We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively, functional, a bit old too...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We just spent one night there, coming from Vancouver and on our way to explore Vancouver Island. I just don't know what to think about this place, very mixed feelings. I'm still trying to figure out what they actually mean by "Boutique Art Hotel" as this place has nothing to do with a Boutique hotel. Don't get me wrong, it's lovely, useful and comfortable but the term "Boutique" doesn't make any sense at all in my opinion.

First, from the outside, it's a really lovely place, full of colors and flowers, really cute and lively! Then you enter and immediately bump into the tiny reception and you have the feeling of being in a sort of B&B, very tiny and cozy. All the bedrooms are suites (corridors are rather old and dark and make me think of these old Victorian B&B in London, UK) on a two level setup. Bedroom is upstairs, very large and comfy bed, while bathroom is downstairs so if you have to get up at night, be careful and watch your step! The bathroom is tiny and functional, looks a bit old, nothing more, nothing less. The kitchen area is small but very functional (oven, microwave, fridge, sink, a real kitchen), the living area was nice and we loved relaxing there.

Walls are....paper thin walls which means we heard absolutely everything our neighbours and their kids were doing and saying. Baby cried at 6.00am and we heard the kids and their dad running upstairs and downstairs...
The pub/restaurant downstairs is absolutely lovely : nice decor, art and paintings but the service and food are terrible. We waited what seemed to be hours for 2 salads while there were really few people and it was nice to look at but not really good to eat. Somebody close to me had left half of her fish 'n' chips in her plate. It's probably very good as a pub though.

I didn't find the location exceptional either. Victoria is a really lovely city, especially near the port area so next time I visit the city, I'll probably choose to stay closer to the port rather than the old district and Chinatown.
All in all, not that bad, good bed and useful kitchen which was OK just for one night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramblingdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 360 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite -- with a small but working kitchen. Two level set up -- with the bedrooms upstairs and the bathroom down stairs (a bit odd that). Nice space. No AC -- typically not needed in Victoria. There was a WiFi set up -- free -- but for some reason, it simply did not work in our rooms. The staff were very accomodating -- we were able to check in early (around noon) which was quite convenient. Parking is at a premium in downtown Victoria -- so it was pay parking at a lot about a block away. TV set up was good -- lot's of channels for those so inclined. The only down side - noise -- not from the pub downstairs -- rather, at around 5AM in the morning, the SEAGULLS were VERY loud. Clearly not the fault of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you want WiFi -- you might want to check out a room not centered between their Wifi transmitters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathlyn L, Manager at Swans Hotel & Brewpub, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear Mr. Barry S.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. After your review, we had our IT department double checked the internet connection in all our rooms to ensure our guests are getting a strong and steady signal.

We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Kathlyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Very friendly welcome, the receptionist very helpfully found us a perfect spot to park our Harley. Rooms are large, our suite was on two levels with the bedroom above the lounge and kitchen. The bed was a large double and was very comfy. Complementary coffee is served in the mornings, and there is a very good pub downstairs serving food and drink. There is also a bistro/wine bar - The Wild Saffron - if you want more ambience. The hotel is a five minute walk along the harbour walkway to the marina and Government Buildings. A great place to stay for your visit to Victoria.

Room Tip: Live music most nights i the bar, but we did not hear it from our room. The suite above the bar is u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hillcrestroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathlyn L, Manager at Swans Hotel & Brewpub, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are offering 3 course dinner at the Wild Saffron Bistro at $29.95 including our famous Sunday Prime Rib Dinner. Our Award Winning Brew Pub offers amazing selection of draft and delicious food. Please ask for a "Beer Taster Card" next time when you stop by the pub.

We look forward in welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Kathlyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Really an amazing value given other hotels available for the price in Victoria. Well-situated within walking distance of most everything, very close to Chinatown and the drawbridge. Our suite was enormous with the bedroom upstairs, good internet connection, two TVs and a full kitchen. The art in the room was excellent and unique and it was all very clean and up-to-date. They checked our bags when we arrived early and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Our only complaint with the room was that the shower and bath were downstairs from the bedroom. As for the hotel itself, the late check-in (4pm) and early check-out (11am) should be re-examined. Both are too far to the extreme. We’d definitely stay here again on a return.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a top level room to reduce the noise--we had none because we were onthe third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCalCanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Our two story room #306 is not recommended. Bedroom was up narrow stairs with bathroom on first level. No A/C, fan made noise and the hotel kitchen vent was to the left of our window and deck. Our friends had a great one-level room on the 2nd floor that had a seperate bedroom and patio. We had room envy. Great location and the staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: We left our cars at Port Angeles as the hotel was walking distance from the dock. If you go in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

A bit different from a run of the mill hotel room. We had a kitchen area with all the amenities you need a living room and a bedroom on a mezzinine level. lots of space. Our room faced the back and had a small balcony too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamacaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We really liked this hotel. Our 4 night stay was the first week of July. We had 3 Adults in a 2-bedroom, 2 level unit with kitchen. Didn't really use the kitchen and did have to pay extra to park our car down the block. But the location is good and we liked the pub restaurant. Only note is that some units have the bathroom on the bottom floor with bedrooms on 2nd floor......but they changed us to one with bath on same level as bedrooms - so that worked. Plenty of space and good amenities. Someone always at front desk to help out. Good deal if you have 2 couples or need 2 rooms. The sea gulls calling were the only thing that woke us up in the morning; we had to open the windows since there is no air conditioning in this climate. None of the two bedroom units are over the pub (according to the front desk person).

Room Tip: Ask about air conditioning if you have any health issues, especially if you go during potential heat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoosierIU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 46 in Victoria
1,604 reviews
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swans Hotel & Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swans Hotel & Brewpub

Address: 506 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Victoria
#25 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $129 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swans Hotel & Brewpub 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swans Hotel & Brewpub offers 30 unique and comfortable suites and is conveniently located in the heart of historic "Old Town" Victoria. We are a short walking distance to downtown's Inner Harbour, museums, galleries, events, entertainment, shopping and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swans Hotel & Brewpub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swans Suite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing