We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“British style with great host and hostess” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haterleigh Heritage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haterleigh Heritage Inn
Ranked #30 of 94 Victoria B&B and Inns
Guangzhou, China
1 review
“British style with great host and hostess”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The location is far from covient , The hotel is elegant with British style.
Good taste and good looking of the breakfast make you have a happy beginning of the day.
The bed is comfortable , and everything is clean and new. The bedding is so keen to the skin.

And never the less, the kind and helpful host and hostess. They drove us a ride to the musume and take care of our luggages in the rain while we were doning the last run of VICTORIA,

In one word, it is great to spend two nights here.

best regards
Miller

Room Tip: Try it , and you will enjoy a lot there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miller H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    18
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
64
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

My 21 year old daughter and I just returned from a 4 day stay at the Haterleigh. Neither of us can say enough about our experience in the delightful house, or of Ann, our newly adopted family member! The location and accommodations could not have been better. We stayed in the wonderful Secret Garden room. It has a balcony which was perfect for me when my daughter slept in a little. She loved the dressing table for putting on her makeup. The bed was huge and very comfy. The whole home was a top ten on cleanliness, and the innkeeper-Ann, was the best of all. She worked so hard for us, our whole trip. Her breakfasts were specially prepared and to die for. Every day we had another question or outing we needed help with, and she was there every step of the way. I loved her British accent, it helped us feel like we were out of the country so much more. Her right hand helper, Darryl, was a gem too. We both loved talking with our housemates so much, we were made to feel right at home. I would recommend this house to anyone!

Room Tip: Hard to beat the suites- they really are amazing. We loved the Secret Garden- but the others are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tolson445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed there at the end of August 2013 and simply loved the place and especially Ann, the manager. She couldn't have been more accommodating or more friendly. We especially liked her British accent and quick sense of humor. Easy walk to downtown Victoria and great restaurants. Great, great place!

Room Tip: All the bedrooms are very nice. We wanted a king bed and Ann made sure we got that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Ann made us feel very much at home in this lovely house. The room we had was a work of art. The breakfast was excellent and off road parking was most useful as we explored on foot. The only drawback was the noise from an adjacent bedroom, though there was a polite request for people to avoid this.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

When you arrive from a long plane ferry car journey from England, all you want is a chat and a cup of tea...and that is what you get here! Warm friendly host, bespoke breakfast, nothing is to much trouble!It is situated in downtown Victoria within easy a access of the inner harbour. The building is beautiful with clean luxurious comedy rooms! You'll love it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam_ottewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a fabulous historical B&B... close to downtown.. we walked everywhere. Ann, the Innkeeper, was a wonderful hostess serving up gourmet breakfasts in the beautiful ambiance of the dinning room. Make sure you ask for the delicious scones-- they are the best! The Kingston Suite was spacious and very clean. Ann did a great job directing us to sites to see and the best places for dinner. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OntarioDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Beautiful entrance way, hard to bring in luggage. Our suite was the Kingston and it was a perfect size, spacious and a quiet retreat. Breakfast was early, but for all you sleepy heads DO NOT MISS this! Ann is a perfect hostess and is quite adept and creating a warm, welcoming and open atmosphere. Everything for the down town area was in walking distance, so you get a complete work out with much needed sunshine.

Room Tip: Look on their website and select the right on, on our trip noise was no issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
James Bay
Fisher House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beaconsfield Inn
#8 of 94 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Rockland
Fairholme Manor
Fairholme Manor
#5 of 94 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
B&B Victoria Downtown
#59 of 94 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haterleigh Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haterleigh Heritage Inn

Property: Haterleigh Heritage Inn
Address: 243 Kingston St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1V5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Haterleigh Heritage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Elegant Victorian Manor is located in the heart of the historic James Bay. The Haterleigh Heritage Inn is a 1901 Victorian Mansion built by the architect Thomas Hooper for himself and his family. The stained glass windows of the house are original and are considered to be the most stunning glass windows of any private residence in British Columbia. The Haterleigh Hetitage Inn is a short walk from the Inner Harbour, Seaplane and Ferry terminals. Staying at the Haterleigh, you will not require a car! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Haterleigh Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing