We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very large, but with lots of tiny stuff. Amazing!”
Review of Miniature World

Miniature World
Book In Advance
More Info
$167.05*
and up
Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus
Ranked #15 of 202 things to do in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Unique Tourist Attraction in Victoria, British Columbia. Located in the famous Empress Hotel. Awarded the Certificate of Excellence by TripAdvisor! Over 85 miniaturized dioramas. Further adventures, tiny treasures and little pleasures await all who continue into Frontier Land, Fantasy Land, The Great Canadian Railway,The Fields of Glory, Space 2201, Circus World,The Enchanted Valley of Castles, Old London Town of 1670 & The World of Dollhouses. Special effects in lighting, sound and animation are added to create this miniaturized extravaganza that continues to thrill and delight the young and young at heart! Our latest and greatest creation, "King Arthur's Camelot" is now open, adding 11 new exhibits to our existing collection.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed August 25, 2014

I could not believe my eyes. There was so much to see and so little. The time it took to do all the work on each exhibit must have been exhausting but fulfilling.
I was very impressed. My better half, Rita, had been there before and got a chance to see it again.

Thank Ken V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiniatureWorld, Public Relations Manager at Miniature World, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2014

Hello Ken V,

It’s a delightful feeling to view a five star review!

Yes, Miniature World has come a long way since its 1971 opening! Currently, there are 85 miniaturized dioramas housed inside this unique attraction, making it a showstopper for all ages!

Yes, our artists are treasured miniature creators! Scene completion takes thousands of man hours to ensure historical accuracy, precision, and quality workmanship. Themed sections, such as “Camelot” took three years to complete and offers 11 new displays depicting the legend of King Arthur. Come and see the Camelot Castle and its vast kingdom, Merlin's cave, jousting, the round table, Arthur reaching for Excalibur, Arthur's death plus much more.

We’re thrilled you were “impressed” with our world of miniatures and hope to see you again! 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

547 - 551 of 908 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2014

Kids of all ages will totally enjoy this little world, so different from other attractions. Must take the walk through and plan for a couple hours

Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiniatureWorld, Public Relations Manager at Miniature World, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2014

Hello Sandy R,

Thank-you for the 5 star review!

Yes, our attraction is so unique that it stands out as a memorable, rare gem that you do not want to miss when visiting Victoria, B.C..

With 85 miniaturized dioramas, there is something inside that appeals to all ages. Come explore what it was like living with the Swiss Family Robinson, or, tour a miniature Classic Car Rally. Dive into Fantasy Land, Frontier Land, The Great Canadian Railway, Historical war scenes, Space 2201, New & Old London Town, The World of Dollhouses, Circus World, The Enchanted Valley of Castles, and our latest exhibit, boasting 11 new scenes, “Camelot.” . See the Camelot Castle and its vast kingdom, Merlin's cave, jousting, the round table, Arthur reaching for Excalibur, Arthur's death plus much more.

The average self-guided tour time is an hour, though miniature enthusiasts, like yourself, have been known to spend several hours!

It gives us great pleasure to read that your visit was definitely “worth it for the family”.

We’d love to see you return for repeat visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

My daughter loves dollhouses but this is so much more. It was a lot more , scenes from history, places, Imaginary scenes. It was great fun. You go a few times and find something new to see that you missed the first time. This great for the whole family.

Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiniatureWorld, Public Relations Manager at Miniature World, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2014

Hello Helen J,

Thanks for a wonderful review.

Yes, it’s hard to appreciate what we offer until you’re immersed into the depths of the attraction.

With 85 miniaturized dioramas there is something for everyone. Explore the land of dollhouses, witness the changing of the guard at Buckingham Palace, start the propellers of a biplane, watch a train go from Western Canada straight through to Eastern Canada, take a spaceship to the stars, open the door to the Camelot Castle, help Merlin & Arthur discover the sword, "Excalibur" as it rises from the lake in a nymph's hand, activate mini amusement rides in Circus World, help miners dig for coal, watch the Swiss Family Robinson survive in the wild, lend a hand to Jack and help him cut down the beanstalk, or get spooked by the scary ghost who floats in the attic!

The average amount of time spent inside our world of smallness is approximately one hour, but miniature enthusiasts have been known to spend up to three hours visually dissecting and then rebuilding each scene in their mind. So, if you’re a miniature lover, plan for a two hour time commitment.

Since you’re a repeat customer, you may want to consider purchasing a Annual Pass. This pass is now on sale for Christmas at 50% off the regular price. One payment gives you unlimited access to Miniature World for one year. If this interests you, orders can be made by phone or in person.

Please come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Very interesting and amazing. Different themes (i.e. galaxies, farms, cities/towns, etc.). Our 12 yr old went in on his own and it took about 1 hour. He thoroughly enjoyed it. Very neat!

Thank blondiecalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiniatureWorld, General Manager at Miniature World, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Hi Blondiecalgary,

Wow! Thanks for your kind review! We’re proud to be considered a five star attraction from Trip Advisor members and are thrilled your son’s experience was a memorable one. It’s a pleasure to hear that your 12 yr old son took an entire hour inside our attraction! It’s such a varied experience for everyone who enters our world of miniatures. Some model or dollhouse enthusiasts have been known to spend hours taking in each and every detail offered among the 85 dioramas. In general though, the average time spent viewing our scenes is approximately 1 hr. Thanks so much for visiting and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This was a lot larger exhibit than I expected. It was terrific, we really enjoyed it. The people were nice, very friendly. It is well worth your time to visit.

Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiniatureWorld, General Manager at Miniature World, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Hello Pamela,

Your five star review of Miniature World is very much appreciated. We strive to offer a unique attraction that appeals to all ages. Yes, our world of miniatures is quite extensive offering the visitor over 85 dioramas. In fact, our latest creation, King Arthur’s ‘Camelot’ boasts 11 new exhibits. These new displays feature the Camelot Castle and its vast kingdom, Merlin's cave, jousting, the round table, Arthur reaching for Excalibur, Arthur's death, plus much more.
I especially appreciate your satisfaction with our front end staff. We pride ourselves in offering top-notch customer service and love hearing that is exactly what you received.

We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miniature World also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Miniature World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing