We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for Sandwiches, Breads, Desserts, etc”
Review of fol epi

fol epi
Ranked #3 of 24 Bakeries in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Victoria West
Description: just won gold in the eat magazine awards. people's choice!!!
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
553 reviews
407 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Excellent for Sandwiches, Breads, Desserts, etc”
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Need i say more? If you're headed out for a tour of tye island and want to pack a gourmet lunch, or just want something good to eat any time, this is the place! Out of the way but out of this world!

Helpful?
Thank jelsrtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    16
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Delicious breads and baked goods; the best birthday cakes anywhere”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Fol Epi is the place to go when you come to Victoria. It has delicious breads and their pastries are amazing. The croissants are the best anywhere - I've spent years in France and these match the best ones I've had over there; their sausage rolls are made with pork from Sloping Farm on the Island; the pizzas are thin crust and super tasty; the sandwiches are superb When chanterelles are in season, they are on the pizzas or in the ciabatta. The pastry chefs are true artists, we had a chocolate, raspberry gluten free cake (made with hazelnuts) this week - the same cake I had 2 years ago as a surprise for my 50th. The cake was incredible and the size they recommended for 20 served over 30 as it is so rich and flavourful. The decorations are surrealist and spectacular. Great value for money. The bakery is in a shared space with Caffe Fantastico, where you can get one of the best coffees in town. If you haven't been here yet, you have to go!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMMcL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
206 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Fantastic bakery, a little out of the way but worth the drive”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I have been complaining about the lack of bakeries in Victoria for a year and was pointed towards Fol Epi by a food wholesaler.

Absolutely 100%
Everything was fresh and tasty
Chocolate covered, cream filled happiness . . no granola in sight (finally)

We will be back

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldtiredandretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic organic bakery”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I finally stopped in on the actual bakery instead of my previous encounters with their product being resold in other fine Victoria establishments. Call me nothing but impressed. Amazing looking product, fresh items everywhere, reasonable prices for the quality. The interior is very warm, rustic and traditional. The service was quick and full of information if you had questions, the line up passed rapidly. We picked up 6 delicious ciabattas and went home and made some of the best breakfast sandwiches I've ever tasted. I highly recommend visiting Fol Epi and while you're there, drop in on caffe fantastico next door.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fallen0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Based on blackberry strudel....”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

A 75 km bike ride this morning and a coffee at the adjoining cafe sent us next door to Fol Epi....good lord...a blackberry strudel to absolutely relish...perhaps someone handpicked the berries and a pastry so light my toes could barely touched the pedals on the way home! I will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ModestCanadians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed fol epi also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to fol epi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing