We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed April 30, 2008

We spent 3 nights at this hotel and found the staff extremely friendly, helpful and pleasant. The hotel is very close to the waterfront and in a convenient position for those arriving by ferry and for accessing the town.
Unfortunately our room did not overlook the harbour but it was large with a small kitchen. There was a charge if full use of the facilties was required. Our room was clean but the decor was quite dark and seemed old and tired. However the bed and pillows were very comfortable.
A buffet breakfast was included and was served in a very small room by an amazingly efficient lady. We were told that this room is to be enlarged, as the hotel realises that it is not big enough for current use.

  • Liked — Its location
  • Disliked — Tired decor
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Aged_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,197
    456
    78
    28
    10
See reviews for
522
758
98
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver,BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2008

The Best Western Inner Harbour is below my expectations, given it's location and the positive reviews on TA. I realize that to families and sightseers, my main complaint is probably not a big deal, but as I write this I am using the Days Inn (next doors) internet connection. Why you ask? Because the Best Western internet is just NOT acceptable, in fact, it doesn't work. I could spend hours on with tech support (I myself am tech savvy), but it's so much easier to click on to the neighbouring hotel's free WIRELESS internet. The modem in my room must be hardwired - which limits my mobility.

There aren't enough plugs in the room so everything is connected to an extension cord - and there are no free slots - so I've had to do some handy work to charge my laptop and other required materials.

Aside from technical issues, I am dissappointed in the fact that you have to pay to use any of the kitchen utensils at 15 dollars per night (the Residence Inn by Marriott provides all for you) and although I could get a corkscrew to use from the front desk, that, like getting the wire for the internet, was a step required by me that shouldn't have been required to begin with.

The room is dated, but appears to be clean. They are apparently doing renovations right now - which is good because it could use an update.

On the postiive? The front desk was very nice, and the underground parking is nice and secure. Also, the bathroom is a nice size and provides me with (almost) everything I need. Stil, next time I'm in Victoria, I'll be looking for more of a Residence Inn...

  • Liked — central location, vic's restaurant down the street was great!
  • Disliked — internet access, kitchen limitations
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CDNcasualtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWIH_Manager, Manager at Best Western Plus Inner Harbour, responded to this review, February 11, 2008
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We certainly value such comments, as this lets us know where we have room to improve. We recently embarked on an upgrade to our complimentary hard-wired high speed system to improve the service and are still completing this change over. We do offer complimentary wireless service in our lobby, and the security the in-room hard-wired service offers has been appreciated by many of our business travellers. Having said that, we would like the opportunity to discuss your experience further in person so we may have a chance to accommodate your next stay to victoria. Please call the hotel directly at 1-888-383-2378 and ask for any manager. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny/nj
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2007

Located just 1.5 blocks from the center of Victoria, including Parliament, Empress Hotel, and the terrific Royal BC Museum. This was a very good and well-priced hotel, very clean with a large room and large bathroom. There was also a kitchenette which I was not expecting! The only drawback is that there is no air conditioning in the room. We were told to just open the door of our balcony to get our room to cool off. At least there was a fan in the room. I would probably not stay there again, but only because of this air conditioning problem.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank nycjenn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2007

Enjoyed my stay here. Attractive rooms, good facilities. Pleasant views but don't be fooled by publicity pictures - only some of the rooms have harbour views.
Good little kitchen area arranged off to the corner of the room with a table & 2 chairs.
Exercise room an absolute disaster! Three machines squeezed into a tiny space, 2 broken and only the treadmill working.
Good breakfast room arrangement, with toast juice eggs etc., supplied to your order.
Nice location, nice town.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayjayLudlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

Wonderful place to stay. Our room overlooked the harbor and even had a little kitchen in it. We opened the ktitchen window for the night (no AC - don't need it there), closed the balcony doors, turned on the fan and slept well. They even had recycling bucket in the bathroom!! Why can't the States do that?!!

The breakfast was delightful with little scones, nice selection of teas, juices and a nice young man who was eager to please, waiting on the tables. Parking was free and access easy. We walked to Chinatown for dinner with our friends from Victoria. It was a beautiful walk there along the harbor and nice walk back down Government (I think that was the street name) where all the shopping is.

We loved Canada! We'll definitely return again soon!

  • Liked — Everything.
  • Disliked — A bit of trouble picking up the wireless internet in certain areas of the room.
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank TraverserTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,996 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,636 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Inner Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Inner Harbour

Property: Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
Address: 412 Quebec Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#5 Family Hotel in Victoria
#6 Green Hotel in Victoria
#6 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Inner Harbour 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great hotel located at Victoria's famous scenic Inner Harbour, just steps to attractions, shops and restaurants. Simply park your car and walk to all Victoria's sights. We offer a complimentary full breakfast buffet. Underground parking (max 6'6") is available for a daily charge. Well-appointed guest studios and one-bedroom suites include a private balcony, fridge, microwave, free wifi & DVD player. Ask about kitchen studios for extended stays. Luxurious penthouses offer stunning harbour views. Relax & unwind in the outdoor seasonal pool, indoor whirlpool, sauna, steam room and fitness studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Best Western, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Inner Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour Hotel Victoria
Best Western Hotel Victoria
Best Western Victoria
Best Western Inner Harbour
Victoria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing