We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Becky and Bob--great experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
John Lewis House B&B
Ranked #12 of 91 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I can't say enough to recommend this lovely B&B and our wonderful hosts, Becky and Bob. Their B&B is in the historic district of James Bay and is part of the historic homes neighborhood. The rooms are beautiful with the most comfortable beds! Each room has a full bathroom and shower. We also had the use of their serene and peaceful living room. Very nicely located--walk one direction and you're near Beacon HIll Park and the Strait of San Juan de Fuca, the other way to the Inner Harbor and Parliament buildings--also convenient to the cruise ship port and ferry landing. We had a car, so was nice but we walked it as well. Lovely gardens to see everywhere.
Beck and Bob had fresh fruit bowls (and chocolate bars!) in our rooms and had coffee and tea for us when we arrived. A better breakfast couldn't be had anywhere. Becky's homemade yogurts, granola, fruit jams and muffins to take with us! One morning we had baked french toast with a caramelized pecan topping and the other morning spinach, mushroom and cheese crepes. They also gave us very good recommendations for places to see and also eat in town--Fisherman's Wharf is the best.
Stay here if you can--I want to come back!

Room Tip: Just 2 rooms--both with queen beds--can't go wrong with either. Both look out onto the lovely s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allyson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 144 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

Lovely home, great location, super friendly owners, beautiful rooms, I can't say enough to recommend this Bed and Breakfast. Did I say wonderful breakfasts??? And we got to take the extra muffins with us each day! YUM!!! We can't wait to come back!!

Room Tip: Both rooms are beautiful, the pink room's shower is a little squishy, but the tub is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Just a short walk to the ocean one way and 10 mins through quaint old houses and gardens to the Parliament Buildings and harbour the other! This 1900's house is really great - there are only two rooms available for rent, so you are never crowded. We were greeted by tea and cake. Room has a queen bed, but still plenty of storage drawers etc to put things, and the bathroom (your own) is separate and quite spacious. Bob and Becky could not have been more friendly, and wow, the breakfast!! Cereals, fresh made muffins, toast, homemade jams, fruits and yoghurts, and then a cooked breakfast on top. One does not leave hungry.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We have just spent two lovely days at the John Lewis B&B and it lives up to all the previous excellent reviews it has received. Becky & Bob are excellent hosts, the facilities offer all the creature comforts of home PLUS much more. The bed was just so comfortable and the breakfasts provided by Becky were delicious with all her homemade preserves. Both Becky & Bob were very helpful with the local knowledge of places to visit and places to eat. We highly recommend this for your next or first visit to Victoria - it's location is first class if you don't have a car, we did some wonderful walks. We also went to "Bon Rouge" for dinner on the back of Becky &Bob's recommendation and had a magnificent meal

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzGreyNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The John Lewis House B & B was a beautiful residence in a centralized location with the majority of activities within walking distance (beach, downtown, parks, etc.). Becky and Bob were delightful hosts and very welcoming. Breakfast was rather expansive (cereal, yogurt, fruit, muffins, toast, main entree - you get the picture) and always tasty. A nice extra touch was the expectation that any uneaten muffins went with us for later consumption - I enjoyed them for several days after returning home. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kittygoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Becky & Bob create a warm and inviting environment for their customers, adding even more character to the beautiful old house.
The B&B is in a central location and perfect for the on-foot tourist/traveller.
The breakfasts are to die for and the added touch of the hosts' morning routine only adds to the experience. Becky made muffins to take with us, so we cut down on lunch costs, which for a pair of students is a rather large bonus! The couple made great recommendations as well for dinner spots and daily sights.
The BEDS...I have never slept so well! And to sleep that well and have a sizeable, home-made, gourmet breakfast is otherworldly!
I have highly recommended this quaint B&B to everybody I know in hopes that they too will have as lovely a time as we did.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed for just one night while in Victoria on business in late April and it was a delightful break from chain hotels. Excellent local neighbourhood that was easy to walk to downtown/Harbour and to the ocean. The home is beautifully maintained and the rooms were thoughtfully furnished and featured a lovely basket of much appreciated refreshments. Hosts Bob and Becky provided for my every need even before I had arrived, by giving detailed instructions for local bus and sightseeing options and accommodating my early morning departure. I also appreciated their warmth in the way they took the time to make it feel like a home away from home (without the chores!) It is friendly and thoughtful hosts like them that re-affirm why I stay in B&Bs whenever I travel - plus the bed was super comfortable and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albaheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,064 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,117 reviews
James Bay
Embassy Inn
Embassy Inn
#14 of 49 in Victoria
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Lewis House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Lewis House B&B

Address: 58 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2K3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: $87 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage registered B&B close to downtown, inner harbour, coastal path and Beacon Hill Park ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing