We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Nearby Hotels
$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)
$204
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$524
$391
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$279
$263
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$235
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Abigail's Hotel(Victoria)
$263
$186
Abigail's Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Embassy Inn(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$193
$187
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveler rating
184
115
37
23
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
115
37
23
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrew pubfull kitchenliving roomgreat beercraft beerwithin walking distancepub downstairsmain levelwell equipped kitchenthe penthousepull out couchcharming hotelhotel roomthird floorthe staff was friendly and helpfuldowntown attractionsstayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 368 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I loved the location of this hotel because it was close to the boutique shops and chinatown, which had more of a 'local' feel in my opinion than downtown areas. We stayed one night and the room was nice, but I think this is better suited for people staying for a longer duration since there is a full kitchen we never even utilized. We were situated above the bar and luckily we went to bed late or else we would never be able to sleep due to the noise. We were not warned of this by front desk when checking in. I think our room was directly above the bar, so the noise is inescapable. If you like a quiet night I highly suggest staying far from this area of the hotel. We had really loud neighbours above us until 3ish am and had to involve the concierge twice to keep the noise down. He did exactly that and I was very pleased with the service. I realized the walls (and floors) are paper thin. Our window faced the creepy old building across the street but we did have a bit of a view of the water.

Overall, it was a nice stay but I would not recommend to people who won't be using the kitchen area, because why pay that much extra for something you won't be using?

Room Tip: Rooms that are not directly above the Bar will be quieter, since they play live music every night, i believe..
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very comfortable hotel. More spacious than most, with the bedrooms up stairs & bathroom on main level. A bit of a draw back if you need to go in the night...
Parking was around the corner in an open lot.
Many shops nearby & across the street. Lots of non-chain little cafes and restaurants. I prefer to frequent non-chain coffee shops and there are a few choices up the street frequented by locals. I had a very decent breakfast in one of them [forgot the name now].
The area has become gentrified and now includes an interesting variety of home decor/design shops, including Capitol Iron, and Opus for art lovers & makers. There's all the touristy shops and so forth in the other direction along Government.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelgalMission_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Nice location, very spacious suites and great beds. Only tiny littel minus is that the bedrooms in our suite were upstaurs and the bathroom was downstairs, but apart from that would really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AniqueJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Nice hotel, that isn't a like every other hotel out there. We had a nice room, with a small kitchenette, and kingsize bed. The room was fairly newly renovated, and was really comfortable, with great vaulted ceilings with a french balcony. It's located right downtown, and walking distance to the parliament, restaurants, and chinatown.

We were on the second floor and the bar below wasn't overly loud, but we could hear it, so any light sleepers would be wise to ask for a third floor apartment. Parking was not free ($9.50 a night). However, all things considered it was a great hotel, and I would come back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SkiAlpinist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I have been to victoria many times before and always stayed in the big hotels. Swans was only known to me as a good place to eat or drink. We decided to use the hotel for a biuness trip. The loby was small and a little sketchy and we were concidering leaving. The staff was friendly and helpful so we stayed to look at the room. What a suprise. Great loft room room,(be aware, lots of stairs) a full kitchen that we used. China town up the street and around the corner. The main tourist area Victoria a couple of minutes walk away. Parking is down the street, so be prepared to walk to your car. There were a few fans in closets, so i suspect it may get hot in the room in the summer.

Room Tip: limited views, road noise on street sides
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews