We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses
Ranked #9 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in room number 5 in their Heritage house B&B. We loved our room and all the amenities.

The room had a Jacuzzi tub, rain shower, fireplace, flat screen TV, and a small balcony with two chairs. There were also facilities to make coffee and tea. The room was very comfortable with premium bedding on a queen bed and two huge wingback chairs. There were two bottles of sparkling water awaiting us when we arrived.

We were also given a coupon for a beer flight and chocolate truffles for two at their Spinnakers restaurant and brew pub, about 100 feet away. Of course, they brew their own beer and their pastry chef makes the chocolate truffles. They also sell five varieties of freshly baked bread, pastries, and artisan chocolates in the pub.

In the morning they brought breakfast to our room. We had several choices including scones, muffins, yogurt, granola and a variety of juices. The muffins and scones were still warm, freshly baked by their in-house pastry chefs.

We had dinner at the restaurant and it was also very good. I enjoyed a mushroom and beer pizza and my wife had a beet and goat cheese salad. Both were excellent.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    75
    21
    14
    4
See reviews for
39
145
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lloydminster, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The girl at the desk needed to be extremely efficient at multi-tasking as she checked guests in, filled draft bottles, sold pastries and truffles, showed guests to their suites while other people were waiting all the while giving exceptional customer service with a smile on her face. On arrival thought the room was nice but quickly realized how impractical the room setup was. The bathroom had a large tub with overhead rain shower and a window that opened to the alley/driveway/walkway that when opened afforded no privacy when occupying the facilities. The window had no screen and was the only source of ventilation in the already stuffy warm room. A fan was supplied that allowed some air circulation. The bed was comfortable but the guests were easily heard walking around above our heads and using the stairway outside our door. The morning offered no further comfort. Starting with the breakfast. The breakfast was served in a basket and we had ordered scones and muffins. Make your own coffee and proceed to eat a crumb filled breakfast in bed as there was no real table top to set up. Coffee could be served in a carafe and a simple fold up table inside the room would have been a nice touch. To shower was tough. The tub is high and awkward to step into especially for someone with shorter legs. The shower curtains are cloth with one magnet on either corner so the curtains cling to your legs and lower body while trying to shower. We originally booked to stay for 5 nights. Being that vacation days are limited we opted to pay the penalty, checked out early and found comfort elsewhere. We stayed for the one night, were charged for two and the staff did not inquire as to why we were checking out early. Overall, very disappointed.

Room Tip: For less money you can find much more comfortable rooms closer to the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWF2ALB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grubbenvorst
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The location was very good, overlooking the bay of Victoria.
The service in the restaurant, after an initial struggle over the seating near a door, was then excellent.
The room with jacuzzi was interestingly old-fashioned. I think Americans and Canadians would like it. The breakfast on the bookcase(table) was also of a different experience.
All in all, I will recommand it.!!

Erna and Sjaak from Holland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErnaSjaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We've frequently eaten at Spinnaker's brewpub in the past...always enjoyed it. This was our first time staying there. We had one of the 'garden' suites although we were actually upstairs. Our room was actually a small suite...separate living and bedroom with en suite bathroom. All very comfortable. The room was quiet. We had a peekaboo harbour view. Little extras we really appreciated...free wifi and parking. Delicious continental style breakfast brought to our room in the morning. No fresh fruit so we bought some to have with the yummy homemade yoghurt. Complimentary beer tasting...paired with truffles. This was a wonderful treat. Service was friendly and accomodating. One of the staff went out of her way to get me a particular teabag. A small thing but much appreciated! We would definitely stay again. The location was beautiful and we loved our seawall walks!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went to Spinnakers Brewpub for dinner then stayed over in the guest house and enjoyed every minute. The rooms in the heritage house are small but very cosy with fireplace, big tub and a great bed. Each room also has a small balcony or patio to enjoy. The guest house is located within walking distance of downtown Victoria and a lovely walk along the sea wall. One of the best features is the delicious breakfast that is delivered to your door in the morning. Everything about this place is lovely, the service, the ambience, the food and the intimacy of it. Highly recommended for honeymoons, anniversaries or just a romantic moment away from it all.

Room Tip: Each room is slightly different, so have a look at the website, 'tour' the various rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripster91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have stayed at Spinnakers several times in the past and I have reviewed the Guesthouse and the Brewpub. What I'm reviewing this time is the customer service.

People review accommodation and they review food, but customer service is rarely mentioned unless it is awful. It needs to be acknowledged when it is good.

Nothing is 100% perfect 100% of the time. Not even Spinnakers. Sometimes, as much as people try to do the best, things happen that are less than perfect. Such was an experience I had with Spinnakers last fall. It was a busy time, and some things were less than "perfect". Looking back, I think that because all my previous experiences with Spinnakers were in fact perfect, anything less seemed way out of proportion. Seriously, in hindsight, it wasn't that bad. But I did have a concern and I complained (I was cranky at the time).

At this point, several things could have happened from Spinnakers: a) absolutely nothing; b) a polite "to-bad-so-sad hope you come back" email, or ... c) good customer service prevails. Happily, it was "c" (C for Claire). She communicated with me, explained the situation, explained how it would be rectified, and left me feeling that i had been listened to, that my concerns were addressed, and that I felt valued as a customer and that they appreciated our business.

We have just completed another stay at Spinnakers and I am happy to say that it still is the Spinnakers that I love. It is charming, quaint, quirky at times, comfortable and clean. The food in the brewpub was wonderful -- after their pulled pork nachos (and my husband doesn't normally like nachos) we are completely ruined on regular nachos and will have to travel back to Victoria for the ones at Spinnakers (as good an excuse as any). Staff were pleasant and professional. A special shout-out to Sarah -- it is a pleasure to be served by Sarah. She is a delight.

The beer, as always, is wonderful, and I loaded up on some of my favourite things from the store -- the amazing beer jelly, some sea salt, and bacon brittle.

Already we're planning our next trip back. Spinnakers is the best.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdmontonCarol_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Awesome customer service. Welcoming, friendly and helpful staff. breakfast delivererd to our room was much appreciated and delicious! We had the benefit of an upgrade to a bungalow, that was truly amazing. We will definetly be back and we recommend Spinnakers to anyone that is looking for a friendly, Victorian style home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darobrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,031 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,703 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses

Property: Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses
Address: 308 Catherine St, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 3S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Victoria West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in sumptuous style with Spinnakers at our Heritage Guesthouse and Garden Suites. As our guest you'll enjoy pleasures borne of plate and pint glass, and an array of in-suite luxuries and unique gifts - all while basking in the peaceful and private luxury of one of the region's finest Victoria BC Accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinnakers Guesthouses Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing