We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had booked a king size room with a city view and when we arrived we were placed in a small room on the ground floor overlooking some bushes. Technically this is what we booked but not in the spirit of what we were lead to believe. I asked reception if the could find a better room but all the had was one of the penthouses which they offered to us for an extra $80 per night. We accepted and whilst the penthouse was reasonable and spacious, it was all a bit 1980s and in need of a makeover. Main problem is that the bedroom is near the lift shaft and when the lifts are operating, it is impossible to sleep because of noise. This is what has impacted the rating given the key in any hotel is a good nights sleep. Notwithstanding the above, reception staff were great as was the guy that serviced the free breakfast room, which was a reasonable spread.

Overall you will need to be careful what room you book, certainly don't ever consider the so called penthouse.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WombatTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWIH_Manager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Inner Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate your comments as they do help us to improve our experience for others.

I apologize that the initial room you had booked did not meet your expectations. We have made every effort to be as clear as possible in our written room descriptions, as it is important to us that our guests choose to book the room that will work best for them.

Our hotel offers a variety of Studio rooms and Suites with different rate options, which range from a location on the ground floor with a city view to our top floor Penthouse Suites.

Thank you again for sharing your review.

Sincerely,

Rachel Dickinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,256 - 1,262 of 1,909 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is fantastic. The price is practically unbeatable for the location, and we had a lovely view of the inner harbor from our room. It comes with a good continental breakfast, and the facilities include a fitness center. The outdoor pool was not filled when we were there-so be aware if you are not coming during the summer). We had friends staying at the nearby Grand Pacific-our room was larger than their room and just as nice (if not better because we had a full kitchen (complete with oven, stove, microwave, fridge, and seating area). The balcony was nice for letting fresh air in, and I appreciated that the curtains kept the room reasonably dark. Everything (including a local grocery store) was within a comfortable walking distance.

Only downside is that the elevators are bit bumpy-it seemed to scare some guests.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra cost to have a room facing the harbor in our opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Williwillinui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWIH_Manager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Inner Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

WOW! Thank you for the glowing review and for sharing with us how pleased you were with our Inner Harbour location, service of our team, amenities like the free full breakfast and of course the harbour view studio you stayed in.

To clarify, our outdoor heated pool is seasonal, and typically open from mid-May to mid-October. We are in the finishing stages of preparation for the summer season and I am excited to report that we will begin filling the pool today to have it open this upcoming Victoria Day holiday weekend. Our indoor whirlpool, sauna and steam room are available year-round.

Thank you again for staying with us and we appreciate you recommending our hotel to others.

Sincerely,

Rachel Dickinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had a corner room on the 4th floor which was very well laid out with an excellent comfy bed.
The hotel overall was clean and well kept. The breakfast was included and was adequate, you could take the breakfast back to your room if you wanted.
The location is very Good for exploring Victoria, right by the inner harbour but in a quiet location.
Victoria is well worth a visit but you can do it all in a couple of days.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWIH_Manager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Inner Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Ian R.,

Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel following your visit with us in April. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were impressed with the comfortable bed, complimentary breakfast buffet, and our excellent quiet Inner Harbour location.

We hope to have the opportunity to be of service to you on your next trip across "the pond."

Sincerely,

Rachel Dickinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My daughter and I took a ten day trip to BC, staying six of those days in Victoria. After a very friendly and helpful phone discussion with a receptionist, we decided to extend our stay, and opt out of car rental (as we are walkers and on a limited budget). Incredibly good advice. This Best Western is located just a few minutes walk from the inner harbour. In April there are no crowds, the cherry trees are blossoming and we easily walked to everything. When our legs tired we could take a harbour ferry (looks like a wind-up bath toy) from place to place. Or a "rickshaw" tour behind a bike, or a horse and carriage ride. So many options. So many great restaurants. Wonderful city, and great hotel at the right price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWIH_Manager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Inner Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Wow! What a wonderful review of our hotel and advertisement for Victoria!

I am so pleased to hear that you and your mother so thoroughly enjoyed your visit to our hotel and your time in our beautiful city. April in Victoria - with all the tulips, daffodils and cherry blossoms - is one of my favourite times of the year and I am glad that you were both able to experience such beauty.

"Best...Vacation...EVER" - I am so genuinely pleased that we played a part in that experience and sincerely hope that we have an opportunity to be of service to you and your mother again.

Sincerely,

Rachel Dickinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Excellent location and staff. The staff was very helpful and had a great sense of humor! Though the hot tub and sauna were under construction/ upgrades, they made arrangements with another hotel next door for guests to use their facilities. They offer a great list of complimentary DVD's and a DVD player in every room. We already had a very nice room, though after we had 'technical difficulties' with our door lock, they moved us to an even nicer room! We stayed for six days, and would definitely stay there again! After seeing the other Best Western locations around the city, it was unanimous that we had, by far, the best location and best rooms! A vies of the Olympic mountains off our 7th floor deck was priceless!

Room Tip: Be sure to specify if you want harbor view or mountain view..... I think mountain view is MUCH bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariposa03_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWIH_Manager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Inner Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your lovely compliments on your recent stay with us!

I am so pleased that you found the rooms to be comfortable and well-appointed, and as well that you enjoyed the view of the Olympic Mountains from your guest room. I am sorry that there were technical difficulties with your door lock but I am happy to hear that the staff acted quickly to ensure that this did not detract from your experience with us. Your kind words on the high quality of service and good humour that you received from all the staff is very much appreciated and have been shared with our entire team.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and I sincerely hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back to Victoria again soon!

Rachel Dickinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I recently stayed a week at the Best Western Inner Harbour in Victoria. Best Western is a hop, skip and a jump from the parliament buildings. The hotel is older, therefore the rooms are very spacious, they have a microwave available in the room which is very helpful. It was lovely and quiet even though there was some construction going on outside. Every room has a balcony with a table and two chairs, perfect for sitting out and having coffee or reading a book. They do have a complimentary breakfast, which has a lot to choose from, but tasted a bit bland to me. The staff was not that forthcoming but efficent. Complimentary parking is available underground, but with the construction a little bit difficult to get around. The king size bed was very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel on your next visit to Victoria.

Room Tip: You have to ask if you want a room on the front facing the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyChrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWIH_Manager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Inner Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your lovely compliments detailing your recent visit with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our Inner Harbour location to be superb, and all that it is we offer to be of great value. I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced as a result of the work taking place outside the hotel. The City of Victoria was making repairs to a water main and unfortunately this was directly in front of our building and adjacent to our parkade entrance. That work is now complete and this should not be an issue for you or any other guests choosing to stay with us in the future.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your review and we look forward to seeing you when you are next in Victoria.

Sincerely,

Rachel Dickinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very satisfactory in all respects. Excellent location for walking round the harbor, to downtown and the museum.

Helpful staff, comfortable room, very good breakfast.

This was our second stay and we'll go there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWIH_Manager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Inner Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us again - we truly appreciate the continued opportunity to be of service.

It pleases me to hear that you are impressed with our central Inner Harbour location, courteous & helpful staff, and all around excellent value.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Rachel Dickinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 47 in Victoria
2,138 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 47 in Victoria
3,893 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 47 in Victoria
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Inner Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Inner Harbour

Address: 412 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#5 Family Hotel in Victoria
#6 Business Hotel in Victoria
#6 Green Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $115 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Inner Harbour 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great hotel located at Victoria's famous scenic Inner Harbour, just steps to attractions, shops and restaurants. Simply park your car and walk to all Victoria's sights. We offer a complimentary full breakfast buffet. Underground parking (max 6'6") is available for a daily charge. Well-appointed guest studios and one-bedroom suites include a private balcony, fridge, microwave, free wifi & DVD player. Ask about kitchen studios for extended stays. Luxurious penthouses offer stunning harbour views. Relax & unwind in the outdoor seasonal pool, indoor whirlpool, sauna, steam room and fitness studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Inner Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour Hotel Victoria
Best Western Hotel Victoria
Best Western Victoria
Best Western Inner Harbour
Victoria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing