We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Afternoon Tea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Venus Sophia Tea Room & Vegetarian Eatery

Venus Sophia Tea Room & Vegetarian Eatery
Ranked #124 of 1,176 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: International, Contemporary, Healthy, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: At Venus Sophia we welcome you to an oasis filled with unique creativity in the heart of the city, where you can take a moment in time to nurture your body, heart and soul. We freshly handcraft all our food from scratch with organic/regional/local ingredients and produce. Our menu offers a great variety and you can visit us for tea and dessert, lunch or a full signature afternoon tea. Venus Sophia's Signature Afternoon Tea is top rated by CONDE NAST TRAVELER, USA Travel Today, BC Living Magazine, and with the Excellence award 2015 from Tripadvisor. Family and locally owned and operated since 2011 in Victoria BC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delightful Afternoon Tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Prior to cruising, we had researched vegetarian tea rooms in Victoria and came across this little gem. We had taken the hop on hop off tour bus and wandered over to the Chinatown location where we were greeted by a warm environment and friendly staff. We decided on the Afternoon Tea priced at CAD25.50 per person plus tax and 15% gratuity. We chose the Monks Blend black tea which arrived with a selection of sandwiches, fruit, pastries and the delectable scones with jam and cream. The young lady serving us went out of her way to ensure our experience was extraordinary, attentively offering us more hot water or additional items. We bought two Venus Sophia Summer Blend teas to take home, one for us, one for a friend. If you’re looking for something a little off the beaten path in terms of Afternoon Tea, Venus Sophia is a must!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Knowmadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    26
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tea Room must”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Today I was taken to this tea room for my birthday,and was very pleasantly surprised. It is tucked in on Fisgard street amongst the street vegetable stalls and souvenir shops in Victoria's Chinatown. It is bright, spacious, and has a lovely atmosphere. Tea (huge selection) is served in beautiful English Bone China tea cups and China tea pots in a large variety of patterns. Coffee is also an option. The menu, although leaning toward vegetarian, gluten free etc., has a large selection of wraps, cookies, cakes and several other items far to many to list. (the carrot cake is delicious). Definately will return. Since this visit was a birthday treat, I can't comment on the prices etc but it really is worth stopping in for a look.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dengb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service in a lovely setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Alain and Sallie have created a delicious menu in their bistro in the heart of Victoria's Chinatown district. Everything is made fresh on site. Something to please every palate, including children. An extensive tea selection and robust coffee too. Locals and visitors will want to visit this place often.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Missmacwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A bright feast for the senses - an experience I would gladly repeat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

If you're vegetarian this is the perfect place for you to enjoy classic afternoon tea and other equally wonderful drinks & treats. If you aren't - don't let the fact that it's vegetarian food distract you from the fact that this is an AMAZING and rich tea experience! The music was delightful and unintrusive. I can't say enough good things about how warm and welcoming the people are there. I've done afternoon tea other places - I've spent a lot more than $25 plus 15% gratuity on it and this afternoon tea was on par with or better than anywere else that I've been.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElAlailys, Owner at Venus Sophia Tea Room & Vegetarian Eatery, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear Rachel, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us! We are so happy to read that you loved our afternoon tea and service. You are right, we do try our best to make our Vegetarian delights enjoyable for everyone, not just for Vegetarians, and we are glad you felt it! Our food and service comes from the heart, and we will keep working so hard to make sure it stays that way. We hope you come by Venus Sophia again when you visit Victoria next, and try more of our beverages and homemade dishes. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Charming, Cozy without Being Cliched, Friendly Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

A group of friends organized an outing here for tea a few days ago, and it came as a pleasant surprise. If I were from out-of-town, I would find it a refreshing change of pace from some of the more touristy tea venues that seem to abound in Victoria.

This restaurant specializes in tea and coffee (including high tea) as well as vegetarian lunches. You order at the front counter, but your food and beverages are served to you at your table. Service was wonderful, and the atmosphere very pleasant. It is actually a reasonably-sized place, but from the front looks like a very small shop, tucked away in Chinatown. As a local, I will definitely be back!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_in_Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElAlailys, Owner at Venus Sophia Tea Room & Vegetarian Eatery, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Hi Laura_in_Victoria,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are always so thrilled to know the locals enjoy our atmosphere and service, it is so important to us. We are a local, family-run business, and we work hard to make sure we deliver a unique, honest experience to all our guests. Our work comes from passion! It's true, from outside our shop looks small, and once you enter you realize how spacious it is. In a way being tucked away is part of the charm, as it allows locals like yourself to "finally discover us" and enjoy the experience to the fullest. We are so pleased to hear you'll be coming back! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venus Sophia Tea Room & Vegetarian Eatery also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Venus Sophia Tea Room & Vegetarian Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing