We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2009

Loved the atmosphere of the hotel and the brewpub, with live music, good food, and a selection of great beers from their own brewery. The hotel is situated right downtown Victoria, perfect for me as I was in town on business and enjoyed the easy access to the beautiful city.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sv0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 360 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2009

My husband & I stayed here in Sept and loved it! Victoria is an amazing city to explore!! And Swans Hotel was in the heart of the downtown. There was great live music in the pub every night. The rooms were great, with beautiful views & loft bedrooms (the 1 bed rooms). The only drawback (& this was more the city than the hotel) was the amount of homeless people!! Their shelter is fairly near the hotel, but homeless people are everywhere begging for money! But that certainly didn't stop us from having an amazing time & it didn't stop us from feeling safe. Beautiful hotel, great restaurant staff, great place!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldenpuppy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We loved the ambiance, a feeling of fusion between European and American styles. Great rooms, perfect location, setting, friendliness and value! The downstairs pub & dining was highly convenient with a nice atmosphere, but the food was only adequate... no big deal as, overall, we were extremely satisfied. Will stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quigley_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

I visit Victoria once a year. My grandparents spend a month here every year and book a suite under the long-term rate. They have been coming here for well over 5 years and love it. I have been coming every year, also for the past 5 years and have no complaints. The hotel is full of character. The rooms are well appointed, very clean, beautiful furnishings that are a cut above your standard hotel furniture, all the rooms have stocked kitchens, and original art on the wall. I have stayed in a regular suite, a one bedroom suite, and a 2 bedroom suite and all have been fantastic. The staff are very friendly and always very helpful and accomodating. There is a restaurant downstairs as well as a pub-style restaurant/bar and a beer/wine store. The pub downstairs is a brew pub and they brew their own beer on site. The food in both restaurants is excellent - must try the Shepherds Pie at the brew pub.

The hotel is in an excellent location, right downtown next to Chinatown and is within walking distance of everything - shops, restaurants, museum, waterfront.

My only caveat for other travellers is if you're very sensitive to noise at night/while sleeping. On weekends the brew pub has live music and while it was certainly not a disturbing level for me, my husband or our toddler you may want to ask for a room that doesn't face the same side as the pub.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hellcat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

This is my favorite hotel EVER. The suites are spacious and each features unique artwork. Avoid the first floor above the bar as I hear they are noisy, but all the times I've stayed there have been on the top floors and you get nothing but the usual traffic noise considering you are right downtown. If people are complaining about traffic noise here - they should stay in the country, its not that bad. Ask for a room away from the street if you're concerned. The beds are great, the suites (which have two floors) are beautiful and the kitchenette is a nice option. The staff are super friendly. The pub makes great microbrew beers and the food is ok to good. I'd eat elsewhere because the city has some truly great restaurants (Canoe Club is a great one and its about a block away), but the Swans has got good breakfasts. There are live bands almost every night as well. There is also a small liquor store attached to the hotel which is convenient. The only downside to this hotel is the parking. There isn't any on site - you have to park a half a block away in an open-air parking lot. The hotel is a block down from the homeless shelter as others have mentioned, but it is well policed and has never caused a problem in my experience. I used to live in Victoria and spent alot of time in this part of town, and it is safe to walk in at ANY time of day.

The location is incredible - its right downtown allowing you to explore everything on foot. This hotel is a bit pricey - but I believe it is worth it - SO much better than your average itchy floral duvets and tacky watercolour art. Also, if you call the desk, they almost always have a great special on that will save you money over their list price. They have really great staff to deal with. This place has personality and is very, very comfortable - it makes you look forward to coming back into your room to recharge and relax. I won't stay anywhere else in Victoria. If you like scary silent, average, cookie-cutter hotels, this is not the one for you. If you like a nicely appointed room, a funky atmosphere and a GREAT location, stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fireyfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

The location put a bad spin on the stay. So much so we cut the trip short. The hotel has great size suites since they are two bedrooms (on a second floor) and fairly equipped kitchen along with a decent breakfast but the location leaves much to be desired. It's across the street from a homeless shelter, next to an empty lot which is next to an abandoned building, where questionable people hang out all day and a few blocks away from a former needle exchange location; thus there are a number of not the best elements hanging around. Fine if you're a group of adults but not great if your with kids or with teens that you'd like to let explore . Additionally there is a popular brew house and shop to buy alcohol in the bottom floor which also brings in others. There are much better areas to chose from if traveling with kids.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mom.daughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

My daughter & I recently stayed at Swans with two children, 10 months & 8 years. We had a 2 bedroom suite & we all had a wonderful time !! The rooms were clean, comfortable, even more amenities than we required, well appointed kitchen & bath room. Room service menus offer complete selection from both pub & diningroom, plus childrens' menu. On site Brewery, & wine selections were very good & breakfast is served in your room if you wish. Money allowed for breakfast may be used toward full breakfast selections but the continental is more than adequate. Service was excellent, prompt, cheerful & friendly. The hotel is located downtown close to Chinatown, the harbour, shopping & the MacPherson Theatre. We lived in Victoria for 30 + years & this is our hotel of choice now when we return to visit.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank buckerfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 46 in Victoria
1,602 reviews
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swans Hotel & Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swans Hotel & Brewpub

Address: 506 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Victoria
#25 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $129 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swans Hotel & Brewpub 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swans Hotel & Brewpub offers 30 unique and comfortable suites and is conveniently located in the heart of historic "Old Town" Victoria. We are a short walking distance to downtown's Inner Harbour, museums, galleries, events, entertainment, shopping and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swans Hotel & Brewpub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swans Suite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing