We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Very Accomdating” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haterleigh Heritage Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Haterleigh Heritage Inn
Ranked #30 of 94 Victoria B&B and Inns
Langley, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not Very Accomdating”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We made a last minute reservation for a 3 night stay based on the good reviews we read. We were a little concerned because of the reviewer who talked about new owner/manager. When we arrived and were shown to our room we were very disappointed to see that the bathroom that had been advertised as full bath with shower was in fact a jacuzzi tub with a hand held nozzle like on a kitchen sink that you had to hold over your head while you sit in the but. Not exactly a shower. The windows opened but there were no screens so bugs came in. The breakfast was okay but the owner seemed very overwhelmed and unsure of himself when preparing and serving breakfast. We had to ask for everything, butter, jam, sugar, salt and pepper. There were no condiments on the table. We had a family emergency and had to leave a day early and the owner was unwilling to give us a refund or even a partial refund. Okay, I understand it was probably too late for him to re-rent the room but there is no excuse for what happened next. When we got home we realized that we had left two phone chargers in the room. I emailed, texted and phoned the owner to see if he would send them to us. We offered to pay for the mailing costs but he never answered any of my inquiries. Definitely not what we were expecting for the price. We have stayed in Victoria many times and will definitely be looking elsewhere on our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sorrythatstaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    18
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
64
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights here, July 12th & 13th, 2014. Our experience here was just outstanding. Our room, the Roses & Lace room, had everything we needed, including a jacuzzi and a very nice welcome basket. The property was immaculate and it felt almost like staying in a museum. The location was ideal, even if you don't have a car. As nice as the property was, the real highlight for me was breakfast.

This isn't your typical half toasted bagel and crappy coffee. You get your choice of 3 courses (two choices for each course). I've included pictures. I give the Haterleigh Heritage Inn my highest recommendation.

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBlargg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
182 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

This B&B is in a great location close to the inner harbor, so it was great to walk to all the many attractions in the area. The owner gives you many choices for breakfast which is unusual for a B&B. We enjoyed having a glass of wine on the veranda in the evening. The decor is definitely Victorian with lots of leaded glass windows. This may seem a bit dark and staid for some. We wish the new owner luck in his new venture.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We found this well located small B&B very comfortable. It's located on a tree lined street only a few minutes walk from the harbour, with several good restaurants close by.

Our host prepared a delicious fresh breakfast to order and was very informative and helpful, so must so that he personally delivered my partner's forgotten nightdress to the ferry terminal as we were about to board... That's service!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

On the recommendation of a friend, we chose this as the place to stay in Victoria. Our friend warned that her experience was dated. Her caution was merited: in the event we should have paid attention because there has been a recent management (and ownership?) change.

The home is located in a quiet neighborhood close to Victoria's city center. Parking the car in the off-street parking and walking to Victoria's restaurants, sites, and shopping was easy. The home itself is large and maintained to a high standard. Facilities are modern without detracting from the building's charm. The only downside was plumbing which, evidently because of age, was noisy when running the shower/bath. This was sufficiently disruptive that posted notices asked that the rooms' Jacuzzi/Whirlpool not be used outside certain hours.

There were a few disturbing aspects which, coupled with the price, caused us to question our choice: Despite confirmed reservations and indicated arrival time there seemed to be doubts that we were really expected. Almost immediately, one person found a blood drop in the bathroom and subsequently found several more. Breakfast, which is built on a complex, multi-course menu became a painful slog while we waited for each meal's parts; this was accomplished when the obviously overwhelmed manager brought the variety selected by each person out simultaneously, with the net effect that any cooked items were at varying temperatures. It was all well-intentioned and "sweet", but at times embarrassing. Perhaps simpler and more focused would work better until a rhythm is established.

The price of the rooms was somewhat in line with international B&B's which caused us to wonder about local prices. Given the deficiencies, we questioned the value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BienAgiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The location is far from covient , The hotel is elegant with British style.
Good taste and good looking of the breakfast make you have a happy beginning of the day.
The bed is comfortable , and everything is clean and new. The bedding is so keen to the skin.

And never the less, the kind and helpful host and hostess. They drove us a ride to the musume and take care of our luggages in the rain while we were doning the last run of VICTORIA,

In one word, it is great to spend two nights here.

best regards
Miller

Room Tip: Try it , and you will enjoy a lot there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miller H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

My 21 year old daughter and I just returned from a 4 day stay at the Haterleigh. Neither of us can say enough about our experience in the delightful house, or of Ann, our newly adopted family member! The location and accommodations could not have been better. We stayed in the wonderful Secret Garden room. It has a balcony which was perfect for me when my daughter slept in a little. She loved the dressing table for putting on her makeup. The bed was huge and very comfy. The whole home was a top ten on cleanliness, and the innkeeper-Ann, was the best of all. She worked so hard for us, our whole trip. Her breakfasts were specially prepared and to die for. Every day we had another question or outing we needed help with, and she was there every step of the way. I loved her British accent, it helped us feel like we were out of the country so much more. Her right hand helper, Darryl, was a gem too. We both loved talking with our housemates so much, we were made to feel right at home. I would recommend this house to anyone!

Room Tip: Hard to beat the suites- they really are amazing. We loved the Secret Garden- but the others are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tolson445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
James Bay
Gatsby Mansion
Gatsby Mansion
#15 of 94 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James Bay
Fisher House Bed and Breakfast
B&B Victoria Downtown
#59 of 94 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Beaconsfield Inn
#8 of 94 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haterleigh Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haterleigh Heritage Inn

Property: Haterleigh Heritage Inn
Address: 243 Kingston St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1V5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Haterleigh Heritage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Elegant Victorian Manor is located in the heart of the historic James Bay. The Haterleigh Heritage Inn is a 1901 Victorian Mansion built by the architect Thomas Hooper for himself and his family. The stained glass windows of the house are original and are considered to be the most stunning glass windows of any private residence in British Columbia. The Haterleigh Hetitage Inn is a short walk from the Inner Harbour, Seaplane and Ferry terminals. Staying at the Haterleigh, you will not require a car! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Haterleigh Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing