We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IMAX Victoria is AMAZING!”

IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.81*
and up
Royal BC Museum Entrance Ticket
More Info
$164.49*
and up
Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus
Ranked #1 of 21 Fun & Games in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: With crystal clear images, wraparound digital surround sound, and advanced IMAX(R) with Laser projection technology, IMAX(R) Victoria lets you feel like you're really there. Six stories high and 81 feet wide, the screen pulls you in! 7 million people locally have been spellbound by the force and beauty of The IMAX(R) Experience. Technically advanced and visually, it is the most powerful and immersive movie experience in the world.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“IMAX Victoria is AMAZING!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

No matter what your interests, there is always a great show there for you to see, as well as popcorn, drinks, etc. The photography is excellent and seeing it on the 6 story high big screen is amazing! The gift shop has a lot of variety and has great gifts as well as souvenirs. We are annual pass members and just love it! It is well worth the money! Stop in, you'll be surprised!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank shannon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imaxvictoria, General Manager at IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you kindly for your comments and for posting a review.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoy your IMAX Experience and your IMAX Victoria Annual Pass. We look forward to bringing you more great films in 2014 including the annual 2014 Film Festival. If you are interested, the 2014 Annual Pass just went on sale and will be available through January, 2014.
Kindest regards,
Paul Wild
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    559
    243
    57
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ben Lomond, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the Biggest”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

One of the biggest in the world and very nice. Great picture and sound. Plays a variety of different films, some related to exhibits and some on other subjects.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Virtio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imaxvictoria, General Manager at IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Ben,
A perfect summary!
Thank you for your kind comments and for including us in your recent visit.
Kindest regards,
Paul Wild
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Movies”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Excellent big screen experience. Very interesting topics as well. Seats are most comfortable. Great value for the money. Wish we had more time to see them all!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Audrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imaxvictoria, General Manager at IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for including us in your visit to Victoria.
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience and look forward to hosting you again soon.
Kindest regards,
Paul Wild
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“IMAX is a, well, IMAX”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We saw the Shackleton video - and the IMAX experience made the spectacular cinematography breath-taking. It's a bit pricey, but worth the few extra dollars to have a great movie experience and to support the theater and the museum.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imaxvictoria, General Manager at IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your visit and for taking the time to leave a review.
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed Shackleton's Antarctic Adventure and the IMAX experience!
We do look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Victoria.
Kindest regards,
Paul Wild
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The IMAX and Royaly BC Museum are a Must See Attraction”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Royal BC Museum is a terrific education experience for young and old alike. With a great verity of displays you can follow through time as the area unfolds its history. The displays are all interesting and educational.

The IMAX Theater is, well, its an IMAX. We have have never been an IMAX anywhere that we were disappointed in. The Victoria IMAX always has a variety of extremely interesting showings, no matter what time of year you attend.

Put the IMAX Thear and Royal BC Museum on your list of must see attractions as you visit Victoria.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RTift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imaxvictoria, General Manager at IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and kind comments pertaining to the Royal BC Museum and IMAX Victoria.
We take a great deal of pride in what we do and we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience.
Thank you for including us in your visit to Victoria.
Kindest regards,
Paul Wild
Director, IMAX Victoria (Royal BC Museum)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing