We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic, roomy suite in a fun hotel with some housekeeping issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eclectic, roomy suite in a fun hotel with some housekeeping issues”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We requested a quiet room, away from the busy street and the pub below and we got it. One of the few suites that was not renovated and was very dated, but quiet as requested. Towel shortage, so many days housekeeping would take the towels and there would be none until laundry was completed. Black mold in the bathroom, which they cleaned immediately when pointed out. Carpet was not vacuumed in some areas. Housekeeping was the Achilles heel of this otherwise charming hotel. Note: Our room had very steep, awkward stairs and the handyman almost fell down! Not a suite for the frail or elderly or very young children. The microbrewery below was amazing!!! Front desk staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at_Swans, Front Office Manager at Swans Hotel & Brewpub, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for the feedback in regards to your recent stay. We do appreciate reviews as they help us improve our services for future and returning guests. I am pleased to hear that our front desk staff were helpful and that you enjoyed our brewpub. We are extremely particular when it comes to the cleanliness of our property and we will certainly be addressing the housekeeping service you experienced during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    101
    29
    18
    9
See reviews for
79
133
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We just stayed in the Swans Suite Hotel in Victoria for two nights. We have eaten there before but have never stayed there. We had a spacious suite with two bedrooms, a living room and a full kitchen. Travelling with a baby can be challenging but this unit was perfect for our group. It is close to all the places you want to visit in downtown Victoria: Government Street shops, the waterfront, and China Town.The staff was friendly and informative. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natashamaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Terrific location if you aren't driving. It is right downtown and close to everything. Good pub, great service and clean, comfortable rooms. We arrived on a night that had live music which was a great way to spend an evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Lets start out by saying the PEOPLE that work at the hotel and the brewery store next door, they are the foundation of the fine hotel. I have unfortunately forgot the mans name, he was great on geting us a bit of direction to the bus we needed to catch. We were able to store our bags, while we took in the sights of the fine city of Victoria, though before that we had a fantastic breakfast at Swans.
We had a two bedroom suite with a full kitchen, I found a note from Sophie, the person that ensured our room was completely ready for our visit. The space was exactly what it looked like on the website, the bed was super comfortable. One of our kids slept in the 2nd bedroom and the other on the hide a bed down in the living room.
You can for sure find a less expensive room at other hotels, the adage "you get what you pay for." The value the of the payment made is = super service!
Thanks for enjoying this place as we did!

Room Tip: No pool, we weren't there to swim though. To the kids activies, our kids are 22 yrs and were us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TruckerKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
165 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

This interesting hotel is in a historic building and is old with narrow hallways. We had a two bedroom suite and both rooms were upstairs with a living, kitchen and bathroom downstairs. We had a spacious king bedroom and the kids had twin beds which were great for us. If you have mobility issues, you need to inquire ahead about rooms. We faced the inside, and had only the courtyard window. A little dark, but we weren't there to stay indoors. Either way it was very large. The place was clean, found a few leftover odds and ends from previous travelers, but things happen. The only thing that bothered me was the smell on our floor. I believe some staff lived there and the whole thing smelled like food. It was a little overwhelming. Made us feel like we were in an apartment building. But, it was part of the experience. We really liked the location, we found Victoria quaint and walkable. Parking is offsite and reasonable. A few tips for a stay here: find a grocery store before you get into the heart of town, it was hard to find a convenient store for basics. Brew pubs in BC at least, don't allow kids to eat in their establishments. Somewhere this should be noted, like when you cross the border or somewhere. We could not eat in Swan's pub, because we had our kids with us. We ran into this problem in many places. However, right down the street the Canoe brewery has a beautiful place and a restaurant area that allow kids, and have a kids menu. I would stay here again for space and location, it was unique and the front desk folks were really kind, I don't recall names. Overall a nice stay. The art is also cool, and good coffee in walking distances.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Granolamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
174 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I'm surprised I haven't reviewed this hotel yet as my wife and I stay here at least twice a year when visiting Victoria. So every suite has a kitchen if you desire to cook, we just use the fridge for snacks/wine/etc. Every suite is unique, furniture is different, great original artwork, high ceilings, some rooms have loft bedrooms, some have outdoor patios. I've lost count of the number of different suites we've stayed. Downstairs is a very busy pub with live music every night and a very tasty menu. If you don't eat here, you are only minutes away from several good restaurants and great shopping experiences. We park the car ( there is a charge for this) and walk everywhere. Minutes to the inner harbour and all the grand sites of downtown Victoria. Helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: There are two rooms above the pub that are offered as a discount due to the live music in the pub. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and really enjoyed having so much space in our self catering apartment. The upstairs bedroom is huge but you do have to go downstairs to the bathroom. The downstairs kitchen area is more than ample with all the items you need for preparing a meal, making beverages (fresh apples, tea, sugar and filter coffee supplied free of charge) and having breakfast before heading out and exploring. We chose Swans because we didn't have a car, so we liked its central location to everything but mainly because we wanted to enjoy local music and beers in the pub downstairs - without having to walk the streets at night getting back to our unit. Tip - We had an amazing meal and on site brewed beers at the Canoe Brew Pub around the corner which overlooks the water.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariaptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#29 of 49 in Victoria
387 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swans Hotel & Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swans Hotel & Brewpub

Property: Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Address: 506 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Victoria
#24 Family Hotel in Victoria
#26 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swans Hotel & Brewpub 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swans Hotel & Brewpub offers 29 unique and comfortable suites and is conveniently located in the heart of historic "Old Town" Victoria. We are a short walking distance to downtown's Inner Harbour, museums, galleries, events, entertainment, shopping and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Swans Hotel & Brewpub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swans Suite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing