We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Classic Theatre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Theatre

Royal Theatre
Ranked #19 of 175 things to do in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The 1,434-seat Royal Theatre, opened in 1913 as the Victoria Opera House, is a heritage jewel. It is the home of the Victoria Symphony, Pacific Opera Victoria, as well as a diverse selection of locally produced entertainment. The Royal is also known as Victoria's "home of the stars", offering a showcase for performances from some of the world's greatest entertainers in theatre and dance to classical music and rock 'n' roll.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Classic Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

After many visits to the Royal Theatre for various events I still get a thrill as I walk in and see the classic red velvet curtains and gold decor. It transports me back to the London Theatres of my youth!
The staff are welcoming and the seats are comfortable. I have sat in various locations both in the Balcony and the Stalls and have never been disappointed with my line of sight or the sound.
If you will be visiting Victoria check ahead and see what is playing at the Royal Theatre during your visit and book on-line...you won't regret it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Arden44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    60
    13
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
187 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Sound and Seating both get five starts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

When you attend the theatre you expect to have a great unobstructed view and great sound. The Royal Theatre gives you that London England theatre feeling in good ole Victoria. Any play, musical or event you attend at this facility will make your night totally awesome. It is important to me to have easy access to parking and quick and easy egress and access to seating, this theatre is so easy to move about, you don't get that rat in a cage feeling. The sound is very clear and the seat are very comfortable to see whatever event you came to enjoy. Great Facility and outstanding service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank FCFireConsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Royal Theatre is the place to see the Victoria symphony...but”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

It's nice, but the seats are small and leg room is minimal. Get an aisle seat or one near the Front where you can be comFortable. There must be an a/c issue as it is hot and stuFFy. I have little experience seeing symphony orchestras, but the acoustics seemd good.

Helpful?
1 Thank LoungeTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
228 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

The Royal Theatre is a remodeled theater with beautiful architecture and excellent acoustics. I'd go to a show there again anytime!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MissWisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Classy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We went to a concert there in May, 2012. I have not been to many theaters but this was beautiful. It seemed rather grand, like something out of a movie. Sound was great, seats were comfortable though not much leg room.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy8992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Theatre also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Royal Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing