We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome room and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our room was beautiful with a kitchen and living room in it. The staff were very nice and efficent. The valet parking was something I had never experienced before and thoroughly enjoyed it. We will definately stay at the Carlton Plaza Hotel next time we are in Victoria.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,127)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

Room was clean but small. Location central and staff helpful. It is right on the main street so a lot of noise. The rooms are bare basic , nothing fancy. It is ok for a short visit but maybe not if you are planning on enjoying some time in the hotel! Vale parking is great and cheaper than parking yourself!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank iamsupermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip with a colleague because it was one of the few hotels in Victoria that could provide us with two beds in one room that didn't cost over $200. The hotel staff were very friendly and the location was great. I also appreciated the strict no noise after 10pm rule and the free wifi.

The rooms, however, are in a serious need of an upgrade. Or at least mine was. The beds were very hard and the decor seemed dirty - not because it was dirty but just because it was old. Our room way tiny and the beds seemed crammed in. The air conditioning unit looked very old and stuck out into the room pretty far. The bathroom was tiny and the shampoo / conditioner dispenser was yellowing with age.

Maybe I've gotten higher standards through my travels over the last year but this hotel really did not meet them. My colleague agreed that this was not what she expected from a best western brand hotel.

If you plan to not spend much time in your hotel room and just want some where cheap in the heart of downtown, this place is it. If you plan to stay a few days or work from your hotel room like I did, there are better and more comfortable places.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royce P, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you Natalie for your review. We are sorry the room did not meet your standards. Our hotel does offer a variety of room types, with different sizes, from suites to standard rooms. We are always happy to try and upgrade a guest if possible; our staff always wants to make sure a guest has a pleasurable stay, whether it’s for business or pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was great, the desk staff were helpful and gave us good service. The hotel is close to everything in Victoria including China Town just down the road. The rooms were large and we thought the value great for the price which was very reasonable.

Room Tip: Our room was clean and on the 4th floor with a view out to the street
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrangipanniBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royce P, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are glad you found the location convenient and the staff helpful. We pride ourselves on providing great customer service in the heart of downtown at a reasonable price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is very nice, not the one right near the entry point of the ferry but in town.
The staff were very helpful right from the beginning. Evan was helpful when booking the
room, I can't remember the front desk staff by name but everyone of them were helpful, providing information and suggestions to all our questions. I really appreciated their help. The hotel is right in the middle of town, everything within walking distance.

Our room was upgraded to a suite, so we had plenty of room, full kitchen, etc. Bed was comfortable. There was a water main break during the check out period but the staff came to our aid and helped us around the digging.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royce P, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for your review. I’m glad to hear you found the staff accommodating and helpful. All of us are more than happy to give directions, advice, and tips on attractions, restaurants, and city information. Victoria has a lot to offer, and we like to make sure each guest gets the most out of their stay in Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel is an amazing place to stay while you're in Victoria. Very close to numerous attractions and restaurants. The item which stood out the most during the stay was the incredible customer service provided. The front desk staff treated me like I was friend whom they had known for years rather than just a customer coming in to stay for the evening. Every process involved was quick and accurate, including check in, valet and check out. This Best Western is the hotel you should choose to stay while you're in Victoria due to the value, the proximity and the quality of service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I was thinking I've submitted my review but just missed this . I have no problem staying here except they gave us handicapped room. This is okay but we did not request for one. We had requested 2 beds since we were four in the room. It was hard for us with a raised commode to use . They should have told us in the first place. Anyway, we stayed only for one night. Hotel's location was just a walking distance to attraction places. Front desk clerk were nice and friendly. Car was only valet and helpful. Everyone made you feel comfortable. Breakfast should be free with the price we paid . Anyway, we will be back and try to stay for a few days to see more places.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royce P, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear your room was a little inconvenient for you. Some of our rooms are handicap accessible, which means they have more space. Unfortunately, this was not convenient for you. Our front desk, however, is always more than happy to try and resolve any issue you may have with the room to make your stay is as pleasurable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,098 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.7 mi away
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
0.6 mi away
Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Address: 642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $79 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing