We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good time, saw whales, but tour guides/skippers didn't know enough” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Explorations Whale Watching

Ocean Explorations Whale Watching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us for the adventure of a lifetime on an exciting expedition in search of Killer Whales and other marine wildlife. These waters are an ocean crossroads, a chance for meetings and experiences not to be missed! Ocean Explorations offers world class whale watching from beautiful Victoria, British Columbia, Canada. Ocean Explorations features Large Safe Zodiacs, Professional Guide/Naturalists and a Highly successful Whale Search Network.Your safety and comfort is our top priority. Our boats are purpose built for the demands of whale watching, they are Coast Guard inspected annually and are always maintained in top condition. Passengers are supplied with Coast Guard approved stay-warm flotation suits to protect against cool air and ocean spray. Ocean Explorations staff are correctly trained tomake your experience safe and enjoyable
Toronto
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good time, saw whales, but tour guides/skippers didn't know enough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

I've been out with Ocean Explorations before and had a great time, so when my husband came to Victoria with me this time, we went with them again. We had a good time, saw probably 20 orcas, a few harbour seals, but the skippers had almost no in depth knowledge about the orcas. They couldn't answer many questions asked of them. When I got back from the trip I read the basic Wikipedia page on orcas and that contained all the answers to the questions asked of them. It's pretty bad that they didn't have basic knowledge of orcas. I would still definitely recommend this tour, but read the Wikipedia page before heading out!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kurtchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    1
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You will not be disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Whilst this is an expensive tour YOU will see Whales! We maybe sent 2 hours in an open boat, but well suited up for the journey, before we found a pod of whales and then we must have sent another 2 hours just following them at a discreat distance. Good photo opportunities but unless you have a good zoom you could end up with just pictires of fins.
Tour guides are well informatative and often involved in Marine studies at Uni, so have a deep interest, which shows.
It is expensive but where else can you get to see whales in the wild doing what comes naturally to them. A must on any trip in this area.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
“Phenomenal!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Everyone who worked here was friendly, knowledgable and enthusiastic! I will definitely tour with them again while in Victoria. Saw 3 pods of orca whales!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Went whale watching today. Great guide who really knew his stuff! Saw loads of orca's including one who popped up right beside our boat! We were very lucky and it was thrilling. The boat journey was great fun too. Fast and exciting!

Only criticism is the website is out of date. Blogs and trip logs were all pretty old but they were still advertised on the leaflet. I would have loved to see the photos or got info about exactly what whales we saw.

Great experience none the less. Thoroughly reccomend it!!!

Helpful?
Thank Gill2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An absolute MUST when in Victoria! Can't wait to do it again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

What a fantastic trip from start to finish!

The staff at Ocean Explorations are friendly, knowledgable and helpful! Fun, yet safe and incredibly knowledgable about the area and wildlife.

After shopping around, the price was the best in town.

I would recommend this to anyone looking for a great time out on the water.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank cbroadhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Explorations Whale Watching also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Ocean Explorations Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing