We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Accommodation and Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haterleigh Heritage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haterleigh Heritage Inn
Ranked #31 of 94 Victoria B&B and Inns
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Accommodation and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a fabulous historical B&B... close to downtown.. we walked everywhere. Ann, the Innkeeper, was a wonderful hostess serving up gourmet breakfasts in the beautiful ambiance of the dinning room. Make sure you ask for the delicious scones-- they are the best! The Kingston Suite was spacious and very clean. Ann did a great job directing us to sites to see and the best places for dinner. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OntarioDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    18
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
64
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Beautiful entrance way, hard to bring in luggage. Our suite was the Kingston and it was a perfect size, spacious and a quiet retreat. Breakfast was early, but for all you sleepy heads DO NOT MISS this! Ann is a perfect hostess and is quite adept and creating a warm, welcoming and open atmosphere. Everything for the down town area was in walking distance, so you get a complete work out with much needed sunshine.

Room Tip: Look on their website and select the right on, on our trip noise was no issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Vilbel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here in September 2012 for 4 nights. We were looking for a B&B with cooked Breakfast, nice rooms and a good location.
All three of them we found at Haterleigh Heritage Inn and we found much more!!!
Ann gave us a really warm welcome and outstanding hospitality. It was like coming home!
We really enjoyed our stay and when we are this area again we will stay here for sure.
If you looking for a really delicious homemade and cooked breakfast, beautiful Ensuite rooms and a location where you can reach the main spots by foot then you should stay here and nowhere else!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShirleySheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

If you want a great B & B experience with delicious made to order gourment breakfasts, look no further. Anne is their delightful Hostess that will draw you into her cozy breakfast room. Her scones are second to none. No need to pay excessive prices at the Empress for Tea when you have a hearty breakfast here. Accomodations are comfortable and clean. In walking distance to some nearby restaurants which are also great. We hope we can come back here again soon. Anne is who makes this place so special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our visit to Victoria and our stay at the Haterleigh Heritage Inn was the high point of our recent visit to the San Juan Islands, Victoria, and Vancouver. Great location within walking distance to everything. We seldom needed our car. Ample off street parking as well. But what really sets this B&B apart is the innkeeper, Ann. Such a welcoming atmosphere and comfortable home especially the spacious sitting room downstairs. The food was indeed a feast as others have noted. Breakfast to order was just wonderful. Suggestions from Ann as we explored Victoria, were great. We were never disappointed. Going to Vancouver and looking for a great B&B? No need to look further than the Haterleigh Heritage Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Thus far my wife and I have stayed here for a little getaway twice, and are coming back a third time. If I would need to give only one reason to stay at the Haterleigh, it would be the innkeeper Ann! She is welcoming and friendly, and really works hard to make guests feel comfortable, appreciated, and welcome. Her helper, Susan, is also a gracious, caring and welcoming hostess. It's worth the stay simply to chat with these two over breakfast! One really has the feeling of staying in a country inn in the English countryside.

On top of that the rooms are extremely comfortable (both rooms we stayed in had jacuzzi tubs, king-sized beds, and sitting areas) and quiet - plus some rooms have great extras, such as the private balcony in the Secret Garden room. Rooms are well furnished in a style consistent with the heritage home, bright, and exceptionally clean.

The breakfast was outstanding - we always get the smoked salmon eggs benny, which is always loaded with hollandaise, smoked salmon, perfectly poached eggs, and on our most recent visit spinach - and alongside is a fresh bowl of fruit, yogurt, and scones that are simply to die for (Ann is British and got the recipe from her Gran - need I say more?). I could survive on the scones and marmalade alone! After breakfast, one hardly needs lunch! Breakfast is always a pleasure in the bright and airy dining room, where you have the chance to chat with other friendly guests and Ann and Susan (I will say - satisfied guests make for nice company at breakfast!).

It is a short jaunt (less than 5 minutes) to the inner harbour of Victoria, and one feels completely safe in the neighbourhood. There is no need for a vehicle if you are wanting to experience Victoria - pretty much all major attractions, shopping, and fine dining are within walking distance.

All in all - a fantastic getaway both times that felt more like a stay with close family (the ones you like, that is) than a B&B, all in the lap of luxury!

Room Tip: Although some rooms are larger than others, both rooms we stayed in were extremely comfortable, brig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank therockacrossthepond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, Netherlands
Level Contributor
134 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

A great place with kind, enthusiastic people running the place. Ladies with a great cense of humor making the breakfast a feast, not just by the excellent food, but also with their humor and kindness.
Rooms we used had a jacuzzi, separate sitting area and where more suites than rooms.
The location is great as it is close to the inner harbour and Victoria centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FransHeijmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
James Bay
Gatsby Mansion
Gatsby Mansion
#16 of 94 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James Bay
Fisher House Bed and Breakfast
B&B Victoria Downtown
#59 of 94 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Beaconsfield Inn
#8 of 94 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haterleigh Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haterleigh Heritage Inn

Property: Haterleigh Heritage Inn
Address: 243 Kingston St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1V5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Haterleigh Heritage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Elegant Victorian Manor is located in the heart of the historic James Bay. The Haterleigh Heritage Inn is a 1901 Victorian Mansion built by the architect Thomas Hooper for himself and his family. The stained glass windows of the house are original and are considered to be the most stunning glass windows of any private residence in British Columbia. The Haterleigh Hetitage Inn is a short walk from the Inner Harbour, Seaplane and Ferry terminals. Staying at the Haterleigh, you will not require a car! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Haterleigh Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing