the author of this excellent review. All our staff here at the best western carlton plaza pride themselves on the level of service we provide our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Perfect price and location for a night downtown. It's so easy to walk to the shops, attractions and nightlife which when combined with the reasonable price makes this hotel great for a night out and more cost effective than a taxi each way from home.

Room Tip: Try a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan J, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you, Denise, for the lovely comments about your stay with us. As mentioned we are very centrally located in downtown Victoria, a nice leisurely walk from our front doors will bring you to everything our beautiful city has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
180 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I've only stayed once at a Best Western - here. A family trip to Victoria for the weekend was not disappointing. We didn't stay at the hotel during the day at all - we left for the whole day to go sightseeing. The sleeping and beds were comfortable!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HONdominik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemainus, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I enjoy staying at the Carlton Plaza hotel because it is so centrally located. The service is good and reception home like. With the addition of a great eatery The Stone's Throw it makes for a complete package. The staff are ever ready to give a helping hand and the rates are reasonable. The beds are comfy and the rooms are large with lots of room to stretch out. Check it out the next time you are in Victoria.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front gives a good view. Back rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan J, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you to the author of this wonderful review. We are located right in the heart of downtown Victoria, just a few minutes walk to all the major attractions Victoria has to offer. We have the excellent Stone’s Throw Restaurant located in our lobby that even provided room service. We look to forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Short two night stay, very comfortable room and very responsive front desk staff. Right downtown and very handy to shopping and restaurants. Very good rate; did not try restaurant, but looked reasonably priced and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outswimming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I loved staying at the Carlton Plaza Hotel. It was nothing like what I expected. I travel for business and I frequent Best Western for the rewards program and the quality of their properties, but this hotel was right downtown Victoria and the quality was much better than expected. It has the feel of a very upscale hotel at a very resonable price. They had valet parking, great views of the city from my 6th floor room and key card security on the elevators. I travel often for business and I will patronize the Carlton Plaza everytime I stay in Victoria.

Room Tip: I prefer staying on the top floor, and this hotel has tremendous views of the city. If available, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan J, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you Michael: for this wonderful review of your stay. As a Best Western property we try not to just meet the expectations our guests have come to know associated with the brand but exceed these expectations wherever possible. Our staff is very knowledgeable about where to eat and what to do in Victoria and love every opportunity to share this knowledge with our guests. Our top floors do offer a unique view of our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,425 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Address: 642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Best Western, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing