We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only place I would stay in Victoria!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2011

I travel for business on a regular business. This place has always provided excellent customer service and warm smiles. The rooms are comfortable and clean. You can't go wrong staying here:)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltime151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,127)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

890 - 896 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2011

Thank you to the staff at this hotel for making our stay great! Our room was extrordinary, extremely clean and the staff were professional and helpful. We have stayed here before and will stay here again in a heartbeat and will recommend to our friends and family!

Thanks Best Western Plus - Carlton Plaza Hotel for another wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swilly74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

We stayed here a couple of years ago, liked it, and chose it again for a 5-night trip to Victoria. We were satisfied with our decision. No it isn't on the waterfront but it has a good location a bit uptown. A couple of blocks from the heart of Chinatown, 3 blocks from the Via Rail station if you want to take a day trip up the Island, dozens of restaurants within a short walk and an easy stroll down to the harbour. Maybe dollar for dollar the best hotel stay to be had in the city. Although it is in the midst of the city we had sound sleeps with no traffic noises or sounds from other rooms (it seems well built that way). Maybe the biggest down side is the absence of any restaurant at all on the property at this time. We chose to have our own breakfast in the room and sample different Victoria restaurants for the rest of our meals.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWatson27, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2011

I would like to start by thanking the writer for their review of our hotel. As the write mentioned we are not situated in the inner harbour, however the hotel is just a short 5 to 10 minute walk from the inner harbour and all other downtown amenities. Our guests are able to enjoy a more downtown feel close to fantastic restaurants. I am sorry about the in house restaurant situation at the hotel, but am happy to report that a new restaurant will be opening in mid May.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

my husband and I have 8 grandchildren in Vicoria along with their parents, so when it is time for a visit such as this last time for a B-day, there is not much room available in their home. We both love downtown Victoria and the waterfront, and Chinatown, so the Carlton plaza is a perfect fit for us. The rooms are spotless and spacious, love the valet parking and the front desk is always friendly, helpful and accomodating. We would not think of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angiejamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

I originally reviewed this hotel immediately upon my return home back in October, 2010. I posted that I ran the 2010 Victoria Marathon and this hotel was on the race's list of recommended hotels. If we'd have been placed on the opposite side of the building, all might have been well. Sadly, there's a nightclub on the ground floor of the western side of the building and our room (322), like all others on that side, was directly above the entrance. The street noise from 11 pm - 3 am kept me wide awake, as did bumping into my husband in a bed that felt smaller than a queen. (The manager insisted it was a queen bed.) BIG problem when running 26.2 miles/42.2 k the following day. This was unacceptable, especially since the hotel "welcomed" runners.

That said, there are positives: the rate was pretty good. The location is excellent - 10-minute walk to the ferries, walking distance to some great pubs/restaurants (Swans, Il Terrazzo, Café Brio). The staff was very nice. I love having a mini 'fridge in-room for beverages/leftovers (that's not stocked with overpriced snacks). WiFi was painfully slow at times, but free, which is excellent.

Manager John Clisby contacted me as a result of that review and gave us a generous (and unsolicited) compensation, which was greatly appreciated. It won't lessen the nightclub noise for future travelers, but we were pleasantly surprised by the gesture.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martrese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We wanted to stay in a hotel that gave us the convenience of parking our car and walking to and from the venue and also wanted a kitchen. There were few hotels in Victoria that fit this description. This hotel did this very well. Now that I know the intense schedule to attend and enjoy such an event as this, it was essential to have a kitchen. We did not have the time between events to go to a restaurant, order and eat so we could walk back to the hotel and have a quick eat there. The room was very nicely laid out, the beds very comforable. The staff was very helpful, friendly and went out of their way to assist us in any way. It is in an area of Victoria where there are nice restaurants, bistros etc. very close by. The hotel restaurant has closed but the other options were excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandit10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWatson27, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2011

Thank you to the writer for the very pleasant comments. I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel’s proximity to the “Save On Foods Memorial Centre”, and to the many fantastic restaurants in the area. It is also nice to hear that your room with a full kitchen allowed for a good combination of at home cooking and restaurant dinning. I am sorry about our restaurant being close, however am excited to report a new restaurant will be opening in mid May. Thank you again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

As a business traveller, I stay in hotels and motels all over the country and parts of the US. From years of experience I now choose Best Western when ever possible. Recently I stayed in Victoria, BC at the Carlton Plaza. Dollar for dollar the Carlton Plaza is money very welll spent. Our experience from arrival, where we were greeted by professional yet friendly people, to the fast and courteous valet parking attendants, we were treated royally. The room was meticulously clean and had all the amenities required, right down to lending us umbrellas when we walked to a nearby restaurant for dinner. (I keep threatening to 'borrow' a few of their pillows.) For excellent value, top notch service, comfort and quality, do yourself a favour and stay at the Carlton. You will not regret it. Thanks Best Western and a special thanks to all the good people at the Carlton. I hope to see you again soon.

Larry Grant - Edmonton

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryG135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWatson27, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2011

On behalf of the whole team at the Best Western PLUS Carlton Plaza, I would like to thank you very much for these wonderful comments. We strive for excellent customer service, clean rooms, and a relaxed atmosphere. It sounds as though we accomplished our goals during your stay. We have always felt the importance of providing all the necessary amenities to make your stay as enjoyable as possible at no additional fee. Thank you again for the very pleasant comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,098 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.7 mi away
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
0.6 mi away
Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Address: 642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $79 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing