We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The suite accommodations are perfect for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed overnight at the Swans Suite Hotel with our 2 children. The combination of multiple bedrooms and the living room / kitchen suite were perfect. The only thing keeping this review from being a 5 star rating was the location of the bathroom of the suite we stayed in being quite a bit aways from the bedrooms. The onsite bar was also very good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravelerskc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 350 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

I Travel to Victoria many times a year and after trying various Hotels in the area I now stay at Swans exclusively. It has wonderful charm and character that cannot be found at larger(newer) hotels. The loft bedrooms and full kitchen are ideal for a person like myself who is on the road a hundred days a year. The Brew Pub downstairs has something going on everynight of the week and the food is great. The hotel is within walking distance to everything downtown. The staff are wonderful, always ready to help and very courteous. I will be back again and again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kingst0nMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We've stayed at Swans a few times already, always with family or friends, as they have great 1 and 2 bedrooms suites. The suites are set up so that the bedrooms are upstairs, and the living area, including kitchen and bathroom downstairs. We think this works wonderful as the kids can go to bed and stay asleep even if we're watching TV or having friends over for drinks in the living room.
You stay above a pub with live music - and yet we've had no noise issues. On the contrary, we've once received a coupon upon arrival to redeem some small beer samples (not sure that still gets done) which we loved. We also used the conveniently located liquor store! Kids in bed at 7 pm after running through the Museum, going to the Bug Zoo, watching a movie (from reception), and then parents can crack open a cold one.
We've visited a few times between Christmas and New Year when they seem to have special pricing on for their suites.
Walking distance to everywhere in downtown Victoria.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunseeker1062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just stayed at this lovely little hotel for the first time and I can't believe it took us this long to find it! The brewpub and restaurant downstairs have been favourites for years and we have had MANY delicious lunches there. I think the hotel will now become a favourite as well.
First, the location. RIght in the heart of things. It's not on the Inner Harbour but it is walking distance to anything you might want to do in downtown Victoria, including the harbour, the parliament buildings, shopping, great restaurants, history, culture, name it. It's an older building, I believe it's a heritage building and has been restored and designed with that in mind. As soon as I walked into our suite I felt like I was in a small European hotel. Wonderful window/door that opens up to the street below. Very well equipped kitchen, with a stove, fridge, microwave, dishes etc. This suite would be ideal for small families staying in Victoria for a few days or more, as you could save money by eating meals in the suite.
The sleeping loft is pretty cool as well, although the stairs would certainly be an issue for some. A pretty long flight of stairs leads up to a king size bed, desk, tv, closet with terry robes. Two big windows, so lots of light.
I would definitely stay here again. The only down side could be the location, which is also one of the best things about it. There is a pub downstairs, and it IS on a pretty busy street, so although it wasn't noisy when we stayed there (Saturday night) I suppose it could be. Also not for people with disabilities.
Other than that, we had a lovely stay. Also forgot to mention it's incredibly reasonable for a suite! We paid $129. for the night. Well worth it. AND there is a cold beer and wine store right downstairs. Doesn't get much better than that!
If you are looking for new, shiny, luxury hotel- don't come here. If you want something a bit different and interesting at a great price, check out this boutique art hotel. Very cool indeed...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dsnewtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights while in Victoria. Our suite did have the bedroom located upstairs, which was a bit of a problem for me as I will be having knee surgery in a couple of weeks, but I realize after reading the reviews you can request a room without stairs, which in hind site I probably should have done. I would request a room on the 3rd floor if at all possible also, I think they are a bit brighter. Our suite was clean, comfortable bed, lots of pillows, quiet, great kitchen area, and had a small patio. No air conditioner, but it always cooled off enough at night to cool the room so it was never a problem and we slept wonderful. They do have large portable fans in the bedroom which are great also.

The brew pub downstairs had incredible food and excellent beer...we ate there more than once....delicious and great prices!

The parking is right across the street, never a problem and very secure.

Hotel is located within walking distance of downtown with lots of great restaurants and the harbor.

Staff was friendly and helpful...loved this suite hotel and would return!

Room Tip: 3rd floor, not above pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelAZ98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were attracted to this hotel by the chance to get a two bedroom suite at a reasonable price. Hotel is well appointed although the bedrooms being up stairs could cause difficulties for some. There is a kitchen area that is well equipped for snacks and breakfasts but less so for main meals. To my taste the decor was also a little dark. It was also disappointing that children were not able to eat with parents in the main bar area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulRTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathlyn L, Manager at Swans Hotel & Brewpub, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comment. Our guest rooms are more than just a hotel room, most of our rooms are lofts with kitchen and living room on the bottom floor and bedrooms on the 2nd floor. We have some of the one-bedroom suites on one floor for guests with mobility issue or do not want to climb stairs. The hotel is situated in an heritage building which offers high beam ceiling and real hardwood floor and original artwork in every room. Due to our liquor licence as a pub, no minor is allowed. The collard room next to the pub is open as a family dining room which we welcome children at anytime.

I look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#29 of 49 in Victoria
457 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swans Hotel & Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swans Hotel & Brewpub

Address: 506 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Victoria
#24 Family Hotel in Victoria
#26 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $128 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swans Hotel & Brewpub 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swans Hotel & Brewpub offers 30 unique and comfortable suites and is conveniently located in the heart of historic "Old Town" Victoria. We are a short walking distance to downtown's Inner Harbour, museums, galleries, events, entertainment, shopping and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Swans Hotel & Brewpub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swans Suite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing