We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miniature World

Miniature World
Book In Advance
More Info
$156.76*
and up
Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus
Ranked #14 of 175 things to do in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Unique Tourist Attraction in Victoria, British Columbia. Located in the famous Empress Hotel. Awarded the 2016 Certificate of Excellence by TripAdvisor! Over 85 miniaturized dioramas. Further adventures, tiny treasures and little pleasures await all who continue into Frontier Land, Fantasy Land, The Great Canadian Railway,The Fields of Glory, Space 2201, Circus World,The Enchanted Valley of Castles, Old London Town of 1670 & The World of Dollhouses. Special effects in lighting, sound and animation are added to create this miniaturized extravaganza that continues to thrill and delight the young and young at heart! Our latest and greatest creation, "King Arthur's Camelot" is now open, adding 11 new exhibits to our existing collection.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

My friend remembered this from a visit when she was a teen, so she recommended it to us. It is much bigger than you would guess, with so many interesting dioramas covering history, geography, fairy tales, etc. I like to read everything and spend my time looking but I had to hurry along a bit to stay with my friends. We were in the museum for about 45 minutes, but if I had been alone I would have stayed for at least an hour.

I noticed that the young children (under age 12) weren't paying much attention to the exhibits. They were mainly running around in the rooms. So although you might think this would be an ideal activity for children, I wouldn't recommend it unless your children are mature enough to focus on the exhibits.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Renery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiniatureWorld, Public Relations Manager at Miniature World, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Hello Renery,

Five star reviews make us smile ear to ear!

Please thank your friend for recommending our attraction! Word of mouth is by far one of the best ways to advertise what we have to offer inside our Miniature World.

One of my greatest pleasures is to know that guests, like yourself, take the time to read about each exhibit, or listen to our audio recordings describing various scenes. Yes, on average, the self-guided tour takes one hour, but for some, several hours. It really depends on your level of interest in all things miniature. It sounds like a repeat visit is necessary to finish off the tour!

Yes, all ages, including young children, are welcome into our world of smallness. I think the level of interest depends on each individual child. Our interactive features capture even the shortest of attention span! At the push of a button, trains zoom along the track, bi-plane propellers swirl, cars move about, a carousel moves, a jousting competition commences, or a castle door opens!

We’re so thrilled you chose Miniature World as an attraction worth visiting while on holiday!

Please come back and visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    291
    80
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you like miniatures”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

This is not for everyone but if you like to look at doll house or historic miniature settings this is a great stop. You can really see the growth of detail from over the years of these scenes getting created.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank StarshipMayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiniatureWorld, Public Relations Manager at Miniature World, responded to this review, October 24, 2014
Hello Starship Mayhem,

It’s great to read such a kind review!

Yes, it’s true miniature exhibits do not appeal to everyone, but usually, most first time guests exude satisfaction after their visit into our world of smallness. Miniature World offers over 85 miniaturized dioramas, making it appealing to the young and young at heart! Take a spaceship to the stars, watch the Dwarves mine for diamonds, operate mini trains, planes and automobiles, watch amusement rides whiz about, open the castle doors to the Camelot Castle plus so much more!

Yes, we also house an assortment of dollhouses, churches and a fun carousel set in motion with a push of a button. Peer inside each house to reveal hand sewn bedding, operational lights, a rocking chair that rocks and the scary ghost moving about in the attic!

Our historical scenes test any history buffs knowledge, making it a great way to remember significant times from the past, or, offer an educational experience for those seeking historical facts.

Thank-you for noticing our growth over time! After 43 years in business, our miniature scene selection keeps growing stronger and stronger! We’ve recently finished our Camelot section, which depicts the reign of King Arthur. 11 new displays showcase this enduring legend.

Please come back for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Weird but neat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

This is an odd place but pretty neat--all kinds of theme rooms with miniature displays. There are battlefields, houses, fantasy scenes...one minor critique is they should grunge up some of the scenes for realism, like the cobblestones.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank macphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiniatureWorld, Public Relations Manager at Miniature World, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Hello machphile,

It’s wonderful to receive a 4 star review!

Unique, is our favorite word to use when describing Miniature World. Where else can you ride a rocket ship into space, travel across Canada in a mini train, witness Cinderella going to the ball, see the dwarfs hard at work in their diamond mine, view the beautiful Camelot Castle with its vast surrounding farmlands, see Jack cutting down the beanstalk, experience the lifestyle of the Swiss Family Robinson, plus so much more!

We always appreciate suggestions for future displays and will keep your cobblestone idea in mind!

Yes, this is a “pretty neat” place to visit while touring Vancouver Island! Thanks for stopping by and we’d love to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
366 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Worth a visit. Wish my great nieces & nephews could have seen this.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

This is a fascinating place to see. I can only imagine have much time it must have taken to do the exhibits. This is truly a place youngsters would enjoy. It is just around the corner from the Empress.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiniatureWorld, Public Relations Manager at Miniature World, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Hello Arthur P,

What a marvelous review! Our attraction is “fascinating”, educational, and appeals to all ages!

Yes, to create, collect, and display these dioramas takes patience and time. Our latest section, “Camelot” took three years to build, and holds eleven themed displays depicting King Arthur’s reign. This timeless legend is just one of the many themed areas that Miniature World offers on your self-guided tour. With 85 exhibits, there is something for everyone!

We are located in the Famous, Fairmont, Empress Hotel. Yes, our entrance is on the side of the Empress on Humboldt St.

We hope to see you and maybe your great nieces & nephews one day in the future! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Very large, but with lots of tiny stuff. Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

I could not believe my eyes. There was so much to see and so little. The time it took to do all the work on each exhibit must have been exhausting but fulfilling.
I was very impressed. My better half, Rita, had been there before and got a chance to see it again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ken V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiniatureWorld, Public Relations Manager at Miniature World, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Hello Ken V,

It’s a delightful feeling to view a five star review!

Yes, Miniature World has come a long way since its 1971 opening! Currently, there are 85 miniaturized dioramas housed inside this unique attraction, making it a showstopper for all ages!

Yes, our artists are treasured miniature creators! Scene completion takes thousands of man hours to ensure historical accuracy, precision, and quality workmanship. Themed sections, such as “Camelot” took three years to complete and offers 11 new displays depicting the legend of King Arthur. Come and see the Camelot Castle and its vast kingdom, Merlin's cave, jousting, the round table, Arthur reaching for Excalibur, Arthur's death plus much more.

We’re thrilled you were “impressed” with our world of miniatures and hope to see you again! 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miniature World also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Miniature World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing