We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artists at work”

Clive's Classic Lounge
Ranked #76 of 1,204 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: At Clive's Classic Lounge we have a passion for creating the highest quality cocktails using only the best ingredients. Our extensive selection of international spirits, beer and wine pairs perfectly with our menu focusing on international comfort cuisine. Visit us inside Chateau Victoria Hotel & Suites.
Victoria, British Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Artists at work”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Food is perhaps the best value in town. Kobe burger outstanding. But really - it's about the staff who concoct and serve the cocktails so superbly (Shawn, Nate and George). The originality of Shawn and Nate's creations combined with perfectly researched and prepared classics are stunning.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Intrepid2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    37
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Creative cocktails and small bites”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

In a quest for a new cocktail, we tried Clive's last week after reading some interesting articles about it. We arrived around 9:30 pm on a Thursday and it was bustling, but not packed. We tried a couple of cocktails each, and we weren't disappointed by any of them. There were combinations and ingredients that I've never heard of but they combined into complex, tasty cocktails (try the Jessica Rabbit!) We also tried some of the items off the tapas and charcuterie menu and everything was really good. We loved the duck wings and edamame. Around 11:30 pm, while we were getting ready to leave, a big loud group of drunk girls came staggering in, so unless that's your thing, try to get there earlier. The service was excellent and we'll definitely be returning.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PinkUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Diverse and tasty cocktail list”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Fantastic cocktails menu and great menu for lighter fare. Our waiter was incredibly knowledgeable about the drinks and the order in which they should be consumed. Went two nights in a row and our waiter remembered us and the types of cocktails we liked. Definitely a highlight of Victoria.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidK_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible Food!”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Calamari was the only good thing...do not order the beet and goat cheese dip - tasteless. duck wings - dry and their version of cheese fingers is making a grilled cheese sandwich and cutting it into fingers! Waste of money!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vacationlover2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding food and service”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

It really doesn't get better than this in a hotel coffee shop. Supurb service and food. Will return.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kapulanikai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clive's Classic Lounge also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Clive's Classic Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing