We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses
Ranked #9 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ferndale, Washington
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here in the Heritage House last weekend for her birthday. We were pleasantly surprised by our experience and the great service provided by the staff. They were friendly and accommodating Our room was clean and comfortable. It was nice to have a real fireplace to make a truly romantic experience, although some might find it a pain to keep the real fire going.

We had the Cozy up for Winter package that included a 3 course meal. The food was very good and fresh. We were offered 3 full courses for each person, an appetizer, main course, and dessert for each person, which was way more food than we could eat.

Along with the free beer and chocolate pairing, this meal only cost us $7 for the additional beer I ordered, plus gratuity for the whole meal. It was a significant savings over buying the meal a la carte.

The beer from the brewery was very good, and with prices at the state liquor stores being $12 for a 6 pack of Budweiser, the deal for the Spinnaker's growlers at $10-$12 was very competitive.

The only reason I did not give 5 stars, was the breakfast could have been better. Just granola and yogurt was good, but nothing special.

I would highly recommend staying here, and would visit again.

Room Tip: Room was the best room in the Heritage House for us. It had the soaker tub and it's own little p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    74
    20
    14
    4
See reviews for
39
143
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

What a great stay! The staff were incredibly warm and friendly, but when we booked over the phone and when we arrived. The location was great - a bit tricky to find in the dark, but not bad. Our room had a lovely little fireplace and balcony. In the morning, they dropped off a breakfast picnic basket with still-warm pastries and yummy granola. We also had dinner in the pub and were quite happy. (Despite being a brewery, they have a great wine list.) We also picked up some essentials from their little shop - bread, mustard, and more pastries! (Did I mention that it's close to a Goodlife Fitness? :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danyal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed one night in a Heritage House guest room and opted for the winter special 3-course meal option (for an October visit). The location is great, right on the water with access to walking paths and a 15 minute walk to downtown Victoria. The service staff is totally awesome and helpful. We were very impressed with our guest room, very tastefully converted historic home with lots of comfy touches (2 person jetted tub), gas fireplace, antique furniture, and even the historic windows worked properly. The location is also quiet.

We were blown away by the quality and options of the food on the menu. Also, we appreciated the "farm fresh" menu that featured many locally sourced ingredients. We enjoyed the complimentary "chocolate and beer tasting" with the on-site produced craft beers and matched chocolate truffles. And we literally had difficulty eating all the wonderful food we were provided as part of our 3-course meal included in the package price. We opted for more truffles to take with us as we didn't have room for the yummy dessert options.

I highly recommend both the restaurant and the guest houses. We've stayed in a number of Victoria hotels and a B & B and I think this will become our new preferred getaway location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I went here for the first few days of our honeymoon and had a fantastic time. We enjoyed several delicious meals at the brewpub, as well as two spectacular breakfasts delivered to our door. The baked goods and homemade granola were out of this world. The apartment that we stayed in was very spacious with a nice big whirlpool tub/shower. We had a little outdoor patio to sit on and easy access to downtown via car or on foot. Highly recommend this place. We both thought it would have been a great place to go with a family or with other friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKchristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Great room very close to water. Brew pub tap room (upstairs) had bland beer.The $12 Baked Brie was actually a slice of brie about the 3 inches across -not a exactly a value. Having to drive elsewhere to eat & drink spoiled the fun.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsBonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Best thing about Spinnikers is it's location right on the water. We enjoyed walking the West Bay walking trail each day.. perfect views, interesting historical information, birds, seals, nature at its best. Also interesting to watch the water taxis, float planes and large and small boats in the harbour from our lovely little deck in front of our room (upstairs) in the historical wooden house. Food great and ales remarkable. Service in the restaurant slow, but views across the harbour from the front windows and decks of the restaurant make up for that. Special "gift certificate" of 4 oz glasses of their specialty beers and chocolates were a wonderful surprise. Room upstairs in summer got very hot and no AC, but at least a silent fan in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. I think we had the only one with a deck out front so could look beyond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Yukontravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The location is excellent and a nice walk to downtown. We were there for Canada Day weekend and enjoyed being a bit away from the crowds. The food and beer are excellent. We were very comfortable in the room and appreciated the breakfast baskets - it's a great way to start the day.
I'd recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,008 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,694 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses

Property: Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses
Address: 308 Catherine St, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 3S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Victoria West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in sumptuous style with Spinnakers at our Heritage Guesthouse and Garden Suites. As our guest you'll enjoy pleasures borne of plate and pint glass, and an array of in-suite luxuries and unique gifts - all while basking in the peaceful and private luxury of one of the region's finest Victoria BC Accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinnakers Guesthouses Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing