We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly Interesting”

Craigdarroch Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$10.35*
and up
Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria
Ranked #7 of 179 things to do in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Completed in 1890, Craigdarroch is a stately home built by the pioneering couple Robert and Joan Dunsmuir, who at the time of its construction were the wealthiest people in British Columbia. Called a 'castle' due to its imposing exterior, the luxurious interior has been restored to look as though the visitor is a guest of Mrs. Dunsmuir during the 1890s. It features beautiful woodwork, unique Victorian artifacts, and an impressive collection of original stained glass, all within a pleasant walk from downtown Victoria.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed nearby so walked here expecting "yet another castle, ho hum!" Instead we were treated to the history of this very interesting "home" and loved seeing all the rooms. It is also in a beautiful area near the Government House with its gardens and beautiful homes nearby.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank marjorie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,216
    853
    215
    39
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AUBERRY
Level Contributor
147 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Interesting with a lot of history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the visit. The woodwork was beautiful and so uniquely crafted. Headphones are offered, which we used. I would not necessarily recommend them. There is enough info in each room to be read and sometimes the narration does not match what or where you are. Kind of confusing at times. A lot of stairs and floors but if you are capable it is well worth the visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BLPPEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“If you like history”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

It's a beautiful castle, but would have like to know that there is a $14 charge to go through it. If you like old castles and history you should go.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Winterpeg880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The castle was beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Everything about the castle was delightful. It is always enjoyable to view antique furnishings and enjoy the beauty of the home.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Venita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Quick Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I visited Craigdarroch Castle as a friend recommended it to me. I'm pretty glad I did. The castle was pretty cool, so close to downtown, had no idea it was there. This place is huge inside, seems to go on and up forever. Lots of history, beautiful building. I just thought the cost of entry was too high.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisitout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craigdarroch Castle also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Craigdarroch Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing