We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting for kids and adults”

The Maritime Museum of British Columbia
Ranked #42 of 181 things to do in Victoria
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Maritime Museum of BC engages people with the maritime culture and history of the Pacific Northwest through rotating exhibits, educational and community-based programs, research services, and more. We look forward to your visit!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Victoria, BC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting for kids and adults”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The people who work there are very knowledgeable and friendly. As a family, we have been quite a few times and the kids love how hands-on it is.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Teacher72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeMuseumofBC, Public Relations Manager at The Maritime Museum of British Columbia, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your visit to the Maritime Museum of BC. We are very happy you thought our Museum was an interesting place for both adults and kids because we try to make the exhibits as exciting as possible for guests of all ages. We look forward to welcoming you and your kids back to our Museum again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    110
    22
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Interesting little museum”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a pretty interesting little museum. Nice gift shop. Friendly helpful staff. I found the displays about the Canada Coast Guard the most intersting. The BC Ferry exhibit was also good.

There was a group of shool children visiting when we were and the docent or staff member taking them around was a man dressed like a pirate. He was fun and intersting and I even learned something from listening in to his talk.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryEllenTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeMuseumofBC, Public Relations Manager at The Maritime Museum of British Columbia, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are really pleased to hear your feedback about how you considered the staff so friendly and that you liked our gift shop. Thank you very much for visiting the Maritime Museum of BC and we hope to see you again when you visit Victoria in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globeseeker007
Level 6 Contributor
1,095 reviews
633 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,143 helpful votes
“Good museum with a lot of maritime history”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This museum covers several floors and contains a lot of history. There is information about pirates and sailing ships as well as modern vessels. There are several cannon as well as a boat that sailed around the world. The place contains a deep sea diver's outfit and models of vessels. There is a reciprocating engine that actually works when one activates it by pressing a button. Add a couple of videos about maritime history. The top floor is an actual court with places for judge, jury, and spectators. Be sure and take a ride in the elevator which is over a century old. The museum also contains a gift shop at the entrance.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank globeseeker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeMuseumofBC, Public Relations Manager at The Maritime Museum of British Columbia, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
With a mission to promote and preserve our maritime experience and heritage we are happy to hear you enjoyed the information about pirates, sailing ships and our modern vessels. Thank you for visiting the Maritime Museum of BC and sharing your experience with the community. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Maritime Museum, Victoria, BC”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We went at the end of a busy day with our 3 kids, 4yrs - 11yrs. The couple at the front desk were sweet and welcoming - they were tolerant of the kids being a bit grumpy and gave them a 'gold' treasure coin at the end of the visit.

The Museum is fascinating with lots of detail and interesting exhibits with something in most of the rooms that the kids could look at or play with too. We weren't able to stay for long because the kids tend to race around things but I would say it is worth a visit if you are interested on maritime history or are in the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little museum”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I love boats, so I love this museum, well done with a few real neat pieces, it is not huge, but the three floors are packed with little treasures.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maritime Museum of British Columbia also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Maritime Museum of British Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing