We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Victoria Trip”

Craigdarroch Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$11.24*
and up
Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria
More Info
$88.29*
and up
Craigdarroch Castle Pedicab Tour
More Info
$42.06*
and up
Victoria Castles and Neighborhoods Bike Tour
Ranked #7 of 181 things to do in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Completed in 1890, Craigdarroch is a stately home built by the pioneering couple Robert and Joan Dunsmuir, who at the time of its construction were the wealthiest people in British Columbia. Called a 'castle' due to its imposing exterior, the luxurious interior has been restored to look as though the visitor is a guest of Mrs. Dunsmuir during the 1890s. It features beautiful woodwork, unique Victorian artifacts, and an impressive collection of original stained glass, all within a pleasant walk from downtown Victoria.
Regina, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Our Victoria Trip”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had not rented our car yet. We stayed at the Inn at Laurel Point. We walked to the Castle and back. It is about a 5 mile return trip. Perhaps we could have used public transit but, the walk did us good. It is an amazing place - my wife & I understand why it is a "Gem" attraction in our AAA guide book

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TJSRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,298
    908
    235
    41
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“a piece of history”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The house is absolutely gorgeous and located on the top of the hill, so if you go to the last floor, you can have many beautiful views. The staff is absolutely devoted and helpful to answer any questions, not to mention they are all volunteers. Absolutely great experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mazcoroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Magnificent Architecture!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We enjoyed the self guided tour. The woodwork was a great example of fine craftsmanship and the period pieces of furniture (although they were not original furniture in the castle). The castle is also a peek into the lives of the very rich at the end of the 1800s.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Road_Bear57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Local History”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is a fun stop to get an overview of the development of Victoria. We enjoyed doing it at our own pace.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Cool Historic Site”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The castle is a must-see in Victoria, especially for those who are interested in history and heritage! The castle was once a home, a hospital, and then a school...and so the history is unbelievably interesting! I really enjoyed learning about how the foundation is maintaining the castle as well as tracking down the original furniture/pieces from the home well over 150 years ago! I would recommend this attraction for all ages, as there lots of cool things to see!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Island T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craigdarroch Castle also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Craigdarroch Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing