We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thin walls, shabby linens - not worth it - Dec 2012” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swans Hotel & Brewpub

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thin walls, shabby linens - not worth it - Dec 2012”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Not worth it.
Stayed one night in late December 2012.
We had a one bedroom suite, second floor, away from the pub.
Holes in the sheets and threadbare in many other areas.
We could hear every word of the very earnest relationship discussion next door (the couple is definitely breaking up).
The linens on the pull out couch looked like they had not been changed.
The mattress on that couch was ridiculous.
Slept on the floor instead.

Go elsewhere, unless you like camping.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QN95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    99
    29
    18
    8
See reviews for
74
128
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
293 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hotel is awesome.

If you are tired of the typical hotel room, and really want a genuine boutique hotel, this is it. The building is an old one, with a great feel to it. The lobby area with the brew-pub always seem to be bustling, and give the hotel the feeling of an Inn from 100 or 200 years ago.

The rooms are spectacular in their size and appointments You get a very clean room with all modern amenities spread over 2 floors with a full washroom, kitchen, living room and even a balcony. Mind you the one negative is that these rooms seem to have no view, and the only natural light in the rooms themselves was from skylights.

We genuinely enjoyed our stay, we have stayed at the Empress in the past, but the rooms at Empress aren't that great. We'll be staying here from now.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank treepondersleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We loved our extended weekend at Swans Suite Hotel. It is near everything. The service was personal, friendly and quite helpful. Our Loft Unit was huge. It had an entry area, closets, kitchen and very large and comfotable living room. I suspect the couch came out into a bed, but don't know for sure.

Above it all was a huge King Bed Loft, open to the lower floor with the most comfortable bed I've slept in for some time.

One caveat, the steps are steep. There's a rail and all, but you sleep upstairs and the bathroom is downstairs. I'm not sure how safe it would be for someone who stayed too long at the pub.

That said, I do want to mention that as much as we liked the hotel, The restaurant was a dud for us. It is crowded, so it is popular for many, but our one night's meal was with overcooked dry fish and beef and the beer wasn't anything special to us. Either an off night or we were fussy, but there are an incredible number of like pricecd and less expensive opportunities close to the hotel Ask about the Italian restaurant or the pizza place around the corner.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from where you can hear the pub's music at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed overnight at the Swans Suite Hotel with our 2 children. The combination of multiple bedrooms and the living room / kitchen suite were perfect. The only thing keeping this review from being a 5 star rating was the location of the bathroom of the suite we stayed in being quite a bit aways from the bedrooms. The onsite bar was also very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelerskc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I Travel to Victoria many times a year and after trying various Hotels in the area I now stay at Swans exclusively. It has wonderful charm and character that cannot be found at larger(newer) hotels. The loft bedrooms and full kitchen are ideal for a person like myself who is on the road a hundred days a year. The Brew Pub downstairs has something going on everynight of the week and the food is great. The hotel is within walking distance to everything downtown. The staff are wonderful, always ready to help and very courteous. I will be back again and again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingst0nMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We've stayed at Swans a few times already, always with family or friends, as they have great 1 and 2 bedrooms suites. The suites are set up so that the bedrooms are upstairs, and the living area, including kitchen and bathroom downstairs. We think this works wonderful as the kids can go to bed and stay asleep even if we're watching TV or having friends over for drinks in the living room.
You stay above a pub with live music - and yet we've had no noise issues. On the contrary, we've once received a coupon upon arrival to redeem some small beer samples (not sure that still gets done) which we loved. We also used the conveniently located liquor store! Kids in bed at 7 pm after running through the Museum, going to the Bug Zoo, watching a movie (from reception), and then parents can crack open a cold one.
We've visited a few times between Christmas and New Year when they seem to have special pricing on for their suites.
Walking distance to everywhere in downtown Victoria.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunseeker1062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just stayed at this lovely little hotel for the first time and I can't believe it took us this long to find it! The brewpub and restaurant downstairs have been favourites for years and we have had MANY delicious lunches there. I think the hotel will now become a favourite as well.
First, the location. RIght in the heart of things. It's not on the Inner Harbour but it is walking distance to anything you might want to do in downtown Victoria, including the harbour, the parliament buildings, shopping, great restaurants, history, culture, name it. It's an older building, I believe it's a heritage building and has been restored and designed with that in mind. As soon as I walked into our suite I felt like I was in a small European hotel. Wonderful window/door that opens up to the street below. Very well equipped kitchen, with a stove, fridge, microwave, dishes etc. This suite would be ideal for small families staying in Victoria for a few days or more, as you could save money by eating meals in the suite.
The sleeping loft is pretty cool as well, although the stairs would certainly be an issue for some. A pretty long flight of stairs leads up to a king size bed, desk, tv, closet with terry robes. Two big windows, so lots of light.
I would definitely stay here again. The only down side could be the location, which is also one of the best things about it. There is a pub downstairs, and it IS on a pretty busy street, so although it wasn't noisy when we stayed there (Saturday night) I suppose it could be. Also not for people with disabilities.
Other than that, we had a lovely stay. Also forgot to mention it's incredibly reasonable for a suite! We paid $129. for the night. Well worth it. AND there is a cold beer and wine store right downstairs. Doesn't get much better than that!
If you are looking for new, shiny, luxury hotel- don't come here. If you want something a bit different and interesting at a great price, check out this boutique art hotel. Very cool indeed...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dsnewtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#29 of 52 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swans Hotel & Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swans Hotel & Brewpub

Property: Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Address: 506 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Victoria
#24 Family Hotel in Victoria
#26 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swans Hotel & Brewpub 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swans Hotel & Brewpub offers 29 unique and comfortable suites and is conveniently located in the heart of historic "Old Town" Victoria. We are a short walking distance to downtown's Inner Harbour, museums, galleries, events, entertainment, shopping and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Swans Hotel & Brewpub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swans Suite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing