We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vikings presentation was average movie”

IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$13.05*
and up
Royal BC Museum Entrance Ticket
Ranked #1 of 24 Fun & Games in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: With crystal clear images, wraparound digital surround sound, and advanced IMAX(R) with Laser projection technology, IMAX(R) Victoria lets you feel like you're really there. Six stories high and 81 feet wide, the screen pulls you in! 7 million people locally have been spellbound by the force and beauty of The IMAX(R) Experience. Technically advanced and visually, it is the most powerful and immersive movie experience in the world.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed August 27, 2014

I usually LOVE and IMAX presentation and was really looking forward to the Viking show. It was an average movie, nothing special for an IMAX and it seemed pretty dated. A couple of people in the theater fell asleep.

1  Thank wildcainwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imaxvictoria, General Manager at IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Dear wildcainwa,

Thank you for for your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review.

I'm sorry to learn the IMAX Viking film dissapointed you and didn't meet your 'IMAX' experience expectations.

We have heard a number of positive of comments about the film, but admittedly we have also heard a few negative ones. There are some sequences in the film that could have been benefited from a higher production budget, but by and large the film delivers with some beautiful scenic shots and a great overview on the Viking culture.
The idea behind programming the film was to complement the Viking exhibition here at the Royal BC Museum and to add to the overall all 'Viking' experience.

Thank you again for your visit. We do hope we will be able to host you again on your next visit from Washington State.

Kindest regards,
Paul Wild

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (915)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"big screen"
in 51 reviews
"annual pass"
in 38 reviews
"film festival"
in 11 reviews
"sound quality"
in 11 reviews
"rocky mountain express"
in 18 reviews
"comfortable seats"
in 17 reviews
"great sound"
in 10 reviews
"star wars"
in 9 reviews
"the royal bc museum"
in 39 reviews
"rainy day"
in 25 reviews
"british columbia"
in 13 reviews
"films"
in 120 reviews
"theatre"
in 146 reviews
"laser"
in 36 reviews
"projection"
in 17 reviews
"technology"
in 22 reviews
"butterflies"
in 11 reviews
Filter

417 - 421 of 915 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2014

I love the IMAX in Victoria, it's fantastic! The screen is huge and the films they show are educational, interesting, and also really fun! It's a great place to visit and is well-managed, clean, and serves some great movie snacks. Highly recommend!

Thank lkelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imaxvictoria, General Manager at IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear lkelsey,
Thank you for your kind words and succinct summary of your visit!
We are very proud of the IMAX experience we offer and appreciate the business and support you have provided.
We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Kindest regards,
Paul Wild

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Well worth the visit. Wish I could have gone back to watch more of the movies. While eating dinner one night we got $2 off the admission price which was nice.

Thank AsotinKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imaxvictoria, General Manager at IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear AsotinKid,
I am extremely pleased to hear you enjoyed Rocky Mountain Express. This has undoubtedly been one of our most popular films since it came out in 2012, so much so, that we've brought it back each summer!
Thank you for including IMAX Victoria in your visit from Asotin, WA.
Kindest regards,
Paul Wild

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

6 Story IMAX screen. Seats were like a normal movie seats. Refreshments were sold outside the theater. Lemur show was good for kids. It was interesting for adults as well.

Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imaxvictoria, General Manager at IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear Helen,
Thank you for your recent visit and for leaving a review for others.
I'm very pleased to hear you enjoyed Island of Lemurs: Madagascar. It has been one of most popular IMAX films this summer.
We look forward to hosting you again one day - on your next visit from Sammamish, WA.
Kindest regards,
Paul Wild

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2014

I have seen a number of movies in the Imax and am never disappointed. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imaxvictoria, General Manager at IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear Tracy G,
Many thanks for your kind words and recent visit!
We do look forward to hosting you again soon.
Kindest regards,
Paul Wild

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing