We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and excellent service”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel appears to be recently renovated, or at least it seemed that way. Rooms and common areas were spotless and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. My room did not face the street and was very quiet. I also checked out the French restaurant adjacent to the hotel lobby and the food was quite good with decent portions. There are many great restaurants and shops immediately beside the hotel, and the harbour is only a short walk away. The express bus to the airport is only 1/2 a block away, so you can pay $2.50 to take the bus to/from the airport (or $21 for a shuttle, or $60 for a cab).

I was staying four days in Victoria for a training camp with my bicycle racing team, and the staff were very helpful with storing my bike in a secure area - even providing me a garden hose to wash it off after a day of riding in the rain!

I am a Starwood Preferred Guest Platinum member as part of my work travel, and this hotel outperformed many of the so-called "4 star" hotels I've stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobLoblawCgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWatson27, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
I would like to first thank the writer for posting this wonderful review of our hotel.

We are always happy to do everything in our power to make our guests feel comfortable during their stay. In this case it was assisting with rinsing off a bicycle.

We are also proud to be bicycle friendly. Whether you bring your own bike to the city, and need help with storage, or if you need to borrow a bike, we are here to help. We lone bicycles to guests, free of charge, 365 days a year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    390
    113
    25
    15
See reviews for
288
368
84
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I found the complimentary Valet parking to be a wonderful value and added benefit. I don't think I have ever stayed in a Downtown urban setting that offers this amenity.

The staff were wonderful, the service was excellent, and most important the room was comfortable and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandGuy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWatson27, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you very much for the wonderful comments about our staff. We are all proud of the wonderful customer care our guest service agents strive to provide on a daily basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed here this past weekend and were really impressed! We stayed in a suite wich had 2 queens and a pull out bed which was great for our family of 4. The kitchenette was perfect and although you are staying right downtown, it's very quiet in the room. The free valet parking was defiantly a bonus! The only downfall of the trip was the elevator...... Only holds 5 and you have to wait a loooong time for it. You have the option of stairs but then you have to bug the check in desk to open the stairwell door for you which is only accessible outside. I would defiantly stay here again!! Great place!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firefighterdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWatson27, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you very much to writer for the nice comments about our property. I completely understand the frustration the elevator caused this past weekend. Being here all weekend, I was frustrated myself. I am very sorry about the long wait times.

Here at the Carlton Plaza Hotel we are always working hard to improve the hotel. One of our big projects this off season has been to replace our large elevator’s motor. Our new elevator should be up and running in a couple of weeks. We are all very excited.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Ronge, SK.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We had an enjoyable two weeks stay. The location was excellent, close to several scenic walks, museums and the downtown area including China Town. The staff, from front desk to housekeeping were helpful and welcoming. We enjoyed the attached restaurant that offered tasty, affordable meals. Our room was large and well equipped. For a long stay, it was handy to have a kitchenette in our room. We appreciated the laundry facilities that were available for guest use. We look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWatson27, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Thank you very much to the writer for the lovely comments about their stay. We are all very happy you enjoyed your time in Victoria. Our front desk and housekeeping staff always enjoy accommodating our many long stay guests in Victoria’s “off season”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I've stayed here twice now on visits to Victoria, and both times I've remembered why I fell in love with this city 28 years ago. The Carlton Plaza is a wonderful hotel of vintage quality: it used to be the Olympic Hotel back in my university years. Now under the Best Western banner, it offers a clean, affordable, and friendly place to stay in the downtown core.

During my first visit in November 2010, I was given a top-floor corner suite with an L-shaped balcony, overlooking the intersection of Douglas and Johnson Streets. The suite was huge and well-furnished, and I couldn't believe how little I paid for it!

I was so impressed that I brought my wife with me on my latest trip, in November 2011. This time, we were given a smaller suite on a different corner, overlooking Johnson Street and Broad Street. Outside, the nightclub scene was bustling, but it added to the "city" ambience. Besides, the Best Western staff had supplied ear plugs, just in case it became too noisy! In the morning, I woke up to a view of lower Johnson Street cloaked in fog, with the bridge silhouetted in the distance. Truly a beautiful sight, and all visible from my corner window!

The staff are fantastic: Chris the manager is eager to please, and he appreciates returning customers. The desk clerks were friendly and helpful, and they offered to let me store my baggage at the hotel, even after I'd checked out (just so I could enjoy some sightseeing around the city)!

I look forward to returning to the Best Western Carlton Plaza again, and I join others on Trip Advisor in heartily recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Top rooms give the best view! Be prepared to put up with the sounds of night life, especially on we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hemingway_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWatson27, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Thank you very much to the writer for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We always appreciate our repeat customers, and hope you will book with us again in the future.

I would also like to thank this writer for making sure all former and current residence of Victoria are well aware that our standards are much greater than those of the old Olympic Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Stayed from Sunday, February 5th to Wednesday, 8th, in a room overlooking Johnson Street on the 6th floor with a King-size bed.
Found the room to be comfortably sized and with plenty of windows to let in natural light. Some of these windows did partially open, but my husband & I used the built-in fan/air conditioner when necessary instead. The built-in unit seemed to work better (more quietly, more efficiently) than those of other hotels, whether "Best Western" or not. The curtain length above the unit ended just above the unit and, unlike in other hotels, did not block the flow of air from the unit.
We walked to all attractions, restaurants, and shops that we visited while staying at the hotel, including a half hour (one-way) walk to Craigdarroch Castle, the furthest we walked to any of the destinations we visited. Hotel staff were pleasant and accomodating.
We would have preferred a firmer mattress, but covers and pillows were nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank from1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWatson27, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
First of all, I would like to thank the writer for this very friendly review.
As the writer has mentioned, our maintenance staff is always working hard to ensure everything in the room is working well. After staying in a couple of rooms myself, I have also noticed that our heat/AC units work well. The units are cleaned regularly, and will change the temperature of the room quite quickly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Enjoyed staying in this property. Excellent service. Rooms were nice and well appointed. Hotel has a "no noise' policy and they enforce it. Centrally located, walking distance everything; didn't need a rental car. The only disadvantage is that Johnson Street can get noisy at night. The hotel is aware of that, so they provide you with free earplugs.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiana0564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWatson27, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Thank you very much to the writer for the review of your stay at the Carlton Plaza. The writer has mentioned we are a downtown, very centrally located hotel. As you can imagine this gives us numerous great advantages, and a few disadvantages. To combat one of these disadvantages we have a “zero tolerance” noise policy after 10pm. If any guests are having difficulties with noisy neighbours, the problem will be taken very seriously, and dealt with appropriately by our end staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,423 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Address: 642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Best Western, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing